• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU fail?! No clue!

wildsolus

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name 2011 Build
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard P67A-GD65 P67
Cooling H50
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 4GB (2 x 2GB)DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6950 2GB
Storage WD5000AKS (OS),WD7500AADS,
Display(s) 2232bw Samsung
Case NZXT Phantom White
Power Supply EA650 Antec Earthwatts
Software Windows 7 Home
#1
Hi all, long time since I needed help with a PC issue

I've been playing TF2 for awhile now and actually made some pretty nice cash from trading/selling hats/unusuals so I decided to build a 'free' computer. My old e8400+p5q-e+ other parts just weren't cutting it for me anymore so I threw this build together...

1 MEM 2Gx2|G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBXL


1 CASE NZXT| PHAN-001WT RT


1 VGA XFX|HD-695A-CNFC HD6950 2GB R


1 MB MSI|P67A-GD65 P67 LGA1155 R


1 CPU INTEL|CORE I5 2500K 3.3G 6M R


1 WIN HOME PREM 7 64-BIT ENG 1PK DSP - OEM

OLD BUILD

Antec Earthwatts 650w - Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W Continuous Power ATX12...

22" Samsung monitor (2232bw)

Peripherals - Razer Tarantula Keyboard, G9 mouse, amBX, logitech 2.1 speakers (not connected still)

Loving the Phantom case, amazingly airflow and huge interior! Plus the cable management is extremely easy to use. Also the 6950 is a beast of a card and I also flashed it to the 6970 as well...

The problem I'm running into comes in 2 different forms. FIRST problem is the system hangs on startup randomly. I'll boot and it will go into windows fine no problems at all. If I install an update and restart or just restart for no reason then to test it, it will hang on the windows logo. The logo will pulsate a couple times and then just freeze. Leaving it alone for a few hours does nothing so I'm forced to reboot every time. Random google searches said the Tarantula 2.1 drivers could be the issue but I have no clue why keyboard drivers would stop windows....

The second problem lies with the flashed 6950. I got the latest drivers 11.1 and did a clean install since the system was built the past weekend. I played Crysis on max settings for like an hour and it's BEAUTIFUL but then I got the amazing 'ati display driver stopped responding and has recovered'. Google search really quick and found that the 11.1a drivers had been released and I tried those with no luck. I had the same problem with my old 4850 but quickly fixed it with drivers. The 5770 I replaced with had no such problems either.

Fail attempts
Tried resetting the GPU just in case
Tried 2GB ram instead of the 4GB
Old drivers (not sure how far back the 6xxx series go for drivers..)
Windows reinstallation (will do this again to fix either issue...)


The reason I bring up the PSU as fail?!!? is because I'm not sure if that could be causing the issue. I know the i5/7 series require a certain amount of power as does the 6950 (2 6pin both connected) but I'm not sure if it could possibly be the link that's messing everything up. Old PC worked fine besides a couple USB ports that had failed a month ago. I've built 5 PC's in the past 2 years so I know most of what I'm talking about but ANY help would be amazing :D
 
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
3,318 (0.94/day)
Likes
301
Processor Intel i5-3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock LGA1155 Z77 Extreme 4
Cooling Cooler Master Evo 212
Memory 16GB (4X4) G.Skill Ripjaw 2 DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Nvidia gForce GTX 660ti
Storage 1x Samsung 840 EVO 256GB 6Gb/s, 1x WD 500GB 6Gb/s, 1x WD 80GB 3Gb/s
Display(s) ASUS VH242H Black + 2 HP 2311x 23" LED
Case Fractal Design R4
Audio Device(s) Realtek OnBoard Both
Power Supply Cooler Master 850w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
#2
Wildsolus

First I may suggest to input all your current hardware into your system specs that resides under your name, can be found in the control panel.

I don't believe that your PSU will be doing this. If I am correct all that hardware shouldn't be pulling more than your PSU can push. And all the issues you are posting doesn't look like it would be a power issue.

What about your hard drive? Did you get a new one? Have you tested it to see if it had any errors? What about running a MEM test, have you done that?
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
1,655 (0.61/day)
Likes
729
Location
Philly
System Name Primary Rig
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm , 6x120mm, MOS-C1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066 @ 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5830 800/1000 @ 885/1225
Storage 320GB, 400GB, 500GB, 1.5TB
Display(s) Hannspree HF259
Case CM 690
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 18545/5219 CPU Mark 7.0: 3911.2 Cinebench R10: 11826/3359 x264 HD 2.0: 75.6/23.9
#3
Welcome to TPU!

The problem I'm running into comes in 2 different forms. FIRST problem is the system hangs on startup randomly. I'll boot and it will go into windows fine no problems at all. If I install an update and restart or just restart for no reason then to test it, it will hang on the windows logo. The logo will pulsate a couple times and then just freeze. Leaving it alone for a few hours does nothing so I'm forced to reboot every time. Random google searches said the Tarantula 2.1 drivers could be the issue but I have no clue why keyboard drivers would stop windows....
If it's easily repeatable (like it sounds), when restarting enable boot logging by pressing F8 during boot up then selecting it from the list. If it crashes then power cycle the computer (or do whatever it is you need to do) to get into Windows and post the last file mentioned in this text log:
C:\Windows\ntbtlog.txt
If it's a driver error, we should be able to figure out which is causing it.
The second problem lies with the flashed 6950. I got the latest drivers 11.1 and did a clean install since the system was built the past weekend. I played Crysis on max settings for like an hour and it's BEAUTIFUL but then I got the amazing 'ati display driver stopped responding and has recovered'. Google search really quick and found that the 11.1a drivers had been released and I tried those with no luck. I had the same problem with my old 4850 but quickly fixed it with drivers. The 5770 I replaced with had no such problems either.
What you're describing is known most commonly as a driver crash. It can be caused by a poorly programmed game, but most often it occurs from the graphics card overheating and/or running out of spec. My suggestion would be to either flash the old BIOS, or lower the clocks using CCC/Afterburner/Trixx/etc..
The reason I bring up the PSU as fail?!!? is because I'm not sure if that could be causing the issue. I know the i5/7 series require a certain amount of power as does the 6950 (2 6pin both connected) but I'm not sure if it could possibly be the link that's messing everything up. Old PC worked fine besides a couple USB ports that had failed a month ago. I've built 5 PC's in the past 2 years so I know most of what I'm talking about but ANY help would be amazing
It's difficult to eliminate the PSU as a possible cause; my guess is that it isn't, which is why I'd recommend you test other things first.
 

wildsolus

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name 2011 Build
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard P67A-GD65 P67
Cooling H50
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 4GB (2 x 2GB)DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6950 2GB
Storage WD5000AKS (OS),WD7500AADS,
Display(s) 2232bw Samsung
Case NZXT Phantom White
Power Supply EA650 Antec Earthwatts
Software Windows 7 Home
#4
Wildsolus

First I may suggest to input all your current hardware into your system specs that resides under your name, can be found in the control panel.

I don't believe that your PSU will be doing this. If I am correct all that hardware shouldn't be pulling more than your PSU can push. And all the issues you are posting doesn't look like it would be a power issue.

What about your hard drive? Did you get a new one? Have you tested it to see if it had any errors? What about running a MEM test, have you done that?
2 HDD's both from the previous build, 1 backup 1 with the OS installed. Ran same set up before this build and had no problems. What program would I run to test it?

Ran memtest/prime95 a few times and have had no errors in either.

Welcome to TPU!


If it's easily repeatable (like it sounds), when restarting enable boot logging by pressing F8 during boot up then selecting it from the list. If it crashes then power cycle the computer (or do whatever it is you need to do) to get into Windows and post the last file mentioned in this text log:
C:\Windows\ntbtlog.txt
If it's a driver error, we should be able to figure out which is causing it.

What you're describing is known most commonly as a driver crash. It can be caused by a poorly programmed game, but most often it occurs from the graphics card overheating and/or running out of spec. My suggestion would be to either flash the old BIOS, or lower the clocks using CCC/Afterburner/Trixx/etc..

It's difficult to eliminate the PSU as a possible cause; my guess is that it isn't, which is why I'd recommend you test other things first.
Will flash back to 6950 and report back! Thanks for the help so far guys :)

Updated post with other hardware as well
 

Activity

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
I'd say a 650watt PSU from antec would be enough for that rig with a hd 6970, did flashing it back to a hd 6950 work?
 

xbonez

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Messages
1,182 (0.45/day)
Likes
315
Location
Philly, PA (US)
System Name Winter
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Corsair H50 Liquid Cooling
Memory 2 x 2Gb Gskill Ripjaws 1600Mhz (7-7-7-24@1.6V)
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 470 @ Stock (Zalman VF3000 cooler)
Storage 2 x Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB (RAID 0)
Display(s) Hanns G 28" @ 1920x1200
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard -- TosLink --> Z5500
Power Supply Corsair 850TX 850W PSU
Software Win 7 64-bit Ultimate
#6
I once had a similar problem where booting in would hang at the windows logo. I spent hours trying to troubleshoot this, re-installed Win 7 a couple of times, installed Win Vista, Win XP etc. Spent about 8 hours trying to fix this until I realized having my external HDD plugged in was causing it.

In short, disconnect all External HDDs, USB Hubs and any other unnecesarry USB device you have.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
167 (0.05/day)
Likes
37
Location
Slovenia
System Name Sata Buster
Processor i5 6600K@4.6GHz 1.250Vcore
Motherboard MSI Z170A-M3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury 2x4GB DDR4 2133MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti OC TwinFrozr
Storage Intel 330 240GB SSD + WD 1TB RE4
Display(s) Asus P279q
Case Fractal R3
Audio Device(s) Int. Realtek - Yamaha RXV596 - Sennheiser HD280
Power Supply CoolerMaster V850
Software Win7 64bit
#7
Regarding PSU wattage. I am running similar configuration on 500W Enermax, so my guess is your 650W should be sufficient.
 

wildsolus

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name 2011 Build
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard P67A-GD65 P67
Cooling H50
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 4GB (2 x 2GB)DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6950 2GB
Storage WD5000AKS (OS),WD7500AADS,
Display(s) 2232bw Samsung
Case NZXT Phantom White
Power Supply EA650 Antec Earthwatts
Software Windows 7 Home
#8
I once had a similar problem where booting in would hang at the windows logo. I spent hours trying to troubleshoot this, re-installed Win 7 a couple of times, installed Win Vista, Win XP etc. Spent about 8 hours trying to fix this until I realized having my external HDD plugged in was causing it.

In short, disconnect all External HDDs, USB Hubs and any other unnecesarry USB device you have.
Interesting. The reason I mentioned the Razer Tarantula keyboard is it 'HAS' a USB hub built inside of it (keyboard has 2 usb ports and 2 3.5" connectors). I use an internal hard drive as storage as well I could disconnect that as well while installing Windows 7. So basically the only have the mouse and a basic keyboard connected while installing windows? Or are you saying in general disconnect that stuff during reboot?

Flashing the 6950 back right after this post as well!

Thanks again everyone :) :rockout:
 

wildsolus

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name 2011 Build
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard P67A-GD65 P67
Cooling H50
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 4GB (2 x 2GB)DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6950 2GB
Storage WD5000AKS (OS),WD7500AADS,
Display(s) 2232bw Samsung
Case NZXT Phantom White
Power Supply EA650 Antec Earthwatts
Software Windows 7 Home
#9
Flashing back to the old bios seems to have done the trick :toast:

I feel stupid that it was that glaringly obvious to you folks but I guess it was too obvious for me to actually see! Thanks again :)