1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problems flashing 8800 bios

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by TonkaTrain, Feb 23, 2009.

  1. TonkaTrain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am trying to flash the bioses of my two evga 8800 gts 640 cards. I have a bootable flash drive with the latest nvflash on it and my cards bios. i type "nvflash bios.rom"(i changed extension from .bin-.rom from the one i downloaded to work around another error) and i get a message saying "I/O ERROR: Cannot open file: bios.rom"

    Also is it possible to flash these cards when they are both in the system or will i need to do them on at a time?


    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2009
  2. TonkaTrain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    bump
     
  3. denice25 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    316 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Do it one at a time.
     
  4. TonkaTrain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, does that mean i will have to take one of the cards out of the system to flash? Also would this be the cause of the message i am getting?

    Thanks
     
  5. Supreme0verlord

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    696 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    Yes you have to flash the cards individually, meaning, take one out then flash the one in your computer then when your done flashing that one, take it out and put in the other one and repeat. And on the I/O Error, try a different floppy and see if that works.
     
  6. TonkaTrain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply, i am using a bootable flash drive with the bios on it could that be the problem? I will try with a floppy

    i was not using a floppy since i need a 4pin-floppy power adapter for it, but ill try to rewire things.
     
  7. Supreme0verlord

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    696 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    Have you tried the HP USB Format Tool? Try using that to format your USB drive and select "Create a DOS Startup Disk, then you have to specify where the DOS system files are located. Just use these.
     
    TonkaTrain says thanks.
  8. TonkaTrain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That is what I used to format the drive. Unfortunately my mobo died so I won't be able to flash my cards for awhile. I will let you know how it goes.
     
  9. Supreme0verlord

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    696 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    Ahhh, I was wondering what happened, you hadn't reported back in a while. Yeah, when you get your motherboard back, let me know how it goes.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)