• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

processor question..

Joined
Feb 1, 2009
Messages
109 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Philadelphia
System Name The Laptop Powerhouse / iPad
Processor T5750 @ 2 ghz / Apple A4
Motherboard Dell / Apple
Cooling Stock
Memory 4gb DDR2 667
Video Card(s) Intel GM965
Storage 320 GB 5400.6 / 16 GB Flash
Display(s) 15.4 inch GLOSSY
Case Inspiron 1525
Audio Device(s) Sigmatel
Power Supply Laptop
Software WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE / iOS 4.2.1
#1
does 2.0 ghz dual core proc mean that each core is 1.0ghz or is each core 2.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
1,226 (0.36/day)
Likes
179
Location
Metro Atlanta
Processor Intel i5 2550K @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212+
Memory 16Gb (4x4) XMS3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX470
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 - 240GB
Display(s) (2) Acer 24" LCD
Case Bitfenix Raider
Power Supply SILVERSTONE Strider Gold Evolution SST-ST1000-G Evolution 1000W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64 | Backtrack 5 R2
#2
its per, but its not gonna be exactly 4Ghz
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,880 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#3
Each core is 2 Ghz. And you really can't add speeds like that.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#4
You have two cores and one clock speed. The entire CPU operates at 2.0ghz.

You don't add anything.
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#5
It's per core. Just check out AMD Overdrive. You can adjust each core seperately. So a dual at 2Ghz will equal 4ghz total processing power. Give or take.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#6
Ever since Intel stopped making Pentium 4 and Pentium D chips the 'Ghz' of a chip does not really matter as much as just how well the chip is designed. AMD proved this with the Athlon in the early 2000's, at lower clock speeds it still owned Intel chips. Another example - a 1.8 GHz Core 2 Duo will totally pwn a 3 GHz Pentium D (also a dual core chip).
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#7
Ever since Intel stopped making Pentium 4 and Pentium D chips the 'Ghz' of a chip does not really matter as much as just how well the chip is designed. AMD proved this with the Athlon in the early 2000's, at lower clock speeds it still owned Intel chips. Another example - a 1.8 GHz Core 2 Duo will totally pwn a 3 GHz Pentium D (also a dual core chip).
That's another good point. However, it's not what he asked.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#8
It's per core. Just check out AMD Overdrive. You can adjust each core seperately. So a dual at 2Ghz will equal 4ghz total processing power. Give or take.
When the hell did that happen.

You have one CPU with one base clock, having multiple cores doesn't increase the speed of the CPU. Only have used Overdrive for GPU overclocking, so i don't know,maybe it does let you combine CPU speed from different cores.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 1, 2009
Messages
109 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Philadelphia
System Name The Laptop Powerhouse / iPad
Processor T5750 @ 2 ghz / Apple A4
Motherboard Dell / Apple
Cooling Stock
Memory 4gb DDR2 667
Video Card(s) Intel GM965
Storage 320 GB 5400.6 / 16 GB Flash
Display(s) 15.4 inch GLOSSY
Case Inspiron 1525
Audio Device(s) Sigmatel
Power Supply Laptop
Software WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE / iOS 4.2.1
#10
thanks guys for all those interesting answers!
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#11
When the hell did that happen.

You have one CPU with one base clock, having multiple cores doesn't increase the speed of the CPU. Only have used Overdrive for GPU overclocking, so i don't know,maybe it does let you combine CPU speed from different cores.
had that feature back when I had my 9850 last year.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2009
Messages
109 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Philadelphia
System Name The Laptop Powerhouse / iPad
Processor T5750 @ 2 ghz / Apple A4
Motherboard Dell / Apple
Cooling Stock
Memory 4gb DDR2 667
Video Card(s) Intel GM965
Storage 320 GB 5400.6 / 16 GB Flash
Display(s) 15.4 inch GLOSSY
Case Inspiron 1525
Audio Device(s) Sigmatel
Power Supply Laptop
Software WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE / iOS 4.2.1
#12
can u use overdrive on a intel processor? Check my specs under my name...
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#13
Each core runs at 2GHz. If I have a quad-core processor at 2GHz, I have 4 cores running at 2GHz each. This would give me 8GHz of processing power in total, but only if I was using a multithreaded application. If I have a single-threaded application, like BF2, it wouldn't matter if I had 2 cores or 2000 cores, it will run the same.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
1,675 (0.36/day)
Likes
149
Location
Minneapolis, Mn
System Name Livingston
Processor i7-4960HQ
Motherboard macbook prp retina
Cooling Alphacool NexXxoS Monsta (240mm x 120mm x 80mm)
Memory 16Gb
Video Card(s) Zotac Arctic Storm Nvidia 980ti
Display(s) 1x Acer XB270HU, 1x Catleap, 1x Oculus
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/770087
#15
hat is right the cores frequency does not scale because the software was not designed to scale, and I don't blame the developers. I would not want to code my programs to run 4 cores when I also have to make sure it will run on a single and dual core computer as well.
Each core operates at whatever the speed your motherboard says at post.(A processor with two cores, and a multiplier of 10 with a fsb of 350mhz has two cores each running at 3.5Ghz, not two cores running at 1.75Ghz, if thats what you are wondering)
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#16
^^ correct, that's what I was saying also. 2GHz is not the total clock speed between all cores, it's the clock speed per core. If that was the case why buy a quad. I mean a quad at 4Ghz is the same thing as a dual at 4GHz.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#17
If that was the case why buy a quad
Extra cores will generally give you extra performance in multi-threaded apps. A quad and dual at the same speed with a non multi-threaded app will not make much of a difference, but with most apps and games moving that direction a quad helps much more.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
1,675 (0.36/day)
Likes
149
Location
Minneapolis, Mn
System Name Livingston
Processor i7-4960HQ
Motherboard macbook prp retina
Cooling Alphacool NexXxoS Monsta (240mm x 120mm x 80mm)
Memory 16Gb
Video Card(s) Zotac Arctic Storm Nvidia 980ti
Display(s) 1x Acer XB270HU, 1x Catleap, 1x Oculus
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/770087
#18
Extra cores will generally give you extra performance in multi-threaded apps. A quad and dual at the same speed with a none multi-threaded app will not make much of a difference, but with most apps and games moving that direction a quad helps much more.
He meant in the scenario where a 3.5Ghz processor was equivalent to two 1.75Ghz cores. Which is not the case.
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#19