• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

problem with vga port

Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
444 (9.25/day)
System Name juat ordinary potato system, but dont understimate potato..
Processor ryzen raven ridge 2200g, amd sempron, athlon 64 x2
Motherboard msi b350 pc mate, pcchips a15g, gigabyte am2/3 combo
Cooling x2 cheap china handmade
Memory klevv dual channel 3000mhz (upto 3800 bcox it is abt hynix), x3 ddr2 ram 6400
Video Card(s) vega 8, asus strix 570, red dragon 580, xfx fatboy, ati 102, igame gtx 260+, rx580 nitro + 4gb
Storage wd green ssd 240gb, 3tb seagate expnasion, random laptop hdd x4, 1tb 3.5
Display(s) LG tv 768p with suported dsub/vga, dell vat 1080p, acer vgo 2k
Case cheap segotep/dazumba mid atx, alcatroz mini atx
Audio Device(s) genius retro wood style, harman kardon stick iii
Power Supply be quite system power9, powerlogic standar, voltron 300fx
Mouse rexus, genius ps/2, powerlogic ps/2 ball tracking
Keyboard rexus, random china product x3
Software talking abt best software, autodesk/unity3d/notepad yes notepad!!
Benchmark Scores theres nothing to brag abt potato, but it can run decent 30fps with good setting:)
hello i get problem with old monitor, the monitor itself can be turn on just fine, the problem is whenever i pkug vga cable, my screen turn black no display, do thia consider i have broken vga port?
132227

the pic above is on standby mode, no cable plug
132228

its sudently blank after plug vga cable, not to mentioned connect to pc, both have same problem blank screen
132229


i testing on 2 old monitor, both have same brand samsung sync master, the 15inch one have problem, while the 17inch run just fine
132230
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,889 (1.22/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
i testing on 2 old monitor, both have same brand samsung sync master, the 15inch one have problem, while the 17inch run just fine
If you are saying you used the same cable with the same computer and the 17 inch monitor worked fine but the 15 inch monitor did not, then you just proved the 15 inch monitor is faulty.

Sadly, according to these specs, it only supports 1 VGA D-sub input. So it looks like that 17 year old monitor needs to go to the electronics graveyard.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
232 (1.23/day)
Location
USA - East Coast - Home location currently in flux
System Name Daily Driver(gaming, browsing, light web dev.)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aurus Pro Wifi
Cooling Corsair H60 w/Nidec GentleTyphoon
Memory 16GB(2x8) G.Skill FlareX DDR4-3200C14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage Samsung 970 EVO+ 1TB (Boot/OS) | Samsung 860 EVO 1TB (Games) | 2 x WD Spinners 1TB/500GB(BU)
Display(s) 2 X AOC Q3279VWFD8 - 10bit IPS 1440p @ 75hz FreeSync over DP
Case Corsair Graphite 600T w/mesh side
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z625 2.1 | cheapo gaming headset when mic is needed
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux - Blue on Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Not really a benchmark guy...
Those display controller boards don't last forever. Interestingly enough, the old inverters and CCFL backlights usually fail way before the controller boards do. Try another VGA cable maybe another PC if possible. Make sure the settings are 1024x768 and 60Hz refresh. Specs say it will do 75Hz but test with 60Hz to be sure. Unless you absolutely need the 15" it's not worth the time and effort to repair it.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2019
Messages
87 (2.02/day)
Processor i7 - 9700K
Motherboard Asus H370M Plus
Cooling Arctic Freezer 13
Memory 32GB G-Skill @ 2666Mhz CL15
Video Card(s) 5700 XT (Gigabyte Aftermarket)
Storage 970 EVO 500GB, 860 EVO 2TB, 840 Pro 256GB
Display(s) Samsung C32HG70 - 1440p, Freesync 2
Case Silverstone GD-07B
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 2 Uber - Schiit Magni 2 Uber - Sennheiser HD595's
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GX-750
Mouse Steelseries Sensei 310
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX (Brown Switches), Razer Orbweaver Chroma Stealth
If you are saying you used the same cable with the same computer and the 17 inch monitor worked fine but the 15 inch monitor did not, then you just proved the 15 inch monitor is faulty.

Sadly, according to these specs, it only supports 1 VGA D-sub input. So it looks like that 17 year old monitor needs to go to the electronics graveyard.
Probably the monitor, but it could also be any component here. I see PATA ports and an AGP slot. Judging by the HSF, probably a Socket A along with some sort of X800/X1800 card. Could also just be refusing to output a certain resolution because reasons.

I'd personally pull the CPU as a souvenir and then send the whole lot to the electronics graveyard, including the keyboard.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,889 (1.22/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Interestingly enough, the old inverters and CCFL backlights usually fail way before the controller boards do.
Right and that was my first thought as those are fairly easy and inexpensive to fix. But if the backlight and/or inverter had failed, he would not have gotten the "No connection, Check Signal Cable" error.
I see PATA ports and an AGP slot.
PATA? That's for EIDE hard drives and has nothing to do with the video display. And if the AGP slot (or card), the 17 inch monitor would not show a display.
I'd personally pull the CPU as a souvenir
Huh? Why? The computer works. The 17 inch monitor works. Only the 15 inch monitor is having problems.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2019
Messages
87 (2.02/day)
Processor i7 - 9700K
Motherboard Asus H370M Plus
Cooling Arctic Freezer 13
Memory 32GB G-Skill @ 2666Mhz CL15
Video Card(s) 5700 XT (Gigabyte Aftermarket)
Storage 970 EVO 500GB, 860 EVO 2TB, 840 Pro 256GB
Display(s) Samsung C32HG70 - 1440p, Freesync 2
Case Silverstone GD-07B
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 2 Uber - Schiit Magni 2 Uber - Sennheiser HD595's
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GX-750
Mouse Steelseries Sensei 310
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX (Brown Switches), Razer Orbweaver Chroma Stealth
Probably the monitor, but it could also be any component here. I see PATA ports and an AGP slot. Judging by the HSF, probably a Socket A along with some sort of X800/X1800 card.
PATA? That's for EIDE hard drives and has nothing to do with the video display. And if the AGP slot (or card), the 17 inch monitor would not show a display.
Thanks Captain Obvious. I mentioned those things because they help put a date on the system.
I'd personally pull the CPU as a souvenir and then send the whole lot to the electronics graveyard, including the keyboard.
Huh? Why? The computer works. The 17 inch monitor works. Only the 15 inch monitor is having problems.
Because they're either pre-2004, or just generally crap components. He's free to mess around or do whatever he wants; that's just what I would do personally. Computers of that era aren't old enough to be interesting to me.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
444 (9.25/day)
System Name juat ordinary potato system, but dont understimate potato..
Processor ryzen raven ridge 2200g, amd sempron, athlon 64 x2
Motherboard msi b350 pc mate, pcchips a15g, gigabyte am2/3 combo
Cooling x2 cheap china handmade
Memory klevv dual channel 3000mhz (upto 3800 bcox it is abt hynix), x3 ddr2 ram 6400
Video Card(s) vega 8, asus strix 570, red dragon 580, xfx fatboy, ati 102, igame gtx 260+, rx580 nitro + 4gb
Storage wd green ssd 240gb, 3tb seagate expnasion, random laptop hdd x4, 1tb 3.5
Display(s) LG tv 768p with suported dsub/vga, dell vat 1080p, acer vgo 2k
Case cheap segotep/dazumba mid atx, alcatroz mini atx
Audio Device(s) genius retro wood style, harman kardon stick iii
Power Supply be quite system power9, powerlogic standar, voltron 300fx
Mouse rexus, genius ps/2, powerlogic ps/2 ball tracking
Keyboard rexus, random china product x3
Software talking abt best software, autodesk/unity3d/notepad yes notepad!!
Benchmark Scores theres nothing to brag abt potato, but it can run decent 30fps with good setting:)
thax for the sugestion guys, i will try it again tomorrow, ive spare old pc amd sempron am2, maybe it can be display correctly, if the problem still presist, i will threw this 15inch monotor hehe :D
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,889 (1.22/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
thax for the sugestion guys, i will try it again tomorrow, ive spare old pc amd sempron am2, maybe it can be display correctly, if the problem still presist, i will threw this 15inch monotor hehe
Worth a try. If you can repurpose old hardware and keep it out of land fills, that's great. BTW, many communities have electronics recycling centers just to keep such hazardous waste products out of landfills.

Thanks Captain Obvious.
:( So did the link to the monitor I included above (which is what this thread is about) and where I pointed out the monitor was 17 years old.
Computers of that era aren't old enough to be interesting to me.
To you? Perhaps not obvious, but this thread is not about you. And obviously, the OP is interested in keeping it productive.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
516 (0.33/day)
System Name open air
Processor Ryzen R7 1700 Stock
Motherboard Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Scythe Fuma
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (2 X 16GB) DDR4 DRAM 3466 (PC4-27700) C16 for Intel 100 Series - Red PC M
Video Card(s) XFX RX460 4GB SINGLE SLOT
Storage Crucial Mx100 256GB & Sandisk SSD Plus 480GB
Display(s) NOW LG 27MP38 1980X1080 IPS/OLD Philips Brilliance 220CW 1680x1050 CCFL Monitor ( DEFUNCT)
Case NOTHING no case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR SF450 PLATINUM
Mouse Elecom wireless mouse
Keyboard Logitech Mk240 Nano Wireless Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro/Enterprise
Benchmark Scores Don't know any benchmark. It runs good enough for me.
Great to see someone still repurposing old hardware, I don't have much knowhow and especially space to this things. I have my long serving Philips monitor from 2008 the one defunct in my signature. Unfortunately for mine, it cannot turn on at all. For things this old, the fix might be pretty simple, most likely the capacitors in monitor display board have already bloated or dead. Changing them might bring the screen the life, I wanna do that but I am not sure of prying my screen and sadly it was disposed. Majority of dead old boards are capacitors issues

You can try it, the worse is a dead screen which is already dead. I'll definitely keep those AM2 boards and fix them old boards are getting rare and many are dump as people don't see the value in them. I still find them good for legacy windows xp system or even before.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
444 (9.25/day)
System Name juat ordinary potato system, but dont understimate potato..
Processor ryzen raven ridge 2200g, amd sempron, athlon 64 x2
Motherboard msi b350 pc mate, pcchips a15g, gigabyte am2/3 combo
Cooling x2 cheap china handmade
Memory klevv dual channel 3000mhz (upto 3800 bcox it is abt hynix), x3 ddr2 ram 6400
Video Card(s) vega 8, asus strix 570, red dragon 580, xfx fatboy, ati 102, igame gtx 260+, rx580 nitro + 4gb
Storage wd green ssd 240gb, 3tb seagate expnasion, random laptop hdd x4, 1tb 3.5
Display(s) LG tv 768p with suported dsub/vga, dell vat 1080p, acer vgo 2k
Case cheap segotep/dazumba mid atx, alcatroz mini atx
Audio Device(s) genius retro wood style, harman kardon stick iii
Power Supply be quite system power9, powerlogic standar, voltron 300fx
Mouse rexus, genius ps/2, powerlogic ps/2 ball tracking
Keyboard rexus, random china product x3
Software talking abt best software, autodesk/unity3d/notepad yes notepad!!
Benchmark Scores theres nothing to brag abt potato, but it can run decent 30fps with good setting:)
i managed to make it work, theres 2 pin cable corrosion, but i encounter new trouble, look at this, the screen only 1/3 i guess
132758

whats this problem, anyone knowhow to fixed?
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
1,583 (1.75/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Biostar X370GTN
Cooling Custom CPU+GPU water loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C16
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury X
Storage 500GB 960 Evo (OS ++), 500GB 850 Evo (Games)
Display(s) Dell U2711
Case NZXT H200i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Lenovo Compact Keyboard with Trackpoint
Software Windows 10 Pro
Is the corrosion on the cable or monitor? If the former I would try another VGA cable. Cleaning corrosion out of a VGA port would be tricky, though. I would try soaking in vinegar, but that doesn't exactly sound easy for a monitor. A quick spray of WD-40 and inserting and removing the cable a bunch of times might clear things up, but comes with the added risk of gunking up the port over time due to sticky residue.

Question: is this for a retro gaming PC or some such?
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
444 (9.25/day)
System Name juat ordinary potato system, but dont understimate potato..
Processor ryzen raven ridge 2200g, amd sempron, athlon 64 x2
Motherboard msi b350 pc mate, pcchips a15g, gigabyte am2/3 combo
Cooling x2 cheap china handmade
Memory klevv dual channel 3000mhz (upto 3800 bcox it is abt hynix), x3 ddr2 ram 6400
Video Card(s) vega 8, asus strix 570, red dragon 580, xfx fatboy, ati 102, igame gtx 260+, rx580 nitro + 4gb
Storage wd green ssd 240gb, 3tb seagate expnasion, random laptop hdd x4, 1tb 3.5
Display(s) LG tv 768p with suported dsub/vga, dell vat 1080p, acer vgo 2k
Case cheap segotep/dazumba mid atx, alcatroz mini atx
Audio Device(s) genius retro wood style, harman kardon stick iii
Power Supply be quite system power9, powerlogic standar, voltron 300fx
Mouse rexus, genius ps/2, powerlogic ps/2 ball tracking
Keyboard rexus, random china product x3
Software talking abt best software, autodesk/unity3d/notepad yes notepad!!
Benchmark Scores theres nothing to brag abt potato, but it can run decent 30fps with good setting:)
Is the corrosion on the cable or monitor? If the former I would try another VGA cable. Cleaning corrosion out of a VGA port would be tricky, though. I would try soaking in vinegar, but that doesn't exactly sound easy for a monitor. A quick spray of WD-40 and inserting and removing the cable a bunch of times might clear things up, but comes with the added risk of gunking up the port over time due to sticky residue.

Question: is this for a retro gaming PC or some such?
iv alr clean the cable inside motherboard, and manage to make it display propely, but theres new problem, only half of screen displayed, before that its actually blank screen:D,

132776
acuattly i keep this monitor for current gaming too, when my gpu cant handle such decent 60fps, i might switch to used 720p or even below res to get smooth gameplay, if i used 2k monitor, the scaling just bad and cause real fuzzy/blurry, so old monitor it help me sometimes:)

btw this 15inch monitor native is 1024x768, is good for playing highend game such re2 or assasins odyssey with igpu vega 8, i could get lot fps using this monitor probably:D
 
Last edited:

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,337 (1.56/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
whats this problem, anyone knowhow to fixed?
You can buy that age or newer monitors (often bigger ) from Goodwill/charity shops for $5 to $10 fully working
There is your solution
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
1,583 (1.75/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Biostar X370GTN
Cooling Custom CPU+GPU water loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C16
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury X
Storage 500GB 960 Evo (OS ++), 500GB 850 Evo (Games)
Display(s) Dell U2711
Case NZXT H200i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Lenovo Compact Keyboard with Trackpoint
Software Windows 10 Pro
Well, as Digital Foundry recently showed, a CRT is a far better solution for low-res gaming. It's just too bad they are so damn huge.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
444 (9.25/day)
System Name juat ordinary potato system, but dont understimate potato..
Processor ryzen raven ridge 2200g, amd sempron, athlon 64 x2
Motherboard msi b350 pc mate, pcchips a15g, gigabyte am2/3 combo
Cooling x2 cheap china handmade
Memory klevv dual channel 3000mhz (upto 3800 bcox it is abt hynix), x3 ddr2 ram 6400
Video Card(s) vega 8, asus strix 570, red dragon 580, xfx fatboy, ati 102, igame gtx 260+, rx580 nitro + 4gb
Storage wd green ssd 240gb, 3tb seagate expnasion, random laptop hdd x4, 1tb 3.5
Display(s) LG tv 768p with suported dsub/vga, dell vat 1080p, acer vgo 2k
Case cheap segotep/dazumba mid atx, alcatroz mini atx
Audio Device(s) genius retro wood style, harman kardon stick iii
Power Supply be quite system power9, powerlogic standar, voltron 300fx
Mouse rexus, genius ps/2, powerlogic ps/2 ball tracking
Keyboard rexus, random china product x3
Software talking abt best software, autodesk/unity3d/notepad yes notepad!!
Benchmark Scores theres nothing to brag abt potato, but it can run decent 30fps with good setting:)
yes indeex
You can buy that age or newer monitors (often bigger ) from Goodwill/charity shops for $5 to $10 fully working
There is your solution
yes indeed, it wont worth a repairing cost tho i can buy another 15inch for $10, am just curious whats the problem on this monitor:D

plus they were not efficent on electricy :p
Well, as Digital Foundry recently showed, a CRT is a far better solution for low-res gaming. It's just too bad they are so damn huge.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
1,608 (0.64/day)
System Name N/A
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX
Cooling stock
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 1TB WD and 1TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 21.5" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT
Mouse R.A.T3
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Usually this tends to be a Cable issue, pins bent, or internally the cable PCB connector is twisted beyond repair hence "No connection"
 
Top