1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Psu not enough for overclock?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Relinquish, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Well the moment I go over 900mhz on the GPUs the video shuts off and I have to reset the mobo.
     
  2. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,882 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,029
    Location:
    Houston
    volt mod the cards and i bet over 900mhz works it sounds like they are just instable w1z only got 850mhz stable from his card so your doing pretty good
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Hmm I didn't even know you could volt mod these cards.

    I have an unlocked bios anyway that removes the original cap of 1087mV and allows me to go all the way to 1200mV.

    Thing is is that I can run the cards fine though Unigine heaven @ 940/2020/1125mV. Ran it for a week and decided for some reason that I had to see if furmark was stable and sure enough it was but the PSU couldn't handle 5 mins of torture.

    I won't be RMAing the PSU, your right it is working just the efficiency thing confused me . I just also spoke with someone for advice and they said I'm pushing it with a 650w. Though he did recommend that I try one card at a time which is what I'm gonna do now.

    Will post back what happens.
     
  4. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Now this, THIS is very interesting to say the least. I removed the second card hoping to expect A:lower power consumption and B: The system to run without any hitches. A was right but B was a no go. Interestingly the PC shut off as usual.
     
  5. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,882 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,029
    Location:
    Houston
    the cards are crashing its got nothing to do with power
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    so if it crashes at stock, which I havn't tried yet. Does that mean I need to RMA the card? because I've been having recently problems in Crysis: Warhead and Bad company 2 artifact wise.
     
  7. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,882 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,029
    Location:
    Houston
    it sounds like you are overclocking to far
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Sorry, didn't make my self clear but these minor problems and I mean minor happen at any clock including stock
     
  9. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,882 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,029
    Location:
    Houston
    i bet you messed the cards up overvolting them
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,455 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,714
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.

    hah, my 'guess' above of 360W before the CPU came in was actually pretty accurate, with you getting 400-430 when gaming.



    furmark blows the power usage waaaay outside of normal. its good to make sure everything runs in the 'worst case' situation, but games wont run it that high.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,527 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    331
    Location:
    Canada/Qu├ębec/Montreal
    Before spending any money on new parts , buy a can of air & spray all the dusts out including the PSU & try again

    My guess is that your PSU is dusty inside & at slit power draw it overheat...
    To many people forget to clean their inside PC from dusts , it is as important as all the rest

    If still unstable after you clean it out than i would buy another PSU 750w+
     
    Relinquish says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)