• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problem with TPU computer

Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,361 (1.71/day)
Likes
3,501
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 /MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#1
A few months ago, you guys help me build a computer for my GF's oldest son Sean(thread here- [WTB][US] Cheap computer ). Well we're having a problem with it. When the computer is turned on, it'll run for 2-3 minutes, then it just shuts down and will not power back on until some time has passed. When it shuts down, I hear a click from the tower. Temps are in the 61-63'c range when shut down occurs(seems the heatsink that was donated isn't adaquate for the quad) and I plan on getting a better heatsink for it this weekend(I'm working now, so I can afford the parts now). So the temps are high, but not so high that they would cause this shut down. Sean tried using it for several weeks before telling me he was having heat problems. System specs of the comp are-

AMD Phenom II 965 w/ Cooler Master 752 heatsink
ASUS M3A76-CM AM2+/AM2 AMD 760G Micro ATX(using onboard video until I can get him a 5770)
4 gigs(2*2) 1066 Transend Axe RAM
Thermaltake TR2 W0379RU 500W ATX 12V v2.2 Power Supply
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

So what do you think is wrong with it?
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.51/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#2
Try 2 things
1,Take out the ram and put one in and see if it boots.
2,Try another PSU if you have one lying around,Also go into BIOS and see if he tried overclocking it.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,419 (3.04/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#3
My guess would be PSU, swap in another or yours for a bit and see what happens. When it comes down to trouble shooting, I just start swapping in parts till I find the issue.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,667 (0.68/day)
Likes
789
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#4
Like the previous 2 replies. But I would say run a Memtest86 on the RAM first just because its the easiest (don't have to take out anything). If it comes back with errors, then you have to find out which stick is giving you the malfunctioning, in which case you then have to boot up with each stick individually and Memtest again.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,297 (9.36/day)
Likes
13,840
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Corsair H155i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 3066 C18
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#5
my guess is definitely PSU, its about the only thing with safety shutoffs that power down the PC, as opposed to it crashing/throttling.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.37/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#6
Those CPU temps are nowhere near high enough to cause thermal shutdown. My old QX6700 would run all day in the high 70s and low 80s.

I agree that the PSU is the most likely culprit. If not, then it could be that some other hardare is causing the PSU to see a voltage condition it feels is worthy of a shutdown. That, however, is pretty rare.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,361 (1.71/day)
Likes
3,501
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 /MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#7
gonna try swapping out my PSU with the TR2 later today to see if that helps
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,671 (4.85/day)
Likes
4,758
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#8
I agree with everyone else here that it is power supply. Upon hearing the click noise, I'm assuming it's hard drive clicking and powering off, then power supply shuts down powering off the whole pc.

Do psu's have thermal protection? I can't remember ....

Either way, take a peak at this cooler:
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus Intel Core i5 & Intel...
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,460 (5.64/day)
Likes
8,992
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#9
There is a litte red switch on the back of the PSU. It says 120v and 220v/240v. Did your GF click that?
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,460 (5.64/day)
Likes
8,992
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#11
Isn't that how you OC the PSU ? :confused:

@Barbaric : Let us know what fixes (or does not fix) the problem in case other people experience this same issue.
I hope you are kidding.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,297 (9.36/day)
Likes
13,840
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Corsair H155i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 3066 C18
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#12
oh f*ck no, do NOT flick that red switch. fire ensues.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.37/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#13
I hope you are kidding.
Yes, MM. I am kidding. We all know you OC the PSU in the BIOS :p

oh f*ck no, do NOT flick that red switch. fire ensues.
Setting a PSU to 220V and feeding it 110V should not result in any damage to the PSU. It should detect insufficient input voltage and simply not function.

Setting a PSU to 110V and feeding it 220V will fry it in a quite spectacular manner.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,297 (9.36/day)
Likes
13,840
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Corsair H155i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 3066 C18
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#14
Yes, MM. I am kidding. We all know you OC the PSU in the BIOS :p



Setting a PSU to 220V and feeding it 110V should not result in any damage to the PSU. It should detect insufficient input voltage and simply not function.

Setting a PSU to 110V and feeding it 220V will fry it in a quite spectacular manner.
our mains runs on 240v, and yeah, i've seen some pretty fireworks...
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,449 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,696
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#15
240v is the EU voltage, in the US the electricity comes out of the wall in a lower voltage (120v if I am right). If the switch is on 240v while you're in the US, the psu "thinks" it is undervoltaged and powers down to protect itself and the pc.
Correct me if I am wrong guys.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
3,121 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,113
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#16
240v is the EU voltage, in the US the electricity comes out of the wall in a lower voltage (120v if I am right). If the switch is on 240v while you're in the US, the psu "thinks" it is undervoltaged and powers down to protect itself and the pc.
Correct me if I am wrong guys.
Adding that in the US the A/C freq. is 60Hz and in the EU is 50Hz. For "study" purposes I've put a PSU at 120V and plugged it on the 230V. Found out that it would be a very good alarm clock.
 

bogmali

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
7,554 (2.05/day)
Likes
4,896
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Core i7-7820X
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling Corsair H115i AIO
Memory Apacer Blade 4x8GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS GTX-1080ti
Storage Sandisk SDSSDXP 240GB SSD, Sandisk Extreme Pro 480GB SSD, Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 1TB
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Coolermaster MasterCase H500P
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 1K Watt
Mouse EpicGear Zora
Keyboard CM Quickfire Xti
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
#17
Yes, MM. I am kidding. We all know you OC the PSU in the BIOS :p.
No wait, I've done mine through EVGA's Precision software.....Am I screwed:p?

Kidding aside......What you heard is a "Click of Death" which means your PSU either died or in your case resets itself. It should work "again" after you let cool off for some time but this is a sign that your PSU is about to go out.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
1,362 (0.44/day)
Likes
633
Location
TX
System Name Beast, little beast
Processor Core i7 2600K 4.5GHZ 24/7, Core i7 Xeon6 core 3.6GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 1155Sckt, EVGA X58 sckt 1366
Cooling H80, H100
Memory 24 gigs DDR3 1600Mhz Gskill RipJaws,12 gigs DDR3 1600Mhz Gskill Ripjaws
Video Card(s) 1 Nvidia 670 eVGA FTW, 1 Nvidia 580 eVGA
Storage 1- WD Black 640GB, 1X Samsung 1.5TB, 2 X 160 WD Veloc Raptors Raided
Display(s) Hanns-G 28" 1920X1200, Acer 24" 1920X1200
Case rig#1 Dismatech test bench, rig#2 Made By Bill Tech Bench
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec 1000 Watt, PC power&cooling 850 watt
Software both Rig's, Win7 64Bit
Benchmark Scores rig #1 4.8GHZ @ 1.375 Volts. running 4.5GHZ 1.272 Volts 24/7. Rig #2 4.6GHZ @ 1.3 Volts 24/7.
#18
What you heard is a "Click of Death" which means your PSU either died or in your case resets itself. It should work "again" after you let cool off for some time but this is a sign that your PSU is about to go out.
+1 I agree with that I've actually had that happen to me after a storm blew thru my neighborhood and we lost elect. for about 60 mins.:mad:
Change PSU and everything will be ok...:toast::toast::toast:
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.20/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#19
I know someone who flicked the red switch on the back of the PSU while the rig was ON...
Needlessly to say, it died. Some people are too stupid even for consoles.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,548 (3.45/day)
Likes
19,012
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#20
check if all fans are spinning, especially the psu fan.

this seems to be a heat problem, or some kind of short happens randomly while the system is running (not very likely)
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,361 (1.71/day)
Likes
3,501
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 /MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#21
check if all fans are spinning, especially the psu fan.

this seems to be a heat problem, or some kind of short happens randomly while the system is running (not very likely)
when the click happens, everything shuts down. If I try to restart it, the fans will for about 1/2 a second try to start spinning(they make about a 1/4 spin) and that's all they'll do.



I haven't had the chance to try my PSU in it yet.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,511 (3.92/day)
Likes
4,933
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#22
Like most said PSU what makes me think it's that is that it's shutting down and taking you a while before your able to turn it back on.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,007 (3.90/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#23
Any update man?