• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Problems with Sims 2(old i know!)

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#1
my GF has been playing sims 2 and we are plagued with issues. i've googled for days and cannot figure this shit out.

1. sims get stuck in the pool. not like you may think... they can physically "get out" of the pool but they "swim" through the concrete, grass, flooring, etc. with water around their necks.

2. sometimes they get in bed and you cannot do a damn thing to get em to wake up. they sleep for days, months, before we end up just deleting them and making a new family.

3. sometimes the screen goes black other than the house itself. i dont think its a gfx issue due to the fact that EVERYONE i've read about has this same issue, even with huge gpus in use.

4. the dog stands in one place and stares into space infinitely(almost). every once in a while he'll go outside and roll in the grass. he wont respond to any commands.

YES i have done ALL patches, updates, etc. to the game. i've tried cheats and they dont work either.

WTF is wrong with this game?
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,547 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#2
WTF is wrong with this game?
I think you've just answered your question right there, buddy. ;)

But seriously, how old is Sims 2? Is it Win98 era software, perhaps? If so, it might run best under that or XP Win98 compatibility mode.

If it's XP era software, then it might be best to try it under XP and see if it doesn't work in quite such a retarded way. Also, you may want to try the Win7 XP mode on this, or the various XP compatibility options in Win7. Finally, you could try Win7 32-bit and see if it's any different. Good luck! :toast:

Another thought: when running under XP, it's possible that it might want an earlier patch level, ie SP1 or SP2 to work properly. Bit of a long shot, but worth considering.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#3
I think you've just answered your question right there, buddy. ;)

But seriously, how old is Sims 2? Is it Win98 era software, perhaps? If so, it might run best under that or XP Win98 compatibility mode.

If it's XP era software, then it might be best to try it under XP and see if it doesn't work in quite such a retarded way. Also, you may want to try the Win7 XP mode on this, or the various XP compatibility options in Win7. Finally, you could try Win7 32-bit and see if it's any different. Good luck! :toast:

Another thought: when running under XP, it's possible that it might want an earlier patch level, ie SP1 or SP2 to work properly. Bit of a long shot, but worth considering.
It is not that old. It is proper 3D game.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,100 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,528
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
its just a badly coded, buggy game.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
1,132 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
System Name Grandpa
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
Cooling water
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 5850 x2
Storage Samsung SM951
Display(s) Catleap 27"
Case coolermaster stacker
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse logitech g5 original
Keyboard Ducky
Software Windows 8.1
#5
1. sims get stuck in the pool. not like you may think... they can physically "get out" of the pool but they "swim" through the concrete, grass, flooring, etc. with water around their necks.
- Alcohol

2. sometimes they get in bed and you cannot do a damn thing to get em to wake up. they sleep for days, months, before we end up just deleting them and making a new family.
- marijuana

3. sometimes the screen goes black other than the house itself. i dont think its a gfx issue due to the fact that EVERYONE i've read about has this same issue, even with huge gpus in use.
- mushroom

4. the dog stands in one place and stares into space infinitely(almost). every once in a while he'll go outside and roll in the grass. he wont respond to any commands.
- heroin
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,547 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#6
its just a badly coded, buggy game.
So it must have run like this originally? The implication in the OP is that it used to behave itself before.

I think we need Fits to clarify.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,100 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,528
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7
So it must have run like this originally? The implication in the OP is that it used to behave itself before.

I think we need Fits to clarify.
it sounds like the system may be unstable somewhat making things worse, but yeah those problems are extremely common.

its one of those games that runs with errors instead of crashing, so an unstable machine can cause all sorts of weird shit to happen. tiniest error results in people swimming through rocks for the rest of the game, unstable machine or not.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,833 (0.56/day)
Likes
523
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
#8
Try The Sims 3?
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#9
Are you using any mods and/or custom content in the game? 99% of these issues arise with conflicting mods or custom content which is not fully compatible with the expansion packs or with later-released patches.

Try first by disabling custom content from the game's menu.

If that doesn't do it, make a copy your mods and custom content, and play the vanilla game and see if the problems appear. Ideally do a reinstall. I'm pretty sure this will solve the problem.

If it does, then add the custom content and mods little by little (it takes a lot of patience I know) so that you find the culprit.