• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Processes under google chrome? [Solved]

Status
Not open for further replies.

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,330 (2.02/day)
Likes
9,192
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.175 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#1
Is this normal?
I only have 6 tabs open....

Capture.PNG
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,355 (3.92/day)
Likes
6,904
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#2
Id guess so.. I have 18 tabs open and it shows 24 processes.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,667 (4.14/day)
Likes
6,644
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#3
yup. Google chrome sand boxes alot of things which creates more process overhead and creates even more sub processes for mem management security extensions etc.
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,330 (2.02/day)
Likes
9,192
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.175 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#4
I was just not remembering seeing "Windows Command Processor" and "Console WIndow Host" under Chrome on my windows 8.1 rig.


This is Windows 10 I'm using at the moment.

To be sure I just did a malware bytes scan, didn't find anything alarming. :)
Capture.PNG


Thanks!
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,647 (4.06/day)
Likes
10,917
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#5
I think Google recently implemented what firefox did a while ago, with each tab having it's own process type situation, so nowadays browsers kind a look like 1000 different processes running :rolleyes:

Its the future!!!
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,330 (2.02/day)
Likes
9,192
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.175 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#6
:p:D

I just wasn't sure what "Windows Command Processor" and "Console WIndow Host" doing under Chrome.

I'm not remembering that under windows 8.1...
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,355 (3.92/day)
Likes
6,904
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#7
Ever since I can remember, Chrome always had seperate processes for tabs... before FF even? Not sure on that point.
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,330 (2.02/day)
Likes
9,192
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.175 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#8
Ever since I can remember, Chrome always had seperate processes for tabs
Yeah I know that.
It's just I see "Windows Command Processor" and "Console WIndow Host" running under it.
Not sure what it does there.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,355 (3.92/day)
Likes
6,904
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#9
I should have quoted who I was talking to...the post directly above yours.

I think Google recently implemented what firefox did a while ago, with each tab having it's own process type situation,
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,203 (5.42/day)
Likes
11,477
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
Yeah I know that.
It's just I see "Windows Command Processor" and "Console WIndow Host" running under it.
Not sure what it does there.
It is likely related to extensions running in Chrome. The extensions now run in their own process too.

You can open a task manager inside of Chrome itself that might give you some hints about what it is running. You can even match the process IDs in the Chrome Task Manager to the PIDs in Windows Task Manager.
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,330 (2.02/day)
Likes
9,192
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.175 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#11
It is likely related to extensions running in Chrome. The extensions now run in their own process too.

You can open a task manager inside of Chrome itself that might give you some hints about what it is running. You can even match the process IDs in the Chrome Task Manager to the PIDs in Windows Task Manager.
I disabled the Norton Security toolbar and the "Windows Command Processor" and "Console Window Host" processes were gone so it was from Norton....
The thing is I don't see these processes on my dads netbook, he also has the Norton Security toolbar, it's a 32 bit windows 8.1 though but with latest Chrome version.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Messages
396 (0.24/day)
Likes
182
Location
Riga
System Name capercaillie
Processor i5-4670K @ 4.2GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory Corsair Vengence 16Gb @ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Windforce OC
Storage Kingston 240GB SSDNOW V300 (OS), Seagate BARRACUDA 7200 1TB, WD 500GB
Display(s) DELL S2417DG
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Corsair RM550
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10
#12
I think Google recently implemented what firefox did a while ago, with each tab having it's own process type situation, so nowadays browsers kind a look like 1000 different processes running :rolleyes:

Its the future!!!
I think it's the other way around, FF always was a single process, so if a single tab hangs, everything hangs. Using the latest FF, but haven't checked if it spawns more processes.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,749 (4.49/day)
Likes
5,874
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#13
It isolates the thread and memory pools of each tab then all of the processes have some kind of inter-process communication with the main process. This is so one bad actor doesn't take the entire browser down or gain access to memory-space for another tab. Also like most JavaScript implementations, threading at the language level isn't an option because JavaScript doesn't offer any facilities to make it thread-safe which introduces barriers to not using a process-based approach. I suspect that this was done under the guise of security when it's really just a limitation of most modern JS implementations.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2016
Messages
424 (0.60/day)
Likes
357
Location
Riverwood, Skyrim
System Name I haven't decided yet
Processor Intel i5 6500
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX/AC
Cooling Stock cooler
Memory G.Skill Aegis 1x16GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX480 Nitro+ 4GB
Storage Samsung 850EVO 500GB, 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 32' Sony TV
Case Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) Onboard, HD 599 cans
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer HCG-520M (520W)
Mouse Rapoo (can't remember the model number)
Keyboard Rapoo v56
Benchmark Scores Look in the various benchmark threads
#14
I think Google recently implemented what firefox did a while ago, with each tab having it's own process type situation, so nowadays browsers kind a look like 1000 different processes running
Chrome had multi process long before firefox did and that is one of the reasons that the new firefox 57 is so much faster than it used to be
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,330 (2.02/day)
Likes
9,192
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.175 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#15
I know about Chrome using separate processes for each tab for quite some time now...

I was seeing: "Windows Command Processor" and "Console Window Host" processes which I hadn't seen before. (sorry, maybe I should have used s different thread title)
Found out that these processes belong to the Norton Security toolbar.
I only just found out because I just started using Norton (once again).

Anyways, it's solved!

Thanks!
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,647 (4.06/day)
Likes
10,917
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#16
I know about Chrome using separate processes for each tab for quite some time now...

I was seeing: "Windows Command Processor" and "Console Window Host" processes which I hadn't seen before. (sorry, maybe I should have used s different thread title)
Found out that these processes belong to the Norton Security toolbar.
I only just found out because I just started using Norton (once again).

Anyways, it's solved!

Thanks!
im glad it worked out :)
no doubt my highly informative ,and helpful post did the trick. :D


I only just found out because I just started using Norton (once again).
thats right, you recently posted that thread regarding buying a multi device Norton Key right.... i hope you are liking it
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,203 (5.42/day)
Likes
11,477
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#17
I disabled the Norton Security toolbar and the "Windows Command Processor" and "Console Window Host" processes were gone so it was from Norton....
The thing is I don't see these processes on my dads netbook, he also has the Norton Security toolbar, it's a 32 bit windows 8.1 though but with latest Chrome version.
Yeah...Norton....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top