• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ProcHot Logging?

KiloLima

New Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Greetings,

I am running a test and I have my system displaying a Prochot condition but I see no reference to this in the captured log file of when the event took place.

Is there a way to capture the Prochot condition in a log file?

I am using Realtemp 3.7

Thanks
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
307 (0.12/day)
Likes
70
Location
mississauga, on, Canada
Processor 6600k,i3-6300,g4500,4790k, i3-4330, , 2x g3258
Motherboard Maximus VIII gene, msi m5-mortar,G1.sniperM5, z97m-d3h, sabertooth fx990,
Cooling corsaair H110i-gt, h105 GPU cooling,, kraken x61,x41, noctua fans, heatsinks...
Memory Gskill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ ddr4, f4-2800c16d-16f, f3-2400c10d-16gtx ddr3 ...many more ddr3,ddr2,ddr...
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX980AMP!extreme x2, AMP!GTX680+accel extreme, gt640v2, gtx660, gt630
Storage samsung 512Gb 950pro M.2, evo 1TB, Corsair gt90, intel530 180G, neutron 128.+ hdd's in junkyard...
Display(s) acer XB270hu, acer XB280hk, asus VG 278H, nec ea231WMi,
Case TT core V21, fractal 304, 804,design S, Inwin cases (itx size)
Audio Device(s) obs,
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2,ss380gb,corsair hx1000w, PSU's RIP seasonic x-760(DEAD),x-400(DEAD)
Mouse Microsoft wired, wireless gaming.
Keyboard steelcase gaming, apple keyboard
Software win10pro; win7x64, win8.1proX3, mythbuntu xenial x64
#2
Use hwinfo... I believe it has logging. (And i noticed that it has a read out of all of the intel processor flags...)

found out about hwinfo because when you when you overclock on non-k skylake using the "non-k" bios you need the read out of the package temperature, and hwinfo is one that (i know of) that reads that out (also a "thousand" lol more data points)
(The non-k bios "shuts-down" the dst sensors on skylake, the igpu, as so on, so realtemp will only read out 100c.)
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
#3
No one has ever asked for that feature. Most people start getting uncomfortable when their processor is anywhere near the PROCHOT temperature which is typically about 100°C for most Intel processors. What CPU model do you have?

You can try using ThrottleStop which is another program I wrote and is available here on Tech PowerUp.

http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2667/throttlestop-8-10-beta-2

I think it logs PROCHOT but it might only do this for the newer 4th and 5th Gen processors.

If you really need this feature, let me know and give me a day and I will see what I can do for you.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
307 (0.12/day)
Likes
70
Location
mississauga, on, Canada
Processor 6600k,i3-6300,g4500,4790k, i3-4330, , 2x g3258
Motherboard Maximus VIII gene, msi m5-mortar,G1.sniperM5, z97m-d3h, sabertooth fx990,
Cooling corsaair H110i-gt, h105 GPU cooling,, kraken x61,x41, noctua fans, heatsinks...
Memory Gskill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ ddr4, f4-2800c16d-16f, f3-2400c10d-16gtx ddr3 ...many more ddr3,ddr2,ddr...
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX980AMP!extreme x2, AMP!GTX680+accel extreme, gt640v2, gtx660, gt630
Storage samsung 512Gb 950pro M.2, evo 1TB, Corsair gt90, intel530 180G, neutron 128.+ hdd's in junkyard...
Display(s) acer XB270hu, acer XB280hk, asus VG 278H, nec ea231WMi,
Case TT core V21, fractal 304, 804,design S, Inwin cases (itx size)
Audio Device(s) obs,
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2,ss380gb,corsair hx1000w, PSU's RIP seasonic x-760(DEAD),x-400(DEAD)
Mouse Microsoft wired, wireless gaming.
Keyboard steelcase gaming, apple keyboard
Software win10pro; win7x64, win8.1proX3, mythbuntu xenial x64
#4
Well it would be nice if the package temp was also read out in real temp. It is moot point... But

(Real temp was my "goto" temp read out prog, until the non-k overclock bios shutdown the core temp readout, so the package temp was the only option.)

BTW, this is on a skylake processor. i3-6300, and g4500...
 

KiloLima

New Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
I saw this under the main features on the website so I wasn't sure if this was included in RealTemp 3.7

  • Reporting and logging of the Intel PROCHOT# thermal throttle activity bit.

I am using a baytrail e3845
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
#6
Maybe RealTemp does log PROCHOT. It has been so long that I must have forgot. Version 3.70 does not correctly support Bay Trail since Bay Trail did not exist when that version was released. There is a newer version that I have been occasionally working on. If it supports your Bay Trail I will send it your way tomorrow. These CPUs are very low powered. Is your CPU getting anywhere near PROCHOT?

redeye - I do not think the package temperature works when BCLK overclocking Skylake. That might depend on the board though. On my Asus board, when the BCLK goes up, the core and package temp sensors and power sensors go dead.

 

KiloLima

New Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
Maybe RealTemp does log PROCHOT. It has been so long that I must have forgot. Version 3.70 does not correctly support Bay Trail since Bay Trail did not exist when that version was released. There is a newer version that I have been occasionally working on. If it supports your Bay Trail I will send it your way tomorrow. These CPUs are very low powered. Is your CPU getting anywhere near PROCHOT?

redeye - I do not think the package temperature works when BCLK overclocking Skylake. That might depend on the board though. On my Asus board, when the BCLK goes up, the core and package temp sensors and power sensors go dead.



Thank you would the Throttlehot application support my processor? Yes they are very low power but I am experimenting with something and would like to know when the system actually hits the Prochot state without watching the GUI.

Thanks
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
#8
ThrottleStop should support your Bay Trail but I have not had any feedback on that specific processor model. If you give it a try, can you post a screenshot of CPU-Z and ThrottleStop together on the same screen.

You could also log the Digital Thermal Sensor (DTS) data. If it shows 0 or 1 then your CPU is probably bouncing off thermal throttling temperature. This happens very rapidly.

redeye - Package temp is dead when BCLK overclocking Skylake, at least on the board I am using.

http://i.imgur.com/an4ORHB.png
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
307 (0.12/day)
Likes
70
Location
mississauga, on, Canada
Processor 6600k,i3-6300,g4500,4790k, i3-4330, , 2x g3258
Motherboard Maximus VIII gene, msi m5-mortar,G1.sniperM5, z97m-d3h, sabertooth fx990,
Cooling corsaair H110i-gt, h105 GPU cooling,, kraken x61,x41, noctua fans, heatsinks...
Memory Gskill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ ddr4, f4-2800c16d-16f, f3-2400c10d-16gtx ddr3 ...many more ddr3,ddr2,ddr...
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX980AMP!extreme x2, AMP!GTX680+accel extreme, gt640v2, gtx660, gt630
Storage samsung 512Gb 950pro M.2, evo 1TB, Corsair gt90, intel530 180G, neutron 128.+ hdd's in junkyard...
Display(s) acer XB270hu, acer XB280hk, asus VG 278H, nec ea231WMi,
Case TT core V21, fractal 304, 804,design S, Inwin cases (itx size)
Audio Device(s) obs,
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2,ss380gb,corsair hx1000w, PSU's RIP seasonic x-760(DEAD),x-400(DEAD)
Mouse Microsoft wired, wireless gaming.
Keyboard steelcase gaming, apple keyboard
Software win10pro; win7x64, win8.1proX3, mythbuntu xenial x64
#9
where do i get real temp 4.0? only 3.7 is on techpowerup.

i am using a MSI z170M Mortar...
and package temp works...in HWiNFO (it changes when I run prime95) prime95packagetemp.JPG
(realtemp 3.7 is dead on my board.)

BTW i had to up the voltage 30mv to make the cpu stable... (or use an offset of .190 in bios)
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.58/day)
Likes
13,523
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#10
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
7,331 (1.95/day)
Likes
6,473
System Name New Genesis
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4.1GHz All Cores
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler with dual fans,4x 120mm Sunon MagLev Blowers and 2x 120mm Corsair ML120Pro
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 FTW2 w /iCX Cooler
Storage HGST Ultrastar 7k6000 2TB HDD w/ 128MBs of Cache
Display(s) Benq BL3200PT 1440p 32" LCD w/ AU Optronics AMVA true 10-bit 100% sRGB Panel
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus TItanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores TS/FS Extreme: 10562: https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14260421 3575: https://www.3dmark.com/spy/2816092
#12

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.58/day)
Likes
13,523
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#13
Yes, he was born the same day as the website, to moderate it.
pretty sure i was here longer than that, but the forum got wiped or something and we had to sign up again. not sure if that was here, or something a few centuries older.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
7,331 (1.95/day)
Likes
6,473
System Name New Genesis
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4.1GHz All Cores
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler with dual fans,4x 120mm Sunon MagLev Blowers and 2x 120mm Corsair ML120Pro
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 FTW2 w /iCX Cooler
Storage HGST Ultrastar 7k6000 2TB HDD w/ 128MBs of Cache
Display(s) Benq BL3200PT 1440p 32" LCD w/ AU Optronics AMVA true 10-bit 100% sRGB Panel
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus TItanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores TS/FS Extreme: 10562: https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14260421 3575: https://www.3dmark.com/spy/2816092
#14
pretty sure i was here longer than that, but the forum got wiped or something and we had to sign up again. not sure if that was here, or something a few centuries older.
Don't let that get in the way of a good semi-factual mythological claim. ;)
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,801 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,575
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#15
@unclewebb stated back in 2013 it was a work in progress would be awesome if u wanted to share unclewebb ^^
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
#16
2016 Update. RealTemp is still a work in progress. It takes forever to acquire new hardware for testing purposes and to get user feedback. I finally bought a Skylake CPU so as long as Intel does not release anything new in the next few months, maybe I will get caught up and have a chance to release a new version. Since I returned to working full time, there is not enough time left over for programming.