• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PS3 Firmware Update 1.9 Details

Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
3,376
Likes
161
Location
Athens , GREECE
System Name SECONDARY RIG / PRIMARY RIG / THIRD RIG
Processor i920@3.6GHz / i920@4GHz / AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD4P / Gigabyte EX58-UD7 / ASRock 890GX3
Cooling CoolIT Domino ALC / Thermalright Silver Arrow / Thermalright VenomousX
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ 1800MHZ / 6GB DDR3 @ 2250MHZ / 4GB DDR3 @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) XFX ATI RADEON 5970 / GAINWARD NVIDIA GTX 580 / 2xGEFORCE GTX295
Storage 1550GB / 6TB SAS - SSD / 160GB SSD
Display(s) NEC 26WUXi2 / NEC 3090WQXi / SONY 55A2000 (1080P 55inch)
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 932 / COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 / ANTEC DARKFLEET DF85
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music / SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro / Realtek Onboard
Power Supply CWT 1200W / Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W / Ikonik Vulcan 1200W
Software Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64
#1
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
164
Likes
4
#3
How'd they get there XMB to run Flow as the background?
It doesn't look like the static image you get from selecting Flow
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404
Likes
663
#4
fantastic news :toast:

according to the playstation official blog...US will get it in a couple of days...by this week for sure.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2006
Messages
938
Likes
12
Location
Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Core i7-930 (D0) @ 4.0GHz (1.28v)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling CoolIT ECO-R120 Advanced Liquid Cooling w/ x2 Scythe ULTRA-KAZE 3000rpm | Scythe Master controller
Memory Mushkin Enhanced Redline - 6GB DDR3 @ 1910MHz 8-10-8-29
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC GeForce GTX 460 768MB 192-bit GDDR5
Storage RAID-0 w/ 2x OCZ Agility 2 SSD 90GB SATA II 3.5" (r4.6Gb/s w4.2Gb/s)
Display(s) ASUS VW266H - 26" LCD
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout | x2 120mm Scythe ULTRA-KAZE | 140mm Scythe Slipstream KAZE Maru2
Power Supply Thermaltake Black Widow TR2 RX - 850w
#5
Sweeeeeet :D
I love this cosole even more every time they release new firmware.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#6
Yay!! I finally have something to get excited about when I see these post. lol
 

Benpi

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
415
Likes
3
Processor AMD X2 4400+
Memory 2G
Video Card(s) 7950 GX2
Storage 2x 74g 10000rpm Raid:0
Display(s) Dell 1920x1200 widescreen
Software 3dmark06 score: 7650
#7
That's because all there is to do on a PS3 right now is watch Blu-Ray movies and download updates. Give me FF13 for fux sake. By the time this console get's moving, PCs will have left these consoles in the dust.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404
Likes
663
#8
That's because all there is to do on a PS3 right now is watch Blu-Ray movies and download updates. Give me FF13 for fux sake. By the time this console get's moving, PCs will have left these consoles in the dust.
it does more than that...

of the top of my head, it can do...

Folding@home
Upcovert dvds and older ps games
play blue-ray
surf the web
use as a media server
view photos and print them
play music
run linux distros
play games...of course...

if some one else wants to continue...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404
Likes
663
#9
from the ps3 forums...it seems like the firmware is out, just do a network update on your ps3...i cannot confirm this.


edit: yes, its out for the US.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#10
Agreed LiNKiN and ktr. Its alot better than the 360 is right now.


sure the 360 has more games (its been out longer) but its graphics arent on top of the PS3 (even though ATI powers the 360 and nvidia does the ps3) and aside from more peripherals, its about it, unless you count Xbox live. Of course PS3s home and friends list is right up there if you ask me and their marketplace is alot beter.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2006
Messages
938
Likes
12
Location
Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Core i7-930 (D0) @ 4.0GHz (1.28v)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling CoolIT ECO-R120 Advanced Liquid Cooling w/ x2 Scythe ULTRA-KAZE 3000rpm | Scythe Master controller
Memory Mushkin Enhanced Redline - 6GB DDR3 @ 1910MHz 8-10-8-29
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC GeForce GTX 460 768MB 192-bit GDDR5
Storage RAID-0 w/ 2x OCZ Agility 2 SSD 90GB SATA II 3.5" (r4.6Gb/s w4.2Gb/s)
Display(s) ASUS VW266H - 26" LCD
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout | x2 120mm Scythe ULTRA-KAZE | 140mm Scythe Slipstream KAZE Maru2
Power Supply Thermaltake Black Widow TR2 RX - 850w
#11
from the ps3 forums...it seems like the firmware is out, just do a network update on your ps3...i cannot confirm this.


edit: yes, its out for the US.
I tried to update last night around 10pm Central time, but wasn't available yet.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
3,376
Likes
161
Location
Athens , GREECE
System Name SECONDARY RIG / PRIMARY RIG / THIRD RIG
Processor i920@3.6GHz / i920@4GHz / AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD4P / Gigabyte EX58-UD7 / ASRock 890GX3
Cooling CoolIT Domino ALC / Thermalright Silver Arrow / Thermalright VenomousX
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ 1800MHZ / 6GB DDR3 @ 2250MHZ / 4GB DDR3 @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) XFX ATI RADEON 5970 / GAINWARD NVIDIA GTX 580 / 2xGEFORCE GTX295
Storage 1550GB / 6TB SAS - SSD / 160GB SSD
Display(s) NEC 26WUXi2 / NEC 3090WQXi / SONY 55A2000 (1080P 55inch)
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 932 / COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 / ANTEC DARKFLEET DF85
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music / SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro / Realtek Onboard
Power Supply CWT 1200W / Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W / Ikonik Vulcan 1200W
Software Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64
#12
It is available from what i read in sites around the net.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2006
Messages
938
Likes
12
Location
Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Core i7-930 (D0) @ 4.0GHz (1.28v)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling CoolIT ECO-R120 Advanced Liquid Cooling w/ x2 Scythe ULTRA-KAZE 3000rpm | Scythe Master controller
Memory Mushkin Enhanced Redline - 6GB DDR3 @ 1910MHz 8-10-8-29
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC GeForce GTX 460 768MB 192-bit GDDR5
Storage RAID-0 w/ 2x OCZ Agility 2 SSD 90GB SATA II 3.5" (r4.6Gb/s w4.2Gb/s)
Display(s) ASUS VW266H - 26" LCD
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout | x2 120mm Scythe ULTRA-KAZE | 140mm Scythe Slipstream KAZE Maru2
Power Supply Thermaltake Black Widow TR2 RX - 850w
#14
One thing I would really like to see in the next firmware update is a default "Menu" button on the controller... maybe "Select", that would take you right to DVD menu. It's a pain in the @$$ to press triangle, then try to find the menu option on the onscreen remote, which you can only see if what is playing is dark.... blagh... :shadedshu
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2006
Messages
938
Likes
12
Location
Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Core i7-930 (D0) @ 4.0GHz (1.28v)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling CoolIT ECO-R120 Advanced Liquid Cooling w/ x2 Scythe ULTRA-KAZE 3000rpm | Scythe Master controller
Memory Mushkin Enhanced Redline - 6GB DDR3 @ 1910MHz 8-10-8-29
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC GeForce GTX 460 768MB 192-bit GDDR5
Storage RAID-0 w/ 2x OCZ Agility 2 SSD 90GB SATA II 3.5" (r4.6Gb/s w4.2Gb/s)
Display(s) ASUS VW266H - 26" LCD
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout | x2 120mm Scythe ULTRA-KAZE | 140mm Scythe Slipstream KAZE Maru2
Power Supply Thermaltake Black Widow TR2 RX - 850w
#17

aftermath

New Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2007
Messages
1
Likes
0
#18
HDMI and Toslink on PS3

On my PS3, I can selecte EITHER HDMI audio or Optical Toslink Audio which is annoying.
Did they fix that in the new firmware?

The reason I want audio on both HDMI and Toslink optical is that sometimes I want audio just from the HDTV and sometimes I want full surround sound.

My interim solution, because I have 2 HDTV's is to use a HDMI splitter to send the signals to both TV's. The HDMI splitter fortunatly has a Optical Audio output which pulls the audio from the HDMI input and also sends it out to Optical. I then run it to the Surround Sound system. Audio is also available on the HDMI port.
However, I have to set the PS3 to HDMI audio mode.