• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Problems with Linksys router. I think it's time for a new one.

Joined
Apr 23, 2006
Messages
3,558 (0.84/day)
Likes
249
Location
Enschede, The Netherlands
System Name Lian Li Carbon fiber ed.
Processor Intel i5 2500k 4.6Ghz 24/7 Max OC 5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech blocks, 360 Xflow rad, Swiftech 120 rad, Liang with XSPC res/pump top.
Memory 8Gb Mushkin 1600Mhz 8-9-8-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6950 2Gb
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 128 / Western Digital 160
Display(s) ASUS 25,5" wide VW266h
Power Supply Corsair HX620 modular
Software Windows 7 64
#1
Hi guys.

A few months back i changed my internetspeed from 25Mbps to 50Mbps. But i only get 35Mbps max.
My network is setup like this. Modem to router then all three pc's are wired to the router and my two laptops use wireless. The router is a Linksys WRT54GL with DD-WRT firmware.
Few days back i called my ISP for some advise on this. The guy asked if i could connect my pc direct to the modem, then performed some speedtests and i got 5.6Mb download and upload.
So he advised me to buy a new router. He claimed because i have fibre internet i need a Gigabit router. So any advice for a good but not to expensive router?

Thanks.:toast:
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
1,226 (0.36/day)
Likes
179
Location
Metro Atlanta
Processor Intel i5 2550K @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212+
Memory 16Gb (4x4) XMS3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX470
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 - 240GB
Display(s) (2) Acer 24" LCD
Case Bitfenix Raider
Power Supply SILVERSTONE Strider Gold Evolution SST-ST1000-G Evolution 1000W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64 | Backtrack 5 R2
#2
Do you need QoS or any special functions? What is done on wireless?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,558
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#3
you dont need gigabit at all, but if you're using wireless it will need to be wifi N (for all devices, a single G device can slow the wireless network)
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2006
Messages
3,558 (0.84/day)
Likes
249
Location
Enschede, The Netherlands
System Name Lian Li Carbon fiber ed.
Processor Intel i5 2500k 4.6Ghz 24/7 Max OC 5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech blocks, 360 Xflow rad, Swiftech 120 rad, Liang with XSPC res/pump top.
Memory 8Gb Mushkin 1600Mhz 8-9-8-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6950 2Gb
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 128 / Western Digital 160
Display(s) ASUS 25,5" wide VW266h
Power Supply Corsair HX620 modular
Software Windows 7 64
#4
The wireless is not so important cause i only use the laptop for surfing the web and downloading a movie once a week. I just want the full 50Mbps. Thats what i pay for.

For the Gigabit part thats what he says. I don't care if i have to buy a new router but i thought my Linksys was good enough for it.

Which router should i buy then?
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,886 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#5
You don't need a gigabit router for that, it's about throughput. My old router was 100mbit/s and it handled a 100mbit Internet connection just fine. You should get more speed than that, but I don't know if DD-WRT slows it down or something.

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/lanwan/router-charts/view

Also a quote about speeds:

In the hope that someone will find these data useful, I have joined and
summarized the results of various speed tests performed by "whgpjay",
"Matthiaz" (see later in this thread), "2q2" (in the Hansenet User Forum)
and me. The firmware version used was v23 SP2. The following values
apply both to the WRT54G v3.1 and to the GL, unless specified explicitly:

Ethernet switch alone:
> 70 Mbit/s

NAT:
30 Mbit/s (GL), 21 Mbit/s (G v3.1)

PPPoE + NAT:
23Mbit/s (GL)

RP-PPPoE + NAT:
≈ 6 Mbit/s (GL)

WLAN (WPA2) :
24 Mbit/s

PPPoE + NAT + WLAN (WPA2):
16Mbit/s at least (GL, see below)

RP-PPPoE + NAT + WLAN (WPA):
4.6 Mbit/s (GL)

Notes:

- These are throughput values.

- The difference in NAT speed between the Gv3.1 and the GL is,
most likely, due to different CPU types: BCM47xx vs. BCM53xx

- "PPPoE" applies to the default (Linksys) PPPoE driver.
Note that the open-source RP-PPPoE is much slower,
because of heavy CPU usage and/or implementation flaws.

- WLAN throughput of 24 Mbit/s was the maximum value obtained
under optimum conditions. To my experience, typical values are
16...20 Mbit/s for a "good" connection running at a nominal rate of
54 Mbit/s.

- PPPoE + NAT + WLAN (WPA2):
See <http://www.hansenet-user-forum.de/viewtopic.php?p=72094>
and other posts in that forum, which confirm a speed of 16 Mbit/s
at least.

- CPU load should not differ between WPA and WPA2; I have just
indicated what was used for testing.
But yeah, could be time for a new one. How much do you want to spend? I've read nice things about Netgear WNDR4000 N750.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,287 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,395
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
The WRT54GL is simply not fast enough to handle that fast of an internet connection, it is the reason I ditched it for an E1000 and now an E3000.

If all you are looking to do is upgrade to something that can handle your internet connection(and get the bonus of Wireless N too) then you can pick up an E1000 for $21 and it will do wonderfully. Or you can go full out and get the E3000 with Gigabit ports and Dual-Band Wireless N for $50. I use Tomato on mine, but DD-WRT also supports both the E1000 and E3000.