• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problem with RX6800 Bios Flash

ackanr

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2021
Messages
8 (0.25/day)
Hey everyone
I have an issue with my rx6800 - non xt reference version
So I was trying to under voltage my card with "More power Tool", downloaded right Bios version and loaded to set new volt on "650 mv". after restart everything was perfect until i was going to keep the voltage even down around "612", so again ran More power tool and set new volt, But this time after restart, GPU clock minimum stucked at the number i set before and can't put it back to default minimum. also voltage backed to default which is "793". I took a screenshot of my current setting and write default Info.

Default: Voltage = 793
GPU Clock = 2100Mhz
 

Attachments

  • Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    310.9 KB · Views: 29
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
446 (3.46/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax. Black
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) Several 6900XTs, 3090s,80s,70s and 60s, almost all Turing and Pascal Cards + a few older ones.
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
why do you flash a bios when we have tools like MPT?
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
446 (3.46/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax. Black
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) Several 6900XTs, 3090s,80s,70s and 60s, almost all Turing and Pascal Cards + a few older ones.
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
I didn't! Just load Bios file into MPT to set new value and write it to SPPT
well the thread is called problem with rx6800 bios flash.

i guess you have the voltage so low that it is below the actual minimum voltage of the GPU. (btw. what's the point of running a GPU at .6V? emulating a 1050 ti?)
and the stuck values are a known issue ( i had to reinstall the drivers after facing this issue (i tried to overvolt)
why do you download the bios? just extract it with GPU-Z, Load it in MPT, dial in your values and reboot,
 

ackanr

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2021
Messages
8 (0.25/day)
well the thread is called problem with rx6800 bios flash.

i guess you have the voltage so low that it is below the actual minimum voltage of the GPU. (btw. what's the point of running a GPU at .6V? emulating a 1050 ti?)
and the stuck values are a known issue ( i had to reinstall the drivers after facing this issue (i tried to overvolt)
why do you download the bios? just extract it with GPU-Z, Load it in MPT, dial in your values and reboot,
Thanks for your reply
Actually i got this card for mining, so that's the reason for undervolt to save electricity. also tried to reinstall the drivers using ddu without any changes.
Unfortunately didn't get backup before start messing with it :shadedshu: because of that i had to download the bios from here.
now i don't have accese to previous setting anymore (my mistake :banghead:).
please take a look to my current values, before this issue Memory was set to 2100Mhz (minimum value)
If you have a clean backup of the same card could you please upload it in here?
 

Attachments

  • a.gif
    a.gif
    54.8 KB · Views: 16
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
446 (3.46/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax. Black
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) Several 6900XTs, 3090s,80s,70s and 60s, almost all Turing and Pascal Cards + a few older ones.
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Thanks for your reply
Actually i got this card for mining, so that's the reason for undervolt to save electricity. also tried to reinstall the drivers using ddu without any changes.
Unfortunately didn't get backup before start messing with it :shadedshu: because of that i had to download the bios from here.
now i don't have accese to previous setting anymore (my mistake :banghead:).
please take a look to my current values, before this issue Memory was set to 2100Mhz (minimum value)
If you have a clean backup of the same card would you please upload it in here?
i am sorry but i only own 6900XTs

do you deleted the SPPT? because since you didn't flashed the bios the card is not "messed up" only the registry file of the SPPT.
 

ackanr

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2021
Messages
8 (0.25/day)
i am sorry but i only own 6900XTs

do you deleted the SPPT? because since you didn't flashed the bios the card is not "messed up" only the registry file of the SPPT.
No i did not, all i did was load the bios file (downloaded from here), change voltage from 793v to 650v and write to SPPT.
first try was done without any issue, second time i went for 612v but after restart, it backed with these values you see.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
57 (0.07/day)
Processor AMD R7 5900x
Motherboard MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk
Cooling msi mag core liquid 240R aio
Memory corsair vengeance rgb pro 32gb
Video Card(s) evga 970 ssc what can i say
Storage 4 ssd 2 hdd
Display(s) 43" samsung
Case Corsair icue 220t rgb
Power Supply corsair 850
Mouse logitech
Keyboard logitech
Software w10
removing the driver and reinstalling it should cure the problem. use ddu.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
446 (3.46/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax. Black
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) Several 6900XTs, 3090s,80s,70s and 60s, almost all Turing and Pascal Cards + a few older ones.
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
No i did not, all i did was load the bios file (downloaded from here), change voltage from 793v to 650v and write to SPPT.
first try was done without any issue, second time i went for 612v but after restart, it backed with these values you see.
well then open MPT, load the bios again, pick your GPU in the top drop down menu and go into the settings and click on delete SPPT, then reboot.
 

ackanr

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2021
Messages
8 (0.25/day)
well then open MPT, load the bios again, pick your GPU in the top drop down menu and go into the settings and click on delete SPPT, then reboot.
thanks, tried it, but didn't work. also reinstalled the driver :confused:
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
446 (3.46/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax. Black
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) Several 6900XTs, 3090s,80s,70s and 60s, almost all Turing and Pascal Cards + a few older ones.
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
thanks, tried it, but didn't work. also reinstalled the driver :confused:
deleting the SPPT must fix it because it is the ONLY thing that influences it (it just gets scanned when booting)

are you 100% sure that you did not flashed any bios on your card?
 

ackanr

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2021
Messages
8 (0.25/day)
deleting the SPPT must fix it because it is the ONLY thing that influences it (it just gets scanned when booting)

are you 100% sure that you did not flashed any bios on your card?
100% sure, only app that i'm working with is MPT
U think using ddu in safe mode would change anything?
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
446 (3.46/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax. Black
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) Several 6900XTs, 3090s,80s,70s and 60s, almost all Turing and Pascal Cards + a few older ones.
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
100% sure, only app that i'm working with is MPT
U think using ddu in safe mode would change anything?
i'd never use DDU without it.

do the following.
download the latest driver
go into the device manager, disable your LAN/Wifi (whatever you use to connect to the internet)
boot into safe mode, run DDU, reboot, install the driver and then re enable your LAN/Wifi in the device manager.
Reboot again.
 

ackanr

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2021
Messages
8 (0.25/day)
i'd never use DDU without it.

do the following.
download the latest driver
go into the device manager, disable your LAN/Wifi (whatever you use to connect to the internet)
boot into safe mode, run DDU, reboot, install the driver and then re enable your LAN/Wifi in the device manager.
Reboot again.

Thank you! it worked somehow
tell you what happened, first i should say that i have 2 graphic card on my pc (RX6800 and 980 GTX), before following your instruction i pulled out my 980 completely and plug the monitor directly to 6800. after that, loaded BIOS and deleted SPPT, then uninstalled the driver in safe mode, after these steps everything backed to normal (2000Mhz - 793v).
without touch anything, made a backup using CPU-Z, loaded it into MPT, set the voltage to 650v and restart, still everything was ok. shutdown the pc, put back 980 GTX, plug the monitor to 980, powered on pc, now the voltage stayed at 650v but again clock changed to 2124!
So curios to know how it returned :rolleyes:
 

Attachments

  • Capture1.PNG
    Capture1.PNG
    763.6 KB · Views: 17
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
446 (3.46/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X (and a LOT of other CPUs)
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax. Black
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600 Mhz CL16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) Several 6900XTs, 3090s,80s,70s and 60s, almost all Turing and Pascal Cards + a few older ones.
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB, Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, 2x Samsung 870 QVO 4TB
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7 32"
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2 White TG / Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000RPM Fans
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 running through a SoundblasterX G6
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200w Titanium
Mouse Glorious PC Gaming Race Model O, G903 Hero, G502 Hero SE, Deathadder V2, EC2-A
Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Scope TKL DLX, Corsair K95, Logitech G815
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
i'm not sure either but 650mv is completely pointless and below of what the GPU is designed for.
maybe that's what triggers the weird behaviour.
 
Top