• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ProLiant ml350 G5 to home use

emachine

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Hi everyone,

We have a wide-format printing company and used this server machine for years as file server in office and now we use premium cloud storage for this purpose.

So I have this ml350 G5 laying around and it has 3x pci-e and 3x pci-x slots. Pci express are x8. I also have radeon hd 3870 x2 1gb pci express x16 card (which is retired as well) and I just wanted to ask that is it possible to somehow plug it with a x8 to x16 raiser and make the GPU work on HP server?

I am aware that it's a server machine and main purpose is server use this and that but I also look forward to push the limits.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
12,682 (2.65/day)
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig 2018 - Ryzen+ Edition | SpartanCore | SpartanCore2
Processor R7 2700X @ Stock (3.7/4.35) w/PBO+XFR2 | i7 3770 3.4/3.9 Stock | i7 4770 3.4/3.9 Stock
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming | Intel DQ77MK | SuperMicro X10SLQ
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull + NT-H1 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4
Memory 16GB (2x8) G.Skill DDR4-3200 | 16GB (4x4) Samsung DDR3-1600 | 32GB (4x8) Mushkin Stealth DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4000 | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage SSD 250GB + 960GB, 1x2TB | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x3TB (9TB)
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" Dell on KVM..mostly headless operation.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans | Modified Lenovo TS430 Case
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Not in use
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC Back-UPS Pro 1500 | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze (Both) + APC Smart-UPS 1500
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse (KVM)
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard (KVM)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (Hyper-V) | Windows Server 2016 (Hyper-V)
I would continue to use it as a home server TBH. Though depending on its specs it might be a fun little project to mod, or could be a perfect file/media server, lab server, virtualization lab, etc.

But a PCIe x16 slot can accept any lower-speed/size, and if you modify an x4 or x1 slot, they will accept an x16 card (only at the slot's rated speed since that's all it contacts for).

What's the rest of the specs of the G5?
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2011
Messages
59 (0.02/day)
System Name Ragnars Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard ASUS Pro WS X570-ACE
Cooling 3x140 Copper Rad, Koolance CPU-380I waterblock, XSPC X20 750 Pump Reservoir Combo
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 ULTRA GAMING
Storage Samsung OEM 500GB PCIe NVME, Samsung EVO 500GB SATA SSD, 2TB WD Black, 4TB WD Black
Display(s) DELL S2716DG 27" 144hz, Vizio D50U-D1 4K 50" 60hz,
Case Fractal Design R5 Black w/Window
Audio Device(s) Logitech G533 7.1 Wireless Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-1200PD 1200W PLATINUM
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Strafe w/ Cherry MX Reds
Software Windows 10 Education x64
Picked up the same server from Goodwill a few years back for $50, they wanted $100!
Ordered two quad 3GHz Xeons and 16GB of ram on ebay and modded the second PSU to power the GPU.
And I just "carefully" cut the plastic from the side of the slot to allow a XFX 7970 to fit with an xacto craft knife.
The card just misses the heatsink on the chipset.
If ya want some pics I can post em as when I get home.
 

emachine

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Yeah certainly, thank you both for the answers. I just picked x8 to 16x converter from a geek friend of mine after I started this topic. Plugged into pci express. Radeon hd 3870's lights comes on, fan runs at full speed and the mobo doesn't seem to recognize it. It had a 2008 bios and apparently 2015 version available. I will post the outcome and specs in few minutes.

Forgot to tell that I have windows 10 in it at the moment.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,873 (6.17/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hi everyone,

We have a wide-format printing company and used this server machine for years as file server in office and now we use premium cloud storage for this purpose.

So I have this ml350 G5 laying around and it has 3x pci-e and 3x pci-x slots. Pci express are x8. I also have radeon hd 3870 x2 1gb pci express x16 card (which is retired as well) and I just wanted to ask that is it possible to somehow plug it with a x8 to x16 raiser and make the GPU work on HP server?

I am aware that it's a server machine and main purpose is server use this and that but I also look forward to push the limits.
So are these physically 8x slots or are they physically 16x but electrically 8x?

By the way, I just checked the AMD site, they only have drivers for the HD3000 series (your card) for Windows 7 and Windows 8/8.1.
 
Last edited:

emachine

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
12 (0.01/day)

emachine

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Picked up the same server from Goodwill a few years back for $50, they wanted $100!
Ordered two quad 3GHz Xeons and 16GB of ram on ebay and modded the second PSU to power the GPU.
And I just "carefully" cut the plastic from the side of the slot to allow a XFX 7970 to fit with an xacto craft knife.
The card just misses the heatsink on the chipset.
If ya want some pics I can post em as when I get home.
I will be waiting for detailed pictures. My current setup doesn't work, it just doesn't recognize. Maybe I should disable the ATI ES1000 onboard gpu and randomly install the readeon's driver
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,873 (6.17/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

emachine

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
You might be able to force them in but there is no guarantee for W10, might need clarification on that os even.

You should be able to get away with a riser card as you said, just make sure its not a dirt cheap one though.
I will install win 7 to another hdd and check. But I believe motherboard doesn't recognize it at all. Powers up, fan at full speed, nothing more. I also believe the raiser is piece of poop.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,873 (6.17/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I will be waiting for detailed pictures. My current setup doesn't work, it just doesn't recognize. Maybe I should disable the ATI ES1000 onboard gpu and randomly install the readeon's driver
do you have a PCI Express power line hooked up to the 6 pin on the card?

I will install win 7 to another hdd and check. But I believe motherboard doesn't recognize it at all. Powers up, fan at full speed, nothing more. I also believe the raiser is piece of poop.
You might try to disable the IGP
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2011
Messages
59 (0.02/day)
System Name Ragnars Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard ASUS Pro WS X570-ACE
Cooling 3x140 Copper Rad, Koolance CPU-380I waterblock, XSPC X20 750 Pump Reservoir Combo
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 ULTRA GAMING
Storage Samsung OEM 500GB PCIe NVME, Samsung EVO 500GB SATA SSD, 2TB WD Black, 4TB WD Black
Display(s) DELL S2716DG 27" 144hz, Vizio D50U-D1 4K 50" 60hz,
Case Fractal Design R5 Black w/Window
Audio Device(s) Logitech G533 7.1 Wireless Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-1200PD 1200W PLATINUM
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Strafe w/ Cherry MX Reds
Software Windows 10 Education x64
This is with some Quadro card I had laying around.


Like a glove.

Just go slow, mind the pins, and make sure not to drink any caffeine beforehand. :)

And a screencap in Win7
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,873 (6.17/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,873 (6.17/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,873 (6.17/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
It wont fry, just ensure connectors fully seat
 

emachine

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
... and no joy. Must be the raiser. Maybe I should go for theragnarok's cutting method.
update, I cut the end part of the slot, still no joy. Card's fan runs, lights flash but it's not being recognized. Maybe I should get a card without external power.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
7,165 (3.87/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
Try using two molex plugs to those adapter cables, not one, as the amps supplied might not be high enough, or find a low power card that only draws power through the slot.
 

emachine

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Thanks all. I tried all the combinations written above, I still cannot determine the problem. 1000w psu should be enough in theory but maybe I try with another card.

Edit: According to video below, it needs 8pin + 6 pin pci express connectors. Jesus
 
Last edited:

emachine

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Reporting back. I bought a used geforce gtx750ti, runs great. Next I will upgrade rams and xeons. Planning same setup with TheRagnarok's rig.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,879 (4.33/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NF-P14s|1xCorsair ML120 Pro|4xML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
what exactly do you plan to do with a rig like this?? Im just curious. It could game, but since the PCI-Ex is 4x, that puts a pretty big limitation on how powerful a graphics card you can have. Probably run pretty well as a gaming or file server though
 

emachine

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
I bought static IP from my internet provider and right now I'm running apache-php server and prestashop-eCommerce with 25k products. I can do graphics such as photoshop/illustrator and update the website locally :) I literally abuse Notepad++ with several tabs and 4 browser at same time. GTX 750 ti supports 3 monitors. That means I can same time make theme layout in almost real time. One monitor for css console, 2nd monitor for browser 1, 3rd monitor for browser 2 or style console.

So I can code, style and view at same time.

I am also aiming to play Tom Clancy's "The Dvision" when I have free time. More about the gaming, the rig successfully runs the PayDay 2, How to Survive 2, Left 4 Dead 2. So the GPU power loss is minimal.

So, short and sweet, this little project of mine is pretty damn cheap for the purpose I listed above :) Webdesigners mostly buy expensive Macs for creating little blogs hehehe :)
 
Last edited:

Decapilot

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2019
Messages
2 (0.22/day)
Emachine can you post a photo of the setup I am trying to do the same for the graphic card. Thanks
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,879 (4.33/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NF-P14s|1xCorsair ML120 Pro|4xML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Emachine can you post a photo of the setup I am trying to do the same for the graphic card. Thanks
Hes dead. He's not been seen since 2017
 
Top