1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Project AMD/ATI Mid Tower

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by domy85, Apr 3, 2008.

  1. domy85

    domy85

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    830 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Chicago
    First picture is before...
    Second picture is after...


    System Specs:

    Cooler Master Centrino Mid Tower Case
    Amd 5400+ @ 3.0ghz -24c-
    Gigabyte GA-MA69G-S3H
    Geil pc6400 2GB kit @ 5-5-4-12 timings
    Ati HIS 2900GT @ 700/2000mhz -45c-
    Thermaltake 500watt PSU
    Western Digital Raptor 74GB
    Artic Cooling Freezer Pro cpu Fan
    Liteon Lightscribe DVD+RW
    USB Belkin PCI Card
    Sound is onboard/optical and hdmi ports
    80mm front fan blowing in -front of hard drive-
    Side door cpu air duct replaced with 80mm fan blowing in
    120mm rear fan blowing out

    Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit


    -Ageia Asus Physics Card Coming Soon-

    -Other mods from the help of my fellow guys and girls here at techpower!-


    3DMark06 score of 9,111


    Just got finished doing all of the cable managing, drilled a hole in the upper corner for all the psu wires to hide on the opposite side. Ran the usb and firewire cable -front ports- behind mobo tray and underneath mobo directly to ports. The 24pin mobo cord is still in the way, nowhere to put that huge connector through to hide...
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 3, 2008
  2. sotelomichael

    sotelomichael

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    517 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    nice setup man, I just traded my gigabyte s2h and it was good for me! I'm sure the S3h is good too, plus has some oc features!
     
  3. Maju New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    121 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Definate improvement there Domy.

    Only thing i'd suggest is getting a gromet or rubber 'U' trim to put around the hole that you drilled. Those edges look a little sharp and it'd be a shame to snag the wiers.
    Looks so much better with cables out the way
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. domy85

    domy85

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    830 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah sharp it is, cut my finger on it. Where would i find that rubber U trim, hardware store?
     
  5. domy85

    domy85

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    830 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Chicago
    Thanks man, yeah this board was so cheap in price.
     
  6. Maju New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    121 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    re: U trim

    not hundred percent sure. Could try the modding shop sites that people mention here - mptech.com (I think)
    personally i'd try as my first port of call a car scrap yard and see if you can pull some suitable rubber door trim off. Far cheaper if not free.
    Alternatively a motor factor shop and buy a gromet. trim would be easier though as wouldn't need to undoe all the cabling to fit
     
    domy85 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,848 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    Earth
    Gromets available at Home depot up to one inch dia. For other "trim" you can get it here.
     
    domy85 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,540 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,098
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    is that S2H ATX board or the S3H mATX board. seems like ATX to me.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. domy85

    domy85

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    830 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Chicago
    ATX S3H
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)