• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PS2 Emulator -possible - how about it

Anarion

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
485 (0.11/day)
Likes
0
Processor amd HAMMER SERIES 62% oc
Motherboard epox 8NPAJ
Cooling Active, Noisy , air
Memory gSKILL 2gb
Video Card(s) 2900 xt 1g
Storage diamondmax+
Display(s) 215TW HDCP 95%+! color accuracy
Case aluminium sHOW CASE BP
Audio Device(s) Behringer dj pro hpx4000
Power Supply acBel Ai iS
Software xp pro sp2
#1
first of all i change this terrible writing as u said .


in this post i tried to say ; possiblity of emulation of PS2 on a normal pc in these days is easily workable. but due to copyright law which didn't let us have ps2's bios (if we want one , must buy console) then we didn't see any commercial inc going in that way ; for making emu
& just because of this almost all ps2 emu i've seen they didn't work well, almost.
or they work if u know how, but very bad! @ best u will have only 9fps if any other problems didn't come up !.


btw from now on i try my best to write well .

oh i iforgot to say u must rip bios from ur ps2 by ur own WorK or someone ! if not

sony sue u!
 

Attachments

Last edited:

ChAce

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
204 (0.05/day)
Likes
0
Location
Netherlands
#2
Wow, that's the worst formatted post I've seen for a while...

If you're implying that emulating the PS2 won't work decently... Well, about time you found out.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2005
Messages
461 (0.10/day)
Likes
45
Location
Peterborough, UK
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E2160
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe
Cooling Akasa EVO 120
Memory 2 x 1Gb OCZ Gold DDR3 1066Mhz 6,6,6,18
Video Card(s) GeCube ATi X1950Pro 512Mb PCIe (Accelro X2)
Storage Samsung 320Gb SATA2
Display(s) Samsung SM206BW 20" Widescreen TFT 1680x1050
Case Coolermaster Centurion 532
Audio Device(s) On board AC'97
Power Supply Hiper Type-R 580W
Software Windows Vista Home Premium
Benchmark Scores See my OC Blog @ http://www.rowan-house.net/
#4
I think it had something to do with ps2, but not too sure!?
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,368 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,506
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#6
Normal Anarion post.....
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.59/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#7
Good so i'm not the only one who had trouble reading it. :rolleyes: I thought I was loosing it for sure after the day I had...lol

-Dan
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8
He's probably not from an english speaking country, give him a break.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.59/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#9
There is a lot of people on these forums who don't speak english. But most that do, speak it quite well and others like its second nature.

-Dan
 

AMDCam

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
1,085 (0.24/day)
Likes
6
Location
Colorado, United States
Processor AMD Opteron 148 at (hope) 3.0ghz
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum with Nforce 3 Ultra
Cooling XP-90C (CPU), A400 (Graphics), 8 case fans, 92mm Tornado
Memory 2gb OCZ Gold DDR500 dual-channel
Video Card(s) Leadtek 6800GT near UEE speed (448core/1.18memory)
Storage 2x 80gb WD 7,200rpm 8mb cache Caviar SATA 150 in RAID 0
Display(s) (2 soon) Samsung Syncmaster 172N 17" LCD
Case Atrix black case with A LOT of mods
Audio Device(s) Motherboard
Power Supply Aspire 520w tri-fan blue LEDs
Software Windows XP Home, Office 2003 Professional Edition
#10
Yeah, true about the english speaking thing. But getting to the question, I'm trying to understand. I think he's asking if we know of a PS2 emulator that actually works- well. I've tried quite a few of them and none seem to work. Hey, he got farther than me, 9fps, that means it worked. But I'm not sure how important an emulator is anymore for PS2, I mean everything is getting cheap.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.10/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#11
I will never let anything to do with Playstation into my computer. Blashphemy!
 

AMDCam

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
1,085 (0.24/day)
Likes
6
Location
Colorado, United States
Processor AMD Opteron 148 at (hope) 3.0ghz
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum with Nforce 3 Ultra
Cooling XP-90C (CPU), A400 (Graphics), 8 case fans, 92mm Tornado
Memory 2gb OCZ Gold DDR500 dual-channel
Video Card(s) Leadtek 6800GT near UEE speed (448core/1.18memory)
Storage 2x 80gb WD 7,200rpm 8mb cache Caviar SATA 150 in RAID 0
Display(s) (2 soon) Samsung Syncmaster 172N 17" LCD
Case Atrix black case with A LOT of mods
Audio Device(s) Motherboard
Power Supply Aspire 520w tri-fan blue LEDs
Software Windows XP Home, Office 2003 Professional Edition
#12
Yeah, it is dumb but it also saves money. The one good idea I think they should have, is a PC gaming OS. It uses AI to recognize when you insert a PC game, and that operating system gives you nothing but a streamlined menu (no background apps or anything) on what game you want to play, so you can get quite a bit more performance out of your system without all those applications and Windows running in the background. I mean you could sell it for free like Linux, it's just a simple, almost DOS but streamlined OS.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
2,998 (0.62/day)
Likes
1,578
Location
Visalia, CA
System Name Crimson Titan 2.5
Processor Intel Core i7 5930K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard Asus ROG Rampage V Extreme
Cooling CPU: Swiftech H220-X, RAM: Geil Cyclone 2, VGA: Custom EK water loop
Memory 8x4GBs G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 XMP2 3000MHz @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA GTX Titan X SCs in SLI under full cover EK water blocks
Storage OS: 256GBs Samsung 850 Pro SSD/Games: 3TBs WD Black
Display(s) Acer XB280HK 28" 4K G-Sync - 2x27" Acer HN274s 1920x1080 120Hz
Case Corsair Graphite Black 760T - EK Pump/Reservoir, 360mm EK Radiator
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro on Logitech THX Z-5500 5.1/Razer Tiamat 7.1 Headset
Power Supply Silvestone ST1500 1.5 kW
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 9
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#13
I don't think it'll be possible to completely emulate the PS2 in the near future, the hardware is way too unique, and I don't think anybody in its right mind will dedicate all the resources needed to emulate the way the PS2 processors work...
What surprises me is why haven't anybody emulated the Xbox yet, I mean, most of the parts MS used to create the Xbox can be easily emulated by a PC, Imagine being able to play Halo 2 on hi res... :eek:
 

ChAce

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
204 (0.05/day)
Likes
0
Location
Netherlands
#14
Polaris573 said:
He's probably not from an english speaking country, give him a break.
I'm from holland and I'm quite sure you understand me better than him... lol. I kinda know what he's saying but it is by no means clear.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
1,005 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
South Africa
Processor Intel i7-920 @ 4.0GHz LGA1366
Motherboard Intel DX58 Smackover Motherboard
Cooling TRUE 120 with 2x120mm Thermalright FDB-1600 and 8x120mm Zalman/Coolermaster Case Fans
Memory 16GB DDR3-1333 Corsair @ 8-8-8-19
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 FE
Storage Intel 520 240GB + Intel X25-M 80GB + 4TB Seagate/WD Storage
Display(s) 24" Samsung SA350 + 24" BenQ G2410HD + 2x 22" Samsung 2253GW's + Hyundai 19" B91D+
Case Coolermaster CM690
Power Supply Corsair TX750W PSU
Software Windows 8.1
#15
Maybe he just didn't have English in school or something? If you can make out a thing or two of what he's saying, just ask him to clarify. No need to attack his spelling and grammar. lol. And I agree though, a normal Anarion post. lol. PS2 emulators are never gonna get finished and will need a huge CPU to decompile and recompile the code in real-time fast enough to make the games playable. Not worth it though...
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#16
ChAce said:
I'm from holland and I'm quite sure you understand me better than him... lol. I kinda know what he's saying but it is by no means clear.
I never understand dutch people, they're odd.


As for the topic... I have no clue what the question/comment on PS2 emulation is. As far as I know several emulators exist, some even running a commercial game or 2 though none has decent compatibility or speed. It should be possible to emulate though consoles get more complex every generation which makes it harder to make decent emulators.

Nice emulator site
 

Anarion

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
485 (0.11/day)
Likes
0
Processor amd HAMMER SERIES 62% oc
Motherboard epox 8NPAJ
Cooling Active, Noisy , air
Memory gSKILL 2gb
Video Card(s) 2900 xt 1g
Storage diamondmax+
Display(s) 215TW HDCP 95%+! color accuracy
Case aluminium sHOW CASE BP
Audio Device(s) Behringer dj pro hpx4000
Power Supply acBel Ai iS
Software xp pro sp2
#17
i try to revise in my writing ways. btw i did not knew, i have many penpal here !whom totaly care about my posts & have some average about my all scratchs.
 

AMDCam

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
1,085 (0.24/day)
Likes
6
Location
Colorado, United States
Processor AMD Opteron 148 at (hope) 3.0ghz
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum with Nforce 3 Ultra
Cooling XP-90C (CPU), A400 (Graphics), 8 case fans, 92mm Tornado
Memory 2gb OCZ Gold DDR500 dual-channel
Video Card(s) Leadtek 6800GT near UEE speed (448core/1.18memory)
Storage 2x 80gb WD 7,200rpm 8mb cache Caviar SATA 150 in RAID 0
Display(s) (2 soon) Samsung Syncmaster 172N 17" LCD
Case Atrix black case with A LOT of mods
Audio Device(s) Motherboard
Power Supply Aspire 520w tri-fan blue LEDs
Software Windows XP Home, Office 2003 Professional Edition
#18
lol dude, thanks. Lay off this guy people, it's like I am when I try to speak spanish, but he knows about 100x as much english as I do spanish.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2005
Messages
364 (0.08/day)
Likes
2
Location
USA
Processor X5470 @ 4.1
Motherboard Asus P5Q pro
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 6GB corsair 1066
Video Card(s) HIS 6970
Display(s) 34" ultrawide
Case antec 700
Power Supply Corsiar 750 watt
Mouse Razer Taipan
Keyboard Razer Arctosa
Software Win 8.1 64 bit
#19
My two cents, there are PS2 emulators that work. Why they don't work for me/us is simple. From what I understand the emulator directly tasks the CPU for all required functions (not windows). The PS2 is a 128 bit system. The only systems I have heard of that people actually said they got them to work well have dual 64 bit processors. Those of you with 64 bit processors may be able to get them to run well enough to annoy yourself but for the rest of us with 32 bit processors we are out of luck. :mad:
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#20
Dual 64 bit CPU's != 128Bit, sounds pretty much like bullshit. I have dual 32bit (quad if you count in HTT) but I can't run any 64bit software, obviously.

Though if you can get me the emulator you're referring to I'd like to have it, I'm always curious.
 

Anarion

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
485 (0.11/day)
Likes
0
Processor amd HAMMER SERIES 62% oc
Motherboard epox 8NPAJ
Cooling Active, Noisy , air
Memory gSKILL 2gb
Video Card(s) 2900 xt 1g
Storage diamondmax+
Display(s) 215TW HDCP 95%+! color accuracy
Case aluminium sHOW CASE BP
Audio Device(s) Behringer dj pro hpx4000
Power Supply acBel Ai iS
Software xp pro sp2
#21
@ amdcam -tnx for ur sympathy ,very nice of u

@ 65tweet - i assure u there is no way u can play well ps2 games on a dual core or dual cpu either (64) becoz this is all about emu programs which they can't do their job well

@dan - agree - & also i've seen some MT plugin for emu i will search & upload it here if u want but totaly there is no discuss about what u said . as u say; he's just go wrong in concept .
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2005
Messages
364 (0.08/day)
Likes
2
Location
USA
Processor X5470 @ 4.1
Motherboard Asus P5Q pro
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 6GB corsair 1066
Video Card(s) HIS 6970
Display(s) 34" ultrawide
Case antec 700
Power Supply Corsiar 750 watt
Mouse Razer Taipan
Keyboard Razer Arctosa
Software Win 8.1 64 bit
#22
DanTheBanjoman said:
Dual 64 bit CPU's != 128Bit, sounds pretty much like bullshit.

I never said that and that is bullshit. What I was trying to say is you are not going to get software designed to run on 128 bit hardware to run worth a crap on a 64 bit system let alone a 32 bit one! You have to agree that a system with dual 64 bit processors will run such software much better that our systems albeit not without some issues. If I can remember the site that was specifically discussing this and the emulator I will send you the link. The general findings though were those who had 32 bit and single 64 bit processor systems could not get the emulator to work worth a crap.
 

AMDCam

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
1,085 (0.24/day)
Likes
6
Location
Colorado, United States
Processor AMD Opteron 148 at (hope) 3.0ghz
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum with Nforce 3 Ultra
Cooling XP-90C (CPU), A400 (Graphics), 8 case fans, 92mm Tornado
Memory 2gb OCZ Gold DDR500 dual-channel
Video Card(s) Leadtek 6800GT near UEE speed (448core/1.18memory)
Storage 2x 80gb WD 7,200rpm 8mb cache Caviar SATA 150 in RAID 0
Display(s) (2 soon) Samsung Syncmaster 172N 17" LCD
Case Atrix black case with A LOT of mods
Audio Device(s) Motherboard
Power Supply Aspire 520w tri-fan blue LEDs
Software Windows XP Home, Office 2003 Professional Edition
#23
Tweet, don't worry dude, Banjo always tries to offend people like that. I mean you have no idea how many times he's flamed me for saying "3.2ghzx3=9.6ghz". I mean I know he's right, but there is really no need to react that harshly banjo, especially to things like opinions, speaking from personal experience, when you make fun of my experiences.
 

turbopsi

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Messages
159 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Location
Perry, FL
#24
AMDCam said:
Tweet, don't worry dude, Banjo always tries to offend people like that. I mean you have no idea how many times he's flamed me for saying "3.2ghzx3=9.6ghz". I mean I know he's right, but there is really no need to react that harshly banjo, especially to things like opinions, speaking from personal experience, when you make fun of my experiences.
From my forum experiences.. the moderators are always right, and if you don't like it, move on to another forum.

I wouldn't try picking a fight with one..

But that's just IMO. :)
 

AMDCam

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
1,085 (0.24/day)
Likes
6
Location
Colorado, United States
Processor AMD Opteron 148 at (hope) 3.0ghz
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum with Nforce 3 Ultra
Cooling XP-90C (CPU), A400 (Graphics), 8 case fans, 92mm Tornado
Memory 2gb OCZ Gold DDR500 dual-channel
Video Card(s) Leadtek 6800GT near UEE speed (448core/1.18memory)
Storage 2x 80gb WD 7,200rpm 8mb cache Caviar SATA 150 in RAID 0
Display(s) (2 soon) Samsung Syncmaster 172N 17" LCD
Case Atrix black case with A LOT of mods
Audio Device(s) Motherboard
Power Supply Aspire 520w tri-fan blue LEDs
Software Windows XP Home, Office 2003 Professional Edition
#25
Turbo, I know that, and I've even sent Banjo a private message, because I don't have a problem with ANYONE on this forum but him, and I've been here a while. I mean look at my thread "graphics card chart" where he makes fun of me for "wasting" my time on it, or look at "Anyone though of Xbox 360 computer?", there's another one. He just reacts way too harshly to very simple mistakes or opinions. All I try to do in this forum is help people and get help, I don't like starting arguments, but Banjo flames me and obviously other people for every little thing we do wrong, and I am not the kind of person that takes that kind of shit. So I'll probably be off these forums tomorrow (because I'll be banned I assume), but sorry, all I try to do is help, and if Banjo can't say anything nice (or helpful), he shouldn't say anything at all.