• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PS3 to GPU??

Joined
Dec 13, 2011
Messages
395 (0.18/day)
Likes
32
Processor Intel C2Q Q9550 (2.83 GHZ)
Cooling Intel OC27vv
Memory 12 GB DDR3 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5670
Storage Seagate - 500GB | 7200RPM | 32MB Cache | Sata-3G
Display(s) BenQ RL2455
Case Dell Tower
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair 600w
#1
My television decided it wanted to crap out on me. Is it possible to connect a PS3 directly to the GPU? I know it will work psychically, because HDMI to HDMI. But how do you select the source so the PS3 will display on the monitor? Do I need to purchase a DVI to HDMI adapter instead?
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
Is it possible to connect a PS3 directly to the GPU?
No, you realize GPU (Graphics Processing Unit) eg NVIDIA Geforce or AMD Radeon

On the other hand you can connect your PS3 to a Monitor/Display that has DVI-D, HDMI or Display Port
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#3
As Prot stated, you cannot plug the output of your PS3 into your GPU (they're both outputs).
Unless the GPU card has a HDMI-pass through function, your out of luck.

You can plug it into the monitor (if it has an HDMI port) or you can get a HDMI switcher (2 in, 1 out, switch with button or whatever) so you don't have to switch cables when you want to use one device or the other.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2011
Messages
395 (0.18/day)
Likes
32
Processor Intel C2Q Q9550 (2.83 GHZ)
Cooling Intel OC27vv
Memory 12 GB DDR3 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5670
Storage Seagate - 500GB | 7200RPM | 32MB Cache | Sata-3G
Display(s) BenQ RL2455
Case Dell Tower
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair 600w
#4
How can I tell if my GPU supports pass through? I have an ATI Radeon HD 5670.

So it seems like my only option is to get an HDMI to DVI?
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#5
Your card does not support pass-through. It would have to have 2x HDMI port on the back to do so (and then the hardware on the board to allow it).

If you are using the HDMI port on the 5670 as output, using a HDMI switcher would be your best bet. One cable from the GC to the switcher and one from the PS3 to the switcher, and then one cable from the switcher to the monitor.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2011
Messages
395 (0.18/day)
Likes
32
Processor Intel C2Q Q9550 (2.83 GHZ)
Cooling Intel OC27vv
Memory 12 GB DDR3 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5670
Storage Seagate - 500GB | 7200RPM | 32MB Cache | Sata-3G
Display(s) BenQ RL2455
Case Dell Tower
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair 600w
#6
Okay, thanks to you both! Happy Holidays! =)
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,866 (0.65/day)
Likes
524
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#7
What do you mean decided to crap out on you? If only the HDMI of the TV itself is "crapping out", then you can still use a ps3 component cable for the meantime, or just plug in the PS3 to the Monitor.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2011
Messages
395 (0.18/day)
Likes
32
Processor Intel C2Q Q9550 (2.83 GHZ)
Cooling Intel OC27vv
Memory 12 GB DDR3 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5670
Storage Seagate - 500GB | 7200RPM | 32MB Cache | Sata-3G
Display(s) BenQ RL2455
Case Dell Tower
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair 600w
#8
It started about six months ago, or so, not really sure. My TV would lose picture, then the picture comes back in. From then to now it was a rare occurrence. Now, it's worse! It happens about ever five secs. My TV would go black for few secs then come back in again. I thought it was my PS3. So, I decided to watch cable TV, and it does the same but not as frequent. I wonder if both HDMI ports are going bad. When it happens, it never display "No signal" just total blackness. Perhaps I shouldn't have thrown the A/V cables away. =(
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#9
First thing I would check is the cable itself being bad. I have an HDMI cable here that's chincy cheap that will only display 720p that used to not have a problem with 1080i.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2011
Messages
395 (0.18/day)
Likes
32
Processor Intel C2Q Q9550 (2.83 GHZ)
Cooling Intel OC27vv
Memory 12 GB DDR3 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5670
Storage Seagate - 500GB | 7200RPM | 32MB Cache | Sata-3G
Display(s) BenQ RL2455
Case Dell Tower
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair 600w
#10
What kind of HDMI cable do you recommend? The old thing about this whole ordeal, I tried the A/V video cables that came with the PS3, and I get "no signal" it doesn't even try to detect the PS3 via A/V
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#11
What kind of HDMI cable do you recommend?
Any kind would do. Now that you mention the A/V problem, just double check your connection and make sure you're hooked up to an input instead of an output.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2011
Messages
395 (0.18/day)
Likes
32
Processor Intel C2Q Q9550 (2.83 GHZ)
Cooling Intel OC27vv
Memory 12 GB DDR3 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5670
Storage Seagate - 500GB | 7200RPM | 32MB Cache | Sata-3G
Display(s) BenQ RL2455
Case Dell Tower
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair 600w
#12
My television only has one A/V. With the PS3 plugged in, it does not get a signal. So, I decided to try an old DVD player, it worked. It also support HDMI and it does the same thing as the PS3; pictures goes in and out. I'll replace the cables and hopefully that will fix my problem. How often do HDMI cables go bad? They are less than a year old.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#13