• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Problems with a Sapphire 4870

panzival

New Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#1
* G.SKILL F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ PC2-8000 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-1000 CL5-5-5-15 240PIN Dual Channel Memory Kit
* Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 Dual Core Processor LGA775 2.5GHZ 800FSB 2MB Retail Box
* Asus P5Q Pro Atx LGA775 P45 DDR2 2PCI-E16 Crossfire 3PCI-E1 2PCI SATA2 Sound Gblan Esata Motherboard
* Sapphire Radeon Hd 4870 512MB GDDR5 PCI-E 2XDVI-I Video Card
* Corsair TX750W 750W ATX 12V 60A 24PIN ATX Power Supply Active PFC 140MM Fan

Those are my specs. Been having issues with my 4870. I keep getting random pixel squares. I attached an image of what it looks like. When I game I usually get artifacts ingame. I have the fan set to 60% always and the temperature never seems to go over 56C during load and 41C on idle. But whenever I run FurMark, within 1 minute the reported temperature in FurMark is over 100C, and it doesn't matter wheter I set the fan to 20% or 100%, the temperature still climbs to over 100C in about a minute.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
1,745 (0.41/day)
Likes
176
Location
The Nevada Wasteland
System Name 9th Level
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 BE @3.4Ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA790FX-UD5P
Cooling Corsair H100, x2 250mm, x1 140mm, x3 120mm fans.
Memory 8GB Patriot DDR2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX480 (800/1600/2000/@1.0v)
Storage x1 80GB, x2 1TB.
Display(s) Acer 24" 2ms 1920x1200
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Fatal1ty Xtreme gamer 64mb Xram
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#2
You might need to reapply thermal paste on your GPU. Does your case have good cooling?
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
2,227 (0.61/day)
Likes
316
Location
Larisa, Greece
System Name StarCruiser Dark Knight
Processor QX9650 @4.4GHz max OC
Motherboard DFI x48 Dark Knight
Cooling 1x custom W/C loop/ inflow:6x120 /outflow:4x120, 2x200
Memory 8 Gb Geil Esoteria rev.2
Video Card(s) Powercolor LCS 5870
Storage 2 x 500 Gb wd (ext. port), 1 x 1.500 Gb Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate (AC Ryan box)
Display(s) LG M2094D-PZ 20'' HD (1920 X 1080)
Case custom MDF case (I BUILT IT) check sig.....NOW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Tagan 900 watt
Software Win 7 RC / Open office / Games
Benchmark Scores 18509 single 4870 - 23996 3dmark06 4870 crossfire(vista ult.64@4Ghz)/ P16213 3dmark vantage
#3
You might need to reapply thermal paste on your GPU. Does your case have good cooling?
thats a good idea.....
but, tell us what drivers do you use? and is the 4870 OCed?
and could you post a picture of the inside of the rig?
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2006
Messages
110 (0.03/day)
Likes
20
Location
Australia
System Name Black Beauty
Processor 4790K
Motherboard MSI Gaming 3
Cooling Water H110
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866C9B 16GB
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX970
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro
Display(s) BENQ 24"
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse R.A.T.7
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K95
Software W7 Pro 64bit
#4
Run GPU Tool and go to the sensor Tab. See what the VDDC slaves temps are whilst using it to "Test for Stability." Post up the temps shown there.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#5
You might need to reapply thermal paste on your GPU. Does your case have good cooling?
thats a good idea.....
but, tell us what drivers do you use? and is the 4870 OCed?
and could you post a picture of the inside of the rig?
Run GPU Tool and go to the sensor Tab. See what the VDDC slaves temps are whilst using it to "Test for Stability." Post up the temps shown there.
+1 for all
other wise , i think it is render problem , maybe new bios solve the problem but put this as last try
 

panzival

New Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#6
You might need to reapply thermal paste on your GPU. Does your case have good cooling?
My case is a Antec 900 and it seems to have good cooling

thats a good idea.....
but, tell us what drivers do you use? and is the 4870 OCed?
and could you post a picture of the inside of the rig?
Catalyst 9.6 drivers and it is not overclocked.



Run GPU Tool and go to the sensor Tab. See what the VDDC slaves temps are whilst using it to "Test for Stability." Post up the temps shown there.
I googled GPU Tool and got AMD GPU Clock tool. Is this what your talking about, because I don't see any test for stability in the program.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2006
Messages
110 (0.03/day)
Likes
20
Location
Australia
System Name Black Beauty
Processor 4790K
Motherboard MSI Gaming 3
Cooling Water H110
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866C9B 16GB
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX970
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro
Display(s) BENQ 24"
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse R.A.T.7
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K95
Software W7 Pro 64bit

panzival

New Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#8
Yes, not much air gets through those cables, but just the air from the 2 fans infront. There's a massive fan ontop which you can't see in the picture that seems to get alot of air in. And I ran GPUTool and I don't see the VDDC slave temps. No more temperature readings after GPU Temp. (SHADERCORE).

Edit: I've been reading a bit about the VRAMs on the 4870. I've read many times that they overheat. Is the Memory clock related to the VRAMs, because if I unclock the memory to 810 then all artifacts go away. If the VRAMs are indeed my problem, how would I go about cooling them?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#9
Looks like you need a better case that allows for better air flow. I suggest you look into Antec like of P190s and 900 series. As they offer a tad better cable management at a lower price point then other PC Cases. Once you get good air flow you should stop seeing artifacts.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.65/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#10
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#11
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.65/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#12
I've used their 300 and 900 cases, the cable management is just pitiful on both. I would rather shoot myself in the leg while jumping off a building than use any of those cases again.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#13
I've used their 300 and 900 cases, the cable management is just pitiful on both. I would rather shoot myself in the leg while jumping off a building than use any of those cases again.
I can see how that may be an issue. I am using it for my i7 rig, that only has an ssd and 1 7200sata. 70% of the cables are jsut sitting in the top 5.25 bay - so i hadn't noticed. good to know.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2006
Messages
110 (0.03/day)
Likes
20
Location
Australia
System Name Black Beauty
Processor 4790K
Motherboard MSI Gaming 3
Cooling Water H110
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866C9B 16GB
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX970
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro
Display(s) BENQ 24"
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse R.A.T.7
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K95
Software W7 Pro 64bit
#14
Yes, not much air gets through those cables, but just the air from the 2 fans infront. There's a massive fan ontop which you can't see in the picture that seems to get alot of air in. And I ran GPUTool and I don't see the VDDC slave temps. No more temperature readings after GPU Temp. (SHADERCORE).

Edit: I've been reading a bit about the VRAMs on the 4870. I've read many times that they overheat. Is the Memory clock related to the VRAMs, because if I unclock the memory to 810 then all artifacts go away. If the VRAMs are indeed my problem, how would I go about cooling them?
Problem with the fan on top is that the air from it has a hard time going under the graphics card to cool it.
So, in GPUtool under the sensor Tab, you have no readings there?
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,888 (0.56/day)
Likes
142
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 1GB Sapphire Radeon HD4650 Ultimate Edition
Storage 60GB Corsair Force LE, 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F1, 500GB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Samsung T220HD & 19" Acer X193W
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#15
Umm...the top fan is an exhaust, which means if it's an intake you flipped it? You really need to do some cable management, why do you have unused wires in the way of everything?

I've used their 300 and 900 cases, the cable management is just pitiful on both. I would rather shoot myself in the leg while jumping off a building than use any of those cases again.
I can't comment on the 300, but in the 900 with a bit of work and the right parts like a modular PSU and a mobo with a power connector that isn't on the fucking left side, it can be decent looking, though it is limited. I would have liked if the hard-drive bays were rotated 90 degrees so you wouldn't see the connectors, but besides a modular PSU my 900 is kinda neat lol.
 
Last edited:

panzival

New Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#16
Problem with the fan on top is that the air from it has a hard time going under the graphics card to cool it.
So, in GPUtool under the sensor Tab, you have no readings there?
I have a few temperatures, but nothing about VDDC slave temps.

Umm...the top fan is an exhaust, which means if it's an intake you flipped it? You really need to do some cable management, why do you have unused wires in the way of everything?



I can't comment on the 300, but in the 900 with a bit of work and the right parts like a modular PSU and a mobo with a power connector that isn't on the fucking left side, it can be decent looking, though it is limited. I would have liked if the hard-drive bays were rotated 90 degrees so you wouldn't see the connectors, but besides a modular PSU my 900 is kinda neat lol.
Sorry my mistake, I thought it was a intake fan. And I put all the unused cables under the my DVD Drive because I have no where else to put it em... lol
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,888 (0.56/day)
Likes
142
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 1GB Sapphire Radeon HD4650 Ultimate Edition
Storage 60GB Corsair Force LE, 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F1, 500GB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Samsung T220HD & 19" Acer X193W
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#17
Sorry my mistake, I thought it was a intake fan. And I put all the unused cables under the my DVD Drive because I have no where else to put it em... lol
The top and rear fans are exhaust, they pull the hot air out, but the 2 fronts are intakes, they pull in cool air, it doesn't help them being blocked.

This is where I put my wires:



If you don't have enough room, move the hard-drive cage up 1 slot so there's a free 5.25" bay at the bottom for your wires.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
806 (0.21/day)
Likes
188
Location
Tampa FL
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard Asus Prime X370 Pro
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H110i
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 Mhz CAS 15
Video Card(s) Asus Radeon RoG RX 480 Strix OC 8GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 25" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master Master Case 5 Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX 850
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#18
As someone with the exact same case and videocard, I'll tell you it's an airflow problem. If possible move the HDDs to the lower 3 bays. This will allow airflow directly to the card. Also a side panel fan won't hurt.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,888 (0.56/day)
Likes
142
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 1GB Sapphire Radeon HD4650 Ultimate Edition
Storage 60GB Corsair Force LE, 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F1, 500GB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Samsung T220HD & 19" Acer X193W
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#19
As someone with the exact same case and videocard, I'll tell you it's an airflow problem. If possible move the HDDs to the lower 3 bays. This will allow airflow directly to the card. Also a side panel fan won't hurt.
Or, try putting your HDD in the 3.5" adapter, a hard-drive doesn't really need a fan, a vent is fine, that leaves the 2 drive cages free allowing for more airflow. If you still have problems, which you shouldn't, try installing better intake fans or putting your PC somewhere cooler, I have my PC about 5ft from my window and when I open it (almost 24hours a day) my temps drop 5-10C depending on how much of a breeze is coming in and the temps outside.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#20
Are you using HDMI? One thing id say, RMA your card back to the manufacturer, maybe even have another video card installed and see if it does same thing, or take card to known good machine and check it.
* G.SKILL F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ PC2-8000 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-1000 CL5-5-5-15 240PIN Dual Channel Memory Kit
* Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 Dual Core Processor LGA775 2.5GHZ 800FSB 2MB Retail Box
* Asus P5Q Pro Atx LGA775 P45 DDR2 2PCI-E16 Crossfire 3PCI-E1 2PCI SATA2 Sound Gblan Esata Motherboard
* Sapphire Radeon Hd 4870 512MB GDDR5 PCI-E 2XDVI-I Video Card
* Corsair TX750W 750W ATX 12V 60A 24PIN ATX Power Supply Active PFC 140MM Fan

Those are my specs. Been having issues with my 4870. I keep getting random pixel squares. I attached an image of what it looks like. When I game I usually get artifacts ingame. I have the fan set to 60% always and the temperature never seems to go over 56C during load and 41C on idle. But whenever I run FurMark, within 1 minute the reported temperature in FurMark is over 100C, and it doesn't matter wheter I set the fan to 20% or 100%, the temperature still climbs to over 100C in about a minute.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2006
Messages
110 (0.03/day)
Likes
20
Location
Australia
System Name Black Beauty
Processor 4790K
Motherboard MSI Gaming 3
Cooling Water H110
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866C9B 16GB
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX970
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro
Display(s) BENQ 24"
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse R.A.T.7
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K95
Software W7 Pro 64bit
#21
I have a few temperatures, but nothing about VDDC slave temps.
When you are in the sensors Tab area, is here a scroll bar on the right hand side? Sorry for the silly question :).
There should also be the fan speed there and amp draw.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#22
You might have one of the cards with the bad bios, email sapphire and ask them what you should do.
 

panzival

New Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#23
Are you using HDMI? One thing id say, RMA your card back to the manufacturer, maybe even have another video card installed and see if it does same thing, or take card to known good machine and check it.
Not using HDMI and I can't RMA. Woulda done that a long time ago if I could :(

When you are in the sensors Tab area, is here a scroll bar on the right hand side? Sorry for the silly question :).
There should also be the fan speed there and amp draw.
There is fan speed and amp draw as well. There is a scroll bar on the right side but it only scrolls down like a few pixels and that's it. Nothing below :/

You might have one of the cards with the bad bios, email sapphire and ask them what you should do.
I'll try emailing them.

I also took apart my whole computer and did some cable management. Moved the hard drives to the top so I could put the extra cables at the bottom of the computer. The fan right infront of the video card also has no more cables blocking the way.



You can't really tell from the photo, but all the cables are out of the way and none blocking the airflow to the video card. I'm going to bed but I'll run FurMark tomorrow and see what the temperatures are like.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
2,250 (0.71/day)
Likes
415
System Name Always changing
Processor TBD
Motherboard ASRock Z97 Extreme3
Cooling Himalaya 2
Memory G.Skill RipJaws DDR3 2400 Cas 11
Video Card(s) TBD
Storage OCZ ARC 240GB
Display(s) Nec 23" 1080P LED
Case Antec Eleven Hundred V2
#24
Did that change the temps at all?

EDIT: oh okay nvm
 

panzival

New Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#25
My 4870 now idles about 5 degrees cooler, but when I run FurMark it still jumps to 100 degrees, but it takes about 30 seconds longer now.