• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Problem with RAM

Joined
Jun 29, 2005
Messages
87 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Miami
System Name Dodo's PC
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHZ @ 3.83GHZ
Motherboard eVGA 750i SLi FTW
Cooling Rosewill RCX-Z775-EX
Memory G.Skill 2x2GB 1066 @ 900MHZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GeForce GTX 285 SLi
Storage Western Digital 1TB HDD 7200RPM
Case CM Stacker 830 SE
Power Supply Corsair TX750 750W
#1
I recently bought 2 2x512 DDR400 Kingston HyperX Dual Channel RAM kits. After having installed all of them, when I booted up my PC I noticed it said 1.5 gb's of ram, when I should be having 2 gb's. I let it boot on into Windows, and opened up Everest. To my surprise, each stick of RAM was detected by Everest, yet in memory it says "1.5" why?
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#2
where does it say 1.5 gb? and i would reccomend returning your ram and getting 2x1gb dual channel if u can as that will perform better then your 4x512mb
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2005
Messages
87 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Miami
System Name Dodo's PC
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHZ @ 3.83GHZ
Motherboard eVGA 750i SLi FTW
Cooling Rosewill RCX-Z775-EX
Memory G.Skill 2x2GB 1066 @ 900MHZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GeForce GTX 285 SLi
Storage Western Digital 1TB HDD 7200RPM
Case CM Stacker 830 SE
Power Supply Corsair TX750 750W
#3
it says 1.5 at bootup, 1.5 in everest ( despite the fact it detects all 4 512 sticks ) and 1.5 in system properties.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2005
Messages
87 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Miami
System Name Dodo's PC
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHZ @ 3.83GHZ
Motherboard eVGA 750i SLi FTW
Cooling Rosewill RCX-Z775-EX
Memory G.Skill 2x2GB 1066 @ 900MHZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GeForce GTX 285 SLi
Storage Western Digital 1TB HDD 7200RPM
Case CM Stacker 830 SE
Power Supply Corsair TX750 750W
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#5
Could be a dodgy stick somewhere, test them trying to boot one by one.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2005
Messages
87 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Miami
System Name Dodo's PC
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHZ @ 3.83GHZ
Motherboard eVGA 750i SLi FTW
Cooling Rosewill RCX-Z775-EX
Memory G.Skill 2x2GB 1066 @ 900MHZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GeForce GTX 285 SLi
Storage Western Digital 1TB HDD 7200RPM
Case CM Stacker 830 SE
Power Supply Corsair TX750 750W
#6
they each work individually. :cry:
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2005
Messages
87 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Miami
System Name Dodo's PC
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHZ @ 3.83GHZ
Motherboard eVGA 750i SLi FTW
Cooling Rosewill RCX-Z775-EX
Memory G.Skill 2x2GB 1066 @ 900MHZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GeForce GTX 285 SLi
Storage Western Digital 1TB HDD 7200RPM
Case CM Stacker 830 SE
Power Supply Corsair TX750 750W
#7
With one RAM stick in the fourth slot on my motherboard, my PC won't boot. this slot must be the cuplrit to my motherboard's strange activity. Odd that everest and CPU-z still find it though :banghead:
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2005
Messages
87 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Miami
System Name Dodo's PC
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHZ @ 3.83GHZ
Motherboard eVGA 750i SLi FTW
Cooling Rosewill RCX-Z775-EX
Memory G.Skill 2x2GB 1066 @ 900MHZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GeForce GTX 285 SLi
Storage Western Digital 1TB HDD 7200RPM
Case CM Stacker 830 SE
Power Supply Corsair TX750 750W
#8
Alright, I tested the four ram sticks on an abit ic7 and they worked fine. );
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#9
Try checking for a bios update and if you can't find one that works I'd get an RMA on the board saying that the fourth RAM slot doesn't work.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
796 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name Current
Processor Core i5 2500k
Motherboard Z77MA-G45
Cooling Cooler Master Tx3
Memory 8gb DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 960 4GB GDDR5
Storage (1) SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" WQHD 2560x1440 IPS
Case Fractal Core 1000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 430 Watt Corsair
Mouse Logitech g602
Keyboard K70 LUX Mech LB, Red LED, Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 + Hackintosh
#10
If the motherboard is older and you can't RMA it, RMA the RAM and get 2 x 1GB sticks.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2005
Messages
87 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Miami
System Name Dodo's PC
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHZ @ 3.83GHZ
Motherboard eVGA 750i SLi FTW
Cooling Rosewill RCX-Z775-EX
Memory G.Skill 2x2GB 1066 @ 900MHZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GeForce GTX 285 SLi
Storage Western Digital 1TB HDD 7200RPM
Case CM Stacker 830 SE
Power Supply Corsair TX750 750W
#11
Nah, I got the problem straightened out, I now have an Abit IC-7 that my friend gave me and it loads up the 2 GB! :D Works better than my previous motherboard as well. Not to mention it was a pain to remove that sticky crap that my Tt Big Typhoon left behind on my old motherboard :nutkick: .
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#12
Have you sent back the dodgy board or is it too old? You deserve your money back if it didn't work properly.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2005
Messages
87 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Miami
System Name Dodo's PC
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHZ @ 3.83GHZ
Motherboard eVGA 750i SLi FTW
Cooling Rosewill RCX-Z775-EX
Memory G.Skill 2x2GB 1066 @ 900MHZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GeForce GTX 285 SLi
Storage Western Digital 1TB HDD 7200RPM
Case CM Stacker 830 SE
Power Supply Corsair TX750 750W
#13
too old, and it has that sticky sponge crap on the back of it after having removed my Tt Big Typhoon
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
796 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name Current
Processor Core i5 2500k
Motherboard Z77MA-G45
Cooling Cooler Master Tx3
Memory 8gb DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 960 4GB GDDR5
Storage (1) SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" WQHD 2560x1440 IPS
Case Fractal Core 1000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 430 Watt Corsair
Mouse Logitech g602
Keyboard K70 LUX Mech LB, Red LED, Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 + Hackintosh
#14
I have that same mobo, it overclocks pretty well. I love it for an old socket 478 mobo. But too bad its going to retired in a few months when i get conroe.