1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU Help...

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by FilipM, May 19, 2008.

  1. FilipM

    FilipM

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Right, buying new components :

    Gigabyte EX-38 DS4
    E8400
    4GB of some RAM
    Gigabyte 9800GTX.

    Will my current one be ok? Check system specs for info, it has 24A on the 12V rail and only one 12V rail.

    Or what about these:
    http://www.giga-byte.com/Products/P...aspx?ProductID=2495&ProductName=ODIN Pro 550W

    or

    http://www.giga-byte.com/Products/P...aspx?ProductID=2493&ProductName=ODIN Pro 800W

    or

    http://www.giga-byte.com/Products/P...ec.aspx?ProductID=2793&ProductName=Superb 720

    or

    http://www.chieftec.com/super-power.html - the CFT-500-A12S and the CFT-620-A12S

    And do not recommend me any others, cos this is the choice.
     
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    do you plan to upgrade in the future?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. FilipM

    FilipM

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Well, might put a quad core in the future and a new GFX (not in the next 6 months for sure) if this one proves to be slow by future standards.
     
  4. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    grab the gigabyte 720w then
     
    FilipM says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. echo75 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    456 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Denmark
    550 is adequate , even with a quad core and new graphic card !
     
  6. farlex85

    farlex85

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    550w is adaquate, 24A on the 12V rail is not. Grab another one.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    No offense file cause I am just curious, why does it have to be a choice between Gigabyte and Cheiftec?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,002 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I would say the 550w or if you are going to be going SLi or crossifre then get a 720w
     
    FilipM says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. farlex85

    farlex85

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    An ocd quad and a 9800gtx will likely be pushing the limits of 24A. Seems like a bad idea to me......
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    my guess is that because he's located in macedonia and there probably aren't that many places where we can buy quality pc parts over there
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Isnt Macedonia located in Ohio? :p

    Still could work things out to get anything you truly wanted. Out of those choices go with the Odin 550W.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    [​IMG]

    its a country located in southeastern europe :slap:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 27, 2016
    FilipM says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I know Pancho. LOL
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    :laugh:

    - Christine
     
  15. FilipM

    FilipM

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Hehe, well, I have a sort of a deal with the company that sells Gigabyte here, so I will get the parts a bit cheaper. And they have those Chieftecs on now for sale, but they've also told me that they can give me any part that Gigabyte makes that's available in Europe, of course if I order it. So I guess those Gigabyte PSU's are available (at least I hope so!). There are places here that sell Cooler Master psu's and stuff like that, but a deal is a deal. And also, gigabyte psu's aren't that bad, or are they?

    Well, here PSU's, cpu coolers, thermal pastes and stuff like that isn't much popular cos, almost 2/3 of the people that have PC's here do not really care cos they aren't overclocking, they do not buy such high end parts cos they think it works "fine" for them, there are still many PC's running on single core cpu since nobody really cares. And that can also be sometimes annoying cos you wanna get a quality part, but there isn't anywhere where you can get form, lol!

    And thanks for explaining panchoman!
     
  16. FilipM

    FilipM

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    And by the way, that odin 550W - it says 18A on one of the four rails (all have the same), and there is the total Amperage on the 12V rails combined which is 41A. That 41 is the number I'm after right?
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2008
  17. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    .
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    Odin 550w looks alright.
     
    FilipM says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,002 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    72A is more like it if i am right... It would be 18Ax4=72A but i think the constant amps would be 13Ax4=52A
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    correct, each rail can supply up to 18A, but the psu can only supply 492W over the 12V line,
    using the formula wattage=voltage * Amperage, it is calculated that the psu can supply 41A of 12V over 4 12v rails each capable of carrying a load of 18A

    in short: the psu will be able to supply 41A on the 12v at max.
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,435 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    18A on a rail is 18A on a rail. Figuring out the total amps on all the rails has no benefit. So get whichever has the most amps on the rail.
     
  22. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    18A just means how much a rail can supply, not how much the psu can, as i showed above, the psu's rails add up to 72A but it can only supply 41A
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,002 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    thanks pancho so i did the math wrong... So sorry file your right it is 41A
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    no probs man, i got ya back
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)