• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSA: Avoid freedom pop

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,411 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,014
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#1
so I signed up for a `free`(0.1) Freedompop sim/freedom pop premier combo trial on the 17th of november Itarrived on the 23d where it sat in the box until friday morning, when I decided to goto the trouble of sim unlocking my device to test it

unlocked My klte poped the sim in installed there app set the apn was off to the races sent a few txts made one call used 5mb of data all well and fine having to use there badly written app to call/txt was annoying enough but whatever

decided it wasn't a good time to go though the bother of porting my number and switching so decided to downgrade to the 'free' plan which was wasn't the most intuitive process but hey whatever, I turn off all automated payments disabled auto topup ect ect 10 days left in the billing cycle.

now this stage I should mention that account had 10 dollars of credit that came with the black friday bundle, I was never charged for it it was never on my invoice it was just there

about 30 seconds later I get a automated email from paypal saying I was being charged 10 dollars for a 'pre-authorised payment'.full stop why I was I being charged 10 bucks for a account credit I didn't want and didn't ask for and had been on the account for 4 weeks,

so a few extremely unhelpful forum posts later I was told that freedom pop charges a 10 dollar account credit for downgrading service (which begs the question why didn't they just take there 10 dollar account credit back and be done with it)

Yea No not gonna happen

lesson learned folks if it looks to good to be true it probly is.

paypal dispute opened they will probably terminate my account Good riddance I say
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,437 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,621
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#2
it's a sprint mvno what do you expect they are shady AF virgin mobile screwed me over bigly when they double charged me for a phone on paypal and it was 6 hours+ work to get my money back. Then they blacklisted ME! I told the rep and showed them screen shots of my paypal having 2 x transactions, same amount and not equal to my monthly!!! kroger wireless is another shit sprint MVNO as well. It seems you have to have a certain level of corruptness to be sprint MVNO. Glad I switched to straight talk. I still have a FP phone as a backup and it was only 20 bucks for a shower/bath phone. (kyocera Hydro Icon)
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,569 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,190
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#3
I use freedompop. I too downgraded to the free plan, because I was trying to avoid paying a cell phone bill. I don't recall being charged for that, but I will say that once you reach 400/500MB, they deactivate your data and you must turn on automatic top ups (meaning they automatically charge you a certain amount of credit with them) to cover any data you may use over 500MB. The call quality seems quite poor as well... but it's free, unless you use too much data.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,411 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,014
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#4
after some back and forth with support I closed my account and got my tenner back
safe to say they just lost a customer over this bs
shame because the service was accually better then verizon other then having to use their app to call/txt
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,569 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,190
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#5
after some back and forth with support I closed my account and got my tenner back
safe to say they just lost a customer over this bs
shame because the service was accually better then verizon other then having to use their app to call/txt
That's odd, better than verizon? Maybe if you want better service you should just try switching to Sprint then.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,411 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,014
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#6
really screwy because there is a vzw tower not 10m from me