• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU for a DELL580

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
182 (1.10/day)
I am member of Facebook Dell group and asked if my Dell580 took a reguler PSU.They said it would only take this one? https://www.dell.com/.../Inspiron-580.../td-p/7502504
Evga 700 Br, 80+ Bronze 700W, Power Supply 100-Br-0700-K3 surely this can,t be right?
I thought you could put any PSU in it, i have never heard of that?Look at the link above .
A person who asked the same question as me.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
3,982 (0.90/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /4790 fold&WCG /2700x fold&WCG/2700x full time WCG
Processor 3900X stock/ 4790K 4.4/2x2700x stock
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/Maximus Hero/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D15/ 2xNH-U12S SE
Memory G Skill Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZ 3800 CL 16 /8 GB Corsair Vengance/2x16 GB XSkill Flare CL14
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/AMD 7770/ GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 480 GB SSD/2x250 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / none/Lian test bench/NZXT 500 crap
Power Supply AX 850 Titanium/AX 860/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7/Linux for AMD
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
Some companies like Fujitsu as far as I remember have a different pin layout. I never owned a PC that I didn't build my self so I really shouldn't answer your question and I don't. I just want to inform you that this PSU seem to have normal wiring, at least there is no warning saying that it will only work with this or this PC brand. I would newer install a PSU that have an operation range of 0° to 30° C and Evga lower class of capacitors -

Japanese Capacitors No

But that doesn't answer your question. Your Dell might have a different pin layout but this one is not meant for Dell only use. Keep on investigating but stay clear of this piece of junk.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I am member of Facebook Dell group and asked if my Dell580 took a reguler PSU.They said it would only take this one? https://www.dell.com/.../Inspiron-580.../td-p/7502504
Evga 700 Br, 80+ Bronze 700W, Power Supply 100-Br-0700-K3 surely this can,t be right?
I thought you could put any PSU in it, i have never heard of that?Look at the link above .
A person who asked the same question as me.
Dell rigs are typically proprietary when it comes to motherboard, chassis, power supply.

You would need to verify the powersupply pinout of the dell psu with the evga 1
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
182 (1.10/day)
Dell rigs are typically proprietary when it comes to motherboard, chassis, power supply.

You would need to verify the powersupply pinout of the dell psu with the evga 1
It is a 24 and four pin so don,t need another cabal.Like a lot of Dell.s.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,244 (4.96/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
$20 with postage gets one the original 300W supply on ebay
 
Joined
May 17, 2021
Messages
412 (2.12/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard B550 Elite
Cooling Hyperx 212
Memory Hyperx fury 16Gb DDR4 3333Mhz
Video Card(s) 3060 ti gaming oc pro
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1Tb plus some HDDs
Case Lian Li Lancool II performance
Power Supply MSI 750w
Mouse G502
The PSU on the Dell is working fine.I was talking anout getting a more powerful one.
why do you need a more powerfull one, what are you planning on doing? the cooling on that thing is awfull be carefull what you are going to stick inside it
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
It is a 24 and four pin so don,t need another cabal.Like a lot of Dell.s.
Check the colors of each wire to a ATX 24 diagram before you jump the gun

And what pins they go into
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
182 (1.10/day)
Check the colors of each wire to a ATX 24 diagram before you jump the gun

And what pins they go into
Oh i see i thought it was just the case of of having a 24 pin connector.How come you can put any Psu in a OptiPlex.
I know a lot of the modals don,t have the 24 pin connector,
so you have to get this 24 pin to 8 pin Adapter.

Check the colors of each wire to a ATX 24 diagram before you jump the gun

And what pins they go into
24-pin EPS 12V connector ATX-compatible,I was thinking of something like this HD7850 130W they recomed
300w .Would that be ok with the DELL 300W PSU.?
As people don,t seem to rate OEM PSU,s.
If it would be ok for it i would not have to upgrade the PSU.

why do you need a more powerfull one, what are you planning on doing? the cooling on that thing is awfull be carefull what you are going to stick inside it
24-pin EPS 12V connector ATX-compatible,I was thinking of something like this HD7850 130W they recomed
300w .Would that be ok with the DELL 300W PSU.?
As people don,t seem to rate OEM PSU,s.
If it would be ok for it i would not have to upgrade the PSU.
 
Joined
May 17, 2021
Messages
412 (2.12/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard B550 Elite
Cooling Hyperx 212
Memory Hyperx fury 16Gb DDR4 3333Mhz
Video Card(s) 3060 ti gaming oc pro
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1Tb plus some HDDs
Case Lian Li Lancool II performance
Power Supply MSI 750w
Mouse G502
,I was thinking of something like this HD7850 130W they recomed
300w .Would that be ok with the DELL 300W PSU.?
As people don,t seem to rate OEM PSU,s.
If it would be ok for it i would not have to upgrade the PSU.

2 things:

what are the components inside? cpu, hdds', etc?

i don't thing anyone of us can really be sure what that PSU can do but depending on the components it may be fine, i would try it before spending money on a new PSU.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
182 (1.10/day)
2 things:

what are the components inside? cpu, hdds', etc?

i don't thing anyone of us can really be sure what that PSU can do but depending on the components it may be fine, i would try it before spending money on a new PSU.
Just basic stuff i3 550 4gb 2tb.hdd. 128 ssd
If i can use it with the card that i mentioned, that needs 130w for XP Gaming.

Just basic stuff i3 550 4gb 2tb.hdd. 128 ssd
If i can use it with the card that i mentioned, that needs 130w for XP Gaming.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Oh i see i thought it was just the case of of having a 24 pin connector.How come you can put any Psu in a OptiPlex.
I know a lot of the modals don,t have the 24 pin connector,
so you have to get this 24 pin to 8 pin Adapter.


24-pin EPS 12V connector ATX-compatible,I was thinking of something like this HD7850 130W they recomed
300w .Would that be ok with the DELL 300W PSU.?
As people don,t seem to rate OEM PSU,s.
If it would be ok for it i would not have to upgrade the PSU.


24-pin EPS 12V connector ATX-compatible,I was thinking of something like this HD7850 130W they recomed
300w .Would that be ok with the DELL 300W PSU.?
As people don,t seem to rate OEM PSU,s.
If it would be ok for it i would not have to upgrade the PSU.
Erm the 24 pin ATX power connector splits to ATX 20, EPS 12V is like 2 P4 connectors but i believe my mobo uses both eps 12 and P4.

Just make sure thr dell psu pin out for 24 main(ATX24 and 8pin (EPS 12V and P4 are the same as the ATX standards established, thats forr upgrading the psu.

Just try the existing psu since you are doing a uber budget build...
 
Joined
May 17, 2021
Messages
412 (2.12/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard B550 Elite
Cooling Hyperx 212
Memory Hyperx fury 16Gb DDR4 3333Mhz
Video Card(s) 3060 ti gaming oc pro
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1Tb plus some HDDs
Case Lian Li Lancool II performance
Power Supply MSI 750w
Mouse G502
Just basic stuff i3 550 4gb 2tb.hdd. 128 ssd
If i can use it with the card that i mentioned, that needs 130w for XP Gaming.

it will do fine, just try it.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
182 (1.10/day)
it will do fine, just try it.
Thanks for that i will give it a try
Should i buy the HD7850 £57 from CEX, with a 24 month Guarantee or this boxed one from ebay for £59 pounds.
PowerColor PCS+ Radeon HD7850 2GB Graphics Video Card
Model - AX7850 2GBBD5-2DHPPE
Supports up to 4 displays.

Removed from my own PC during upgrade, has been an excellent card.

I have stripped and cleaned inside and around the heatsink but the plastic shroud feels a little sticky, not that it should really bother you once installed.

Comes boxed with all original fittings.
Why is the plastic shroud sticky?he said it could be to do with cooking fumes from his kitchen as the door is allways open.It effects his remotes to he said.
£59 pounds.The thing with buying from CEX you never know what version of the card you will get.Which one should i go for, i like the idea having one with the box and accessories. I see he has reduced it by five pounds when i was thinking of buying it.The guy has acceted my offer so i will go for it.

Memory Size: 2 GB Memory Type: GDDR5
Connectors: DisplayPort, DVI-D, DVI-I, HDMI Features: Multiple Monitor Support, SLI/CrossFire Ready
Compatible Slot: PCI Express 3.0 x16 MPN: AX7850 2GBBD5-2DHPPE
Chipset/GPU Model: AMD Radeon HD 7850 Brand: PowerColor
Chipset Manufacturer: AMD EAN: 4715409181897
 

Attachments

  • 1634743368517.png
    1634743368517.png
    3.3 MB · Views: 18
  • 1634743468881.png
    1634743468881.png
    4.5 MB · Views: 17
  • 1634743545282.png
    1634743545282.png
    4.2 MB · Views: 25
  • 1634743612327.png
    1634743612327.png
    3.5 MB · Views: 14
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thanks for that i will give it a try
Should i buy the HD7850 £57 from CEX, with a 24 month Guarantee or this boxed one from ebay for £59 pounds.
PowerColor PCS+ Radeon HD7850 2GB Graphics Video Card
Model - AX7850 2GBBD5-2DHPPE
Supports up to 4 displays.

Removed from my own PC during upgrade, has been an excellent card.

I have stripped and cleaned inside and around the heatsink but the plastic shroud feels a little sticky, not that it should really bother you once installed.

Comes boxed with all original fittings.
Why is the plastic shroud sticky?he said it could be to do with cooking fumes from his kitchen as the door is allways open.It effects his remotes to he said.
£59 pounds.The thing with buying from CEX you never know what version of the card you will get.Which one should i go for, i like the idea having one with the box and accessories. I see he has reduced it by five pounds when i was thinking of buying it.The guy has acceted my offer so i will go for it.

Memory Size: 2 GB Memory Type: GDDR5
Connectors: DisplayPort, DVI-D, DVI-I, HDMI Features: Multiple Monitor Support, SLI/CrossFire Ready
Compatible Slot: PCI Express 3.0 x16 MPN: AX7850 2GBBD5-2DHPPE
Chipset/GPU Model: AMD Radeon HD 7850 Brand: PowerColor
Chipset Manufacturer: AMD EAN: 4715409181897
So dont buy from CEX.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top