1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU or X1900XT problem?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by dak3r, Sep 26, 2006.

  1. dak3r New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just got a new ATI oem x1900xt 512mb.

    After running fear online (more than 10 players) about 10mins, got some artifacts.
    But I host a map and running over 40mins there is no any artifact.

    My psu is 350w, +12v is 15a. And my 3dmark05 only got 93xx, cpu is amd sempron64 2800+ 1.6g oc 2.6g, very low.

    Sorry for my english:roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,956 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    Portugal
    psu in my opinion, it hasn't enough power
    your cpu is a bit weak for such a card too
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. vortexkrow New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    45 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Its your power supply for sure, only 15A on the +12v rail is bad for such a card as the x1900xt, i would recommend something like a Antec NeoHE 550W, comes with 52A on the 12v rails, it comes with trible rails lol.

    Whats the rest of your system so i can figure out whats a good psu that will benefit you, also list all the hdd's and amount of fans in the system.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. dak3r New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    80gb sata harddrive X2
    1gb ddr400 ram
    1 dvd-rom
    2 fans

    Does this PSU good enough?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. vortexkrow New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    45 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've never seen or heard of that brand and its best to stick to well known brands as there is alot of brands that arent very good.

    For more information on why GENERIC power supply brands are not good, see the SilentPCReview PSU guide (http://www.silentpcreview.com/article28-page3.html) and Xbit Labs PSU guide (http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/other/display/psu-methodology_6.html), as well as JonnyGURU (http://www.jonnyguru.com/PSU/Assassin/Powmax_Assassin.html) for an example of a psu not handling its 'rated' loads (500w powmax psu blows up before its even loaded up to 300w)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. dak3r New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have changed to TOPOWER 500W PSU $99AUD.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    (The middle one is for this PSU output.) +12v 28A
    But the artifact still happened in fear after I play online for about 20 mins. Is this possible the card has problem itself? The X1900xt 512mb I was bought from ebay and is an OEM version.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    907 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    I have to agree, you need a slightly better cpu.. sell that one, make some money off it, and then spend an additional $50 and upgrade that cpu! you can get a cheap X2 for around $140~ but im not sure if you have that kind of money to spend.

    The card may not be cooled too well, check the temps with ATItool.. post back with temps!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. dak3r New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The load temps MAX 73C. I see alot of people over 80C and no problem at all.

    So after changed PSU, X1900xt no overheat.

    Card has problem itself?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,507 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    theres multiple factors here, first and foremost is most deffinately that PSU, its just not strong enough. kinda surprised it didnt blow up the instant you turned your system on with that X1900 :p you should be looking at a PSU with 34A or more on its +12v rail.

    secondly, its more than worthwhile removing your stock cooler, cleaning the stock thermal crap off of it and using some AS Ceramique. This is twofold; one to make sure the cooler is making proper contact with the GPU, and secondly because stock thermal paste always sucks and does a very poor job.

    lastly your CPU, its most deffinately not the best, but due to its incredible 1GHz OC it should hold you solid for a while, but you should deffinately consider replacing it with something more beefy at some point, a X2 3800+ is a great choice, cheap, powerful, and should OC to 2.5-2.6GHz without too much trouble.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    907 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Ive seen many people using this 700w PSU I have with an X1900xt, and not having it blow up. If youre running dual gfx cards, you'll see some trouble..

    I believe my psu is rated @ 18a. Handles my entire system like a breeze, and the air coming out the back is rather cool...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    PSU. If you have a Frys Electronics near by, they have the Antec Smart Power 2.0 500W on sale for $49.99.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)