• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Problem with power connection to ECS nFORCE4M-A mobo

rawskyb

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
27
Likes
0
Processor AMD 64 X2 4200+ AM2
Motherboard ECS nForce4M-A
Cooling nothin' special, 3x case fans
Memory 2x Ramses 1GB DDR2-667MHz PC2-5300
Video Card(s) XFS GeForce 7300GT 256MB, dual DVI, PCIe
Storage 2x Maxtor 300GB SATA
Display(s) 2x Hanns-G 19" LCD
Case completely clear ATX case
Audio Device(s) none (using Turtle Beach USB optical dongle)
Power Supply Rosewill RP500-2 500W, dark chrome
Software Win XP Pro
#1
I purchased an ECS nFORCE4M-A motherboard recently to go with a new AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ AM2 processor. I have a brand-new 480W ATX/Intel P4 PS. Beyond the power supply connections for the peripherals, there are two main power leads coming from the power supply: A 4-pin "molex" connector arranged in a square pattern and a 24-pin connector, which can actually be split into a 20-pin and 4-pin connector.

Here's the problem: If I connect both the 4-pin connector and the 24-pin connector to the MoBo, the board seems to power up for about 1 second and then immediately powers off. I only know it's powering up because the various fans (CPU, mobo, case) spin up briefly.

However, if I disconnect either the 4-pin power connector, or the 4-pin power connector that is part of the 24-pin connector, the mobo will power up and remain powered up. I don't believe I'm getting a full system power up though, since I get no signal to my monitor, nor does the keyboard seem to be getting sustained power.

I can't seem to get customer support from the mobo mfg (ECS), and the supplier I got this board from is horrible about returning calls (when I call in, they are always "on the phone with other customers").

I'm hoping maybe someone on this forum can help me out. This is my first venture into building my own PC, and so far I am about several hundred dollars and only have a large paperweight to show for my efforts.

Can anyone offer suggestions! HELP!!! :cry:

-Blayne
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2006
Messages
3,558
Likes
249
Location
Enschede, The Netherlands
System Name Lian Li Carbon fiber ed.
Processor Intel i5 2500k 4.6Ghz 24/7 Max OC 5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech blocks, 360 Xflow rad, Swiftech 120 rad, Liang with XSPC res/pump top.
Memory 8Gb Mushkin 1600Mhz 8-9-8-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6950 2Gb
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 128 / Western Digital 160
Display(s) ASUS 25,5" wide VW266h
Power Supply Corsair HX620 modular
Software Windows 7 64
#2
Did you look at this?



And double checked if you connected all the cables in the right way.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#3
^^yup, do that :D report back if you have probs still
 

rawskyb

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
27
Likes
0
Processor AMD 64 X2 4200+ AM2
Motherboard ECS nForce4M-A
Cooling nothin' special, 3x case fans
Memory 2x Ramses 1GB DDR2-667MHz PC2-5300
Video Card(s) XFS GeForce 7300GT 256MB, dual DVI, PCIe
Storage 2x Maxtor 300GB SATA
Display(s) 2x Hanns-G 19" LCD
Case completely clear ATX case
Audio Device(s) none (using Turtle Beach USB optical dongle)
Power Supply Rosewill RP500-2 500W, dark chrome
Software Win XP Pro
#4
Yes, I've read the mobo manual about 50 times, and that doesn't really help. (So much for RTFM...) The manual states that you should connect both the 24-pin power supply and the 4-pin supply. Oddly, they state you should connect "PWR1" to the "auxiliary case power supply". From what I have read on some various web pages, that square 4-pin connector is for "Pentium 4" processors, and a few sites even state "if you are building an AMD system, leave it unconnected". I suspect that is NOT correct, as this motherboard is specifically for AMD's AM2 socket processors, and includes a connection for this PS lead.

The other thing that has me questioning the ECS manual is that it states that the 4-pin fan connector on the top of the MoBo is for the CPU_fan1. My CPU fan (the one on the heatsink) only has three pins, which seem to mate up with the MoBo connector that they have labeled "CAS_FAN1". That's where I have connected it right now.

Would having my various fans plugged into the wrong spots be causing problems?

I'll take a picture of my connections later this evening and try posting them to this site. Maybe someone can spot a rookie mistake I've made....

-Blayne
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2006
Messages
3,558
Likes
249
Location
Enschede, The Netherlands
System Name Lian Li Carbon fiber ed.
Processor Intel i5 2500k 4.6Ghz 24/7 Max OC 5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech blocks, 360 Xflow rad, Swiftech 120 rad, Liang with XSPC res/pump top.
Memory 8Gb Mushkin 1600Mhz 8-9-8-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6950 2Gb
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 128 / Western Digital 160
Display(s) ASUS 25,5" wide VW266h
Power Supply Corsair HX620 modular
Software Windows 7 64
#5
Yes. That could cause problems. If i connect my CPU fan to the wrong connector then my system won't boot.
That's why i asked if you connected al the cables correct.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#6
the four pin connector IS for your heatsink fan,the fourth pin is for the pwm on the fan motor,like on p4 cpu fans.if yours only has three,then you can still connect your cpu fan to it.you just need to use one of your other fans 3 pin conectors to get it on the correct way,with one pin unused.it should only go on one way.in my bios i can switch it to pwm or normal(no pwm on fan)mode.

the cas_fan one is for the front or rear case fan.again on my board,the bios can control the cpu and cas_fan 1 speeds.
 

rawskyb

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
27
Likes
0
Processor AMD 64 X2 4200+ AM2
Motherboard ECS nForce4M-A
Cooling nothin' special, 3x case fans
Memory 2x Ramses 1GB DDR2-667MHz PC2-5300
Video Card(s) XFS GeForce 7300GT 256MB, dual DVI, PCIe
Storage 2x Maxtor 300GB SATA
Display(s) 2x Hanns-G 19" LCD
Case completely clear ATX case
Audio Device(s) none (using Turtle Beach USB optical dongle)
Power Supply Rosewill RP500-2 500W, dark chrome
Software Win XP Pro
#7
Ahhh, now we're getting somewhere. I will work on re-connecting these fans in an hour or two when I get home. I will reply back soon with my success or latest failure....

;)

-Blayne
 

rawskyb

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
27
Likes
0
Processor AMD 64 X2 4200+ AM2
Motherboard ECS nForce4M-A
Cooling nothin' special, 3x case fans
Memory 2x Ramses 1GB DDR2-667MHz PC2-5300
Video Card(s) XFS GeForce 7300GT 256MB, dual DVI, PCIe
Storage 2x Maxtor 300GB SATA
Display(s) 2x Hanns-G 19" LCD
Case completely clear ATX case
Audio Device(s) none (using Turtle Beach USB optical dongle)
Power Supply Rosewill RP500-2 500W, dark chrome
Software Win XP Pro
#8
So checking the connections, I do in fact have the 3-wire lead from the CPU fan going to the 4-pin connection on the MoBo, and there are plastic parts on the connector that only allow it to mate up one way.

I do not currently have anything attached to the CAS_FAN1 on the MoBo. The fans that are on my ATX case have larger connectors (like those on a harddrive or CDROM) and won't mate with the MoBo connector pins. Would not having anything attached to the CAS-FAN1 pins keep it from powering up? If so, do I need to modify the fan connectors from my case?

I'm attaching a photo, in the hopes that this might expose my problem.

Uggghh, I was hoping we were onto a solution here...

-Blayne
 

rawskyb

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
27
Likes
0
Processor AMD 64 X2 4200+ AM2
Motherboard ECS nForce4M-A
Cooling nothin' special, 3x case fans
Memory 2x Ramses 1GB DDR2-667MHz PC2-5300
Video Card(s) XFS GeForce 7300GT 256MB, dual DVI, PCIe
Storage 2x Maxtor 300GB SATA
Display(s) 2x Hanns-G 19" LCD
Case completely clear ATX case
Audio Device(s) none (using Turtle Beach USB optical dongle)
Power Supply Rosewill RP500-2 500W, dark chrome
Software Win XP Pro
#9

Attachments

Last edited:

rawskyb

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
27
Likes
0
Processor AMD 64 X2 4200+ AM2
Motherboard ECS nForce4M-A
Cooling nothin' special, 3x case fans
Memory 2x Ramses 1GB DDR2-667MHz PC2-5300
Video Card(s) XFS GeForce 7300GT 256MB, dual DVI, PCIe
Storage 2x Maxtor 300GB SATA
Display(s) 2x Hanns-G 19" LCD
Case completely clear ATX case
Audio Device(s) none (using Turtle Beach USB optical dongle)
Power Supply Rosewill RP500-2 500W, dark chrome
Software Win XP Pro
#10
Does anyone have any ideas on what might be causing this problem? help????:cry: :( :cry: :ohwell:
 

strick94u

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
1,592
Likes
70
Location
Texas
System Name CrashMaster 17.2/ crashmaster(M) ROG
Processor CD2 E8400@4.0 ghz/ i5 430@ 2.577 mhz
Motherboard EVGA 680i/ patogram inc intel north bridge
Cooling Monsoon vigor gaming II/ fan and vents
Memory 4 gig OCZ pc8500 DDR2/ 4 gigs ddr3
Video Card(s) 2 X EVGA 8800gts 512 735/1045/nvidia 360 gtsm gddr5
Storage 2 X WD 150 Raptors Raid 0+600gig usb/ 500 gig hitachi
Display(s) Samsung 2232 bw Sync Master 22" HD/16.9 inch asus
Case Enermax uber chakra/ asus republic of gamers
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI 5.1 speakers/creative eax 4.0
Power Supply OCZ extream Gaming 650 watt 4x18a/ external
Software Dos 6.22/ win 3.11 for networks/ms bob server
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18,201/10601 3dmark05 23,943/not run Aquamark 218,094/not run
#11
I purchased an ECS nFORCE4M-A motherboard recently to go with a new AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ AM2 processor. I have a brand-new 480W ATX/Intel P4 PS. Beyond the power supply connections for the peripherals, there are two main power leads coming from the power supply: A 4-pin "molex" connector arranged in a square pattern and a 24-pin connector, which can actually be split into a 20-pin and 4-pin connector.

Here's the problem: If I connect both the 4-pin connector and the 24-pin connector to the MoBo, the board seems to power up for about 1 second and then immediately powers off. I only know it's powering up because the various fans (CPU, mobo, case) spin up briefly.

However, if I disconnect either the 4-pin power connector, or the 4-pin power connector that is part of the 24-pin connector, the mobo will power up and remain powered up. I don't believe I'm getting a full system power up though, since I get no signal to my monitor, nor does the keyboard seem to be getting sustained power.

I can't seem to get customer support from the mobo mfg (ECS), and the supplier I got this board from is horrible about returning calls (when I call in, they are always "on the phone with other customers").

I'm hoping maybe someone on this forum can help me out. This is my first venture into building my own PC, and so far I am about several hundred dollars and only have a large paperweight to show for my efforts.

Can anyone offer suggestions! HELP!!! :cry:

-Blayne
I e-mailed ECS the other night and heard back from them within an hour.
make sure nothing is shorting on the board look behind it too any pci cards installed pull them out one at a time make sure the cables are on the drives right ect ect ect read the manul its probly something very simple
 

g00fy

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2006
Messages
1
Likes
0
#12
I seem to be having the same issue with my Old P4 2.4ghz. Recently it just stopped working. The power supply it's running is off an HP i recently baught and gutted for my new system. I'm curiouse if maybe since it was an AMD based system, if the PSU was special for the AMD mobo and processor could it have possibly shorted out the motherboard over the past month it was installed. I know that's pretty out there, but i'm considering it a possibility because i don't know else could be causing the problem on my system since it worked fine for so long.
 

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479
Likes
74
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
#13
strick,
It could be that your PSU isn't supplying enough power for your system.
So therefore, one of the rails can possibly be dead since you have no monitor output.
First, check your video card, if you can, in another system.
When that is rules out, it might be the PSU.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2006
Messages
1
Likes
0
#14
dood it looks like your RAM is in the wrong slots. I would try putting it in the slots closest to the CPU first.

Unless of course, you have already tried that, in which case, ignore this post :)

-\/\/O0/=
 

rawskyb

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
27
Likes
0
Processor AMD 64 X2 4200+ AM2
Motherboard ECS nForce4M-A
Cooling nothin' special, 3x case fans
Memory 2x Ramses 1GB DDR2-667MHz PC2-5300
Video Card(s) XFS GeForce 7300GT 256MB, dual DVI, PCIe
Storage 2x Maxtor 300GB SATA
Display(s) 2x Hanns-G 19" LCD
Case completely clear ATX case
Audio Device(s) none (using Turtle Beach USB optical dongle)
Power Supply Rosewill RP500-2 500W, dark chrome
Software Win XP Pro
#15
I will try moving the RAM and see if that makes a difference...haven't tried that yet.
 

rawskyb

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
27
Likes
0
Processor AMD 64 X2 4200+ AM2
Motherboard ECS nForce4M-A
Cooling nothin' special, 3x case fans
Memory 2x Ramses 1GB DDR2-667MHz PC2-5300
Video Card(s) XFS GeForce 7300GT 256MB, dual DVI, PCIe
Storage 2x Maxtor 300GB SATA
Display(s) 2x Hanns-G 19" LCD
Case completely clear ATX case
Audio Device(s) none (using Turtle Beach USB optical dongle)
Power Supply Rosewill RP500-2 500W, dark chrome
Software Win XP Pro
#16
dood it looks like your RAM is in the wrong slots. I would try putting it in the slots closest to the CPU first.
Nope. Just moved both DIMMs to the other two slots (orange slots instead of purple). No change. The thing powers up for about 1/2 a second than shuts down.

This is really frustrating.:banghead: :banghead:
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#17
If this is a fresh build, did you remember the spacers/standoffs/knobs?
 

rawskyb

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
27
Likes
0
Processor AMD 64 X2 4200+ AM2
Motherboard ECS nForce4M-A
Cooling nothin' special, 3x case fans
Memory 2x Ramses 1GB DDR2-667MHz PC2-5300
Video Card(s) XFS GeForce 7300GT 256MB, dual DVI, PCIe
Storage 2x Maxtor 300GB SATA
Display(s) 2x Hanns-G 19" LCD
Case completely clear ATX case
Audio Device(s) none (using Turtle Beach USB optical dongle)
Power Supply Rosewill RP500-2 500W, dark chrome
Software Win XP Pro
#18
It is a new build, new PS, case, mobo - everything. The case had standoffs already, I don't know where I would need spacers, or what "knobs" refers to. Can you provide more detail?

The case is plastic, so it wouldn't be conducting anything regardless, but the mobo sits about 1 inch off the case with the standoffs already.

I'll probably try removing everything and building it back up again just to check. I have a new video card on the way, just in case that might be part of the problem. (it won't start up with the video card removed completely, so I really doubt it would be the problem.)
-Blayne
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
#19
a couple of tips for first boot, which might help, but are not necessarily specific to this mobo:
try booting outside the case first time (put in this layering order - table\mobobox\foam\antistatic bag\mobo - put the mobo on top of the bag, not in it)
use 1 stick of ram, some times helps
don't connect anything to ide or sata or anything, see if bios comes up first (basically you should have mobo, cpu, cpu fan, 1 stick ram, and vidcard, with psu 24pin and 4 pin (and 6pin if your vcard needs))

try that as long as you are taking it out of the case
 

rawskyb

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
27
Likes
0
Processor AMD 64 X2 4200+ AM2
Motherboard ECS nForce4M-A
Cooling nothin' special, 3x case fans
Memory 2x Ramses 1GB DDR2-667MHz PC2-5300
Video Card(s) XFS GeForce 7300GT 256MB, dual DVI, PCIe
Storage 2x Maxtor 300GB SATA
Display(s) 2x Hanns-G 19" LCD
Case completely clear ATX case
Audio Device(s) none (using Turtle Beach USB optical dongle)
Power Supply Rosewill RP500-2 500W, dark chrome
Software Win XP Pro
#20
I followed mustang man's advice and pulled everything apart, removing the mobo from the case, stripping everything off the mobo except for one DIMM and the CPU/fan. I then connected the power supply connections (24 pin and 4 pin), the front panel switch and even connected a fan to CAS_FAN1. No video card installed, no other devices (SATA, IDE, etc - nothing), none of the USB connections.

I then hit the power button and got the exact same results - the fans spin up for maybe half a second at most, then everything shuts down. If I pull the 4-pin power connection off the mobo, the fans spin up and stay up, but I doubt the board is getting full power, and I don't hear the speaker beep.

Is it time to return the mobo for a replacement? Could the power switch be faulty? (Though I thought this was just to trigger the on singla to the mobo, which it does seem to do since the fans spin up briefly). I don't want to remove the CPU and heat sink, since it would mess with the thermal grease coating that came on the heat sink. But I suppose if I get a replacement mobo I will have to deal with this anyway.

Are there any other possibilities I should try?

-Blayne
 

greenfrog

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2006
Messages
1
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon X2 4200+ AM2
Motherboard ECS nForce4M-A
Cooling Stock
Memory Corsair VS 1GB 533MHz DDR2
Video Card(s) ATI 9200SE =/
Storage WD1200
Power Supply Antec 350W
#21
my ECS board (also an nForce4M-A v1.1) has an issue with the internal speaker header(it causes my computer to restart if hooked up) so maybe you should disconnect the speaker and test it without the speaker. Good luck!
 

rawskyb

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
27
Likes
0
Processor AMD 64 X2 4200+ AM2
Motherboard ECS nForce4M-A
Cooling nothin' special, 3x case fans
Memory 2x Ramses 1GB DDR2-667MHz PC2-5300
Video Card(s) XFS GeForce 7300GT 256MB, dual DVI, PCIe
Storage 2x Maxtor 300GB SATA
Display(s) 2x Hanns-G 19" LCD
Case completely clear ATX case
Audio Device(s) none (using Turtle Beach USB optical dongle)
Power Supply Rosewill RP500-2 500W, dark chrome
Software Win XP Pro
#22
I tried to more changes today - I disconnected the speaker (no change), and I purchased a really heavy-duty power supply, thinking that maybe the 480W PS might be related to the problem. The new PS is a 650W from BFG, really heavy unit, 4 SATA connections, dual ATX, etc. Unfortunately, after hooking this up I got the exact same results I've been getting all along.

I guess it's time to send this board back and try to get a replacement. I don't really have any other options to try.

-Blayne
 

rawskyb

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
27
Likes
0
Processor AMD 64 X2 4200+ AM2
Motherboard ECS nForce4M-A
Cooling nothin' special, 3x case fans
Memory 2x Ramses 1GB DDR2-667MHz PC2-5300
Video Card(s) XFS GeForce 7300GT 256MB, dual DVI, PCIe
Storage 2x Maxtor 300GB SATA
Display(s) 2x Hanns-G 19" LCD
Case completely clear ATX case
Audio Device(s) none (using Turtle Beach USB optical dongle)
Power Supply Rosewill RP500-2 500W, dark chrome
Software Win XP Pro
#23
I had pretty much come to the conclusion that my mobo had a problem, so I went and got an RMA for it last week. In the meantime, I decided to order another mobo so that I could get up and running while waiting for the original to be repaired. So I received the new nForce4M-A (version 3.0 this time instead of v1.1, which was the original one) this past week, swapped the CPU and memory over to it, and tried powering up.

Guess what?

Same exact problem. The fans spin up for about half a second, and that's it.

So that leaves me with only two components I have not tried swapping out - the CPU and the memory. Anyone have any thoughts? Could some sort of memory incompatibility account for this type of behavior? How about a problem with the CPU? Has anyone ever seen or heard of anything resembling this?

I'm think maybe I should move on to a different mobo, maybe another brand would work better?

BTW, my memory is a pair of Ramses 1GB DDR2-667MHz PC2-5300 (16C, 64x8), from buyaib.com. It's brand new, with pre-installed aluminum heatsinks on each one.

-Blayne
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#24
similar

ive got a sort of similar prob.when i turn on an asrock board with new hiper psu,everything seems to spin up, but doesnt post!!to get the pc to post,all i have to do is press teh reset button once.tried that ?:rolleyes:
 

rawskyb

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
27
Likes
0
Processor AMD 64 X2 4200+ AM2
Motherboard ECS nForce4M-A
Cooling nothin' special, 3x case fans
Memory 2x Ramses 1GB DDR2-667MHz PC2-5300
Video Card(s) XFS GeForce 7300GT 256MB, dual DVI, PCIe
Storage 2x Maxtor 300GB SATA
Display(s) 2x Hanns-G 19" LCD
Case completely clear ATX case
Audio Device(s) none (using Turtle Beach USB optical dongle)
Power Supply Rosewill RP500-2 500W, dark chrome
Software Win XP Pro
#25
ive got a sort of similar prob.when i turn on an asrock board with new hiper psu,everything seems to spin up, but doesnt post!!to get the pc to post,all i have to do is press teh reset button once.tried that ?:rolleyes:
Pressing the reset button itself doesn't do anything. But if I press the reset button and the power switch together, the power remains on, at least until I let go of the reset button. I'm not getting a beep or anything from the system speaker, so I don't think it's POSTing.