• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PSU power consumption question

Krazy Owl

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
897 (0.41/day)
Likes
76
Location
Montreal
System Name HTPC-Cube
Processor AMD Athlon 64 skt754 3200+ 1M cache
Motherboard Foxconn Winfast K8S760MG-6LRS
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 gigs DDR400
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 AGP 1gig DDR3
Storage White label 80gigs sata
Display(s) Polaroid 19 inches 1366X768 LED
Case Chenming cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Raidmax RX-500S
Software Seven Pro 64bits
#1
I would like to know if a 430W psu for exemple with a power draw of 120VAC 10A (1200W) will always draw the 1200W or it will work at lower than that and adjust upon demand on the AC side?

If you got a 500w psu with 80% efficiency will it mean as exemple 120v 10A 1200W power draw all the time but with up to 500W on the DC side adjusting on demand?

Thank you ! :)
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
It will use what it use. I'm not sure I understand what you mean.
 

Krazy Owl

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
897 (0.41/day)
Likes
76
Location
Montreal
System Name HTPC-Cube
Processor AMD Athlon 64 skt754 3200+ 1M cache
Motherboard Foxconn Winfast K8S760MG-6LRS
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 gigs DDR400
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 AGP 1gig DDR3
Storage White label 80gigs sata
Display(s) Polaroid 19 inches 1366X768 LED
Case Chenming cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Raidmax RX-500S
Software Seven Pro 64bits
#3
Look on side of a psu. Incoming AC current Volt 120V with Amperage = total AC current withdrawn. But Let's say your 500W psu draw only 300w from computer will it still need the same AC current input or it's auto adjusting also like the Dc side of the psu that power the computer?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#4
It adjusts as needed on both sides.
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,259 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#5
Its like this: A 500 W PSU will, at max, output 500 W. It will as JR said, adjust to the demands of whatever it is powering on the intake side as it will only draw what is needed up to 500 watts. If it is 80% effecient this means to give that 500 W it will be drawing 625 watts (120 VAC x 5.208 amps).
 

Krazy Owl

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
897 (0.41/day)
Likes
76
Location
Montreal
System Name HTPC-Cube
Processor AMD Athlon 64 skt754 3200+ 1M cache
Motherboard Foxconn Winfast K8S760MG-6LRS
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 gigs DDR400
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 AGP 1gig DDR3
Storage White label 80gigs sata
Display(s) Polaroid 19 inches 1366X768 LED
Case Chenming cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Raidmax RX-500S
Software Seven Pro 64bits
#6
Ok thank you! I would like to use a 1000W Dell psu someone gave me and use it to power up the computer and other 12v stuff like light bulbs and fans for my bedroom. Didn't want it to draw a shit load of current to light a single DEL bulb :p
 

Krazy Owl

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
897 (0.41/day)
Likes
76
Location
Montreal
System Name HTPC-Cube
Processor AMD Athlon 64 skt754 3200+ 1M cache
Motherboard Foxconn Winfast K8S760MG-6LRS
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 gigs DDR400
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 AGP 1gig DDR3
Storage White label 80gigs sata
Display(s) Polaroid 19 inches 1366X768 LED
Case Chenming cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Raidmax RX-500S
Software Seven Pro 64bits
#7
Its like this: A 500 W PSU will, at max, output 500 W. It will as JR said, adjust to the demands of whatever it is powering on the intake side as it will only draw what is needed up to 500 watts. If it is 80% effecient this means to give that 500 W it will be drawing 625 watts (120 VAC x 5.208 amps).
So my 430W psu draws at max load 120V and 10amps = 1200W

430/1200 X 100 = 36% efficiency! That blows! lol
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#8
So my 430W psu draws at max load 120V and 10amps = 1200W

430/1200 X 100 = 36% efficiency! That blows! lol
Er no. 120V 10A is the input, not output. And it does not have a 120V line. :)
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,126 (0.29/day)
Likes
651
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.3ghz 1.264v
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x 8gb Mushkin Blackline 2133mhz@2400mhz 11-13-13-31-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256gb (OS) | Crucial MX100 256gb (games) | Silicon Power S55 240gb (Games)
Display(s) Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse CM Mizar
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
A 500w PSU, will will use a maximum of 500w (normally) inside the computer. like TheLaughingMan said, if it has a effiency of 80% it will draw 625w at the Wall, because of the Joule Effect. When electricity go into the power supply, there will be heat, and you will loose a bit of power. so if you draw 625 from the wall, you PSU will delivrer 500w inside the computer, if that PSU has an effiency of 80% (Which means there is a lost of 20% from the joule effect)

Big example, if you plug your christmas tree, you won't take 1200w, it will take what it needs. I'm not really sure of your question, but I hope this answer. If you don't use all the power available, your PSU won't use it, it will use what it need, and what he is able to use.
 

Krazy Owl

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
897 (0.41/day)
Likes
76
Location
Montreal
System Name HTPC-Cube
Processor AMD Athlon 64 skt754 3200+ 1M cache
Motherboard Foxconn Winfast K8S760MG-6LRS
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 gigs DDR400
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 AGP 1gig DDR3
Storage White label 80gigs sata
Display(s) Polaroid 19 inches 1366X768 LED
Case Chenming cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Raidmax RX-500S
Software Seven Pro 64bits
#10
Ok it all answer my questions. So I'll figure out how to go on with my 12V setup project. I know for sure I could cut some 12V wires on it and put on a car lighter adapter to charge many things at same time like cell phone, portable dvd player, etc.
 

LGV

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
260 (0.10/day)
Likes
64
System Name outdated
Processor AM2 6400+ X2 black @stock
Motherboard MSI K9N SLI @ HOT (very, 65+)
Cooling air
Memory 4x2GB OCZ @stock
Video Card(s) 260 gtx
Storage Hitachi 650 / ssd corsair force 3//120
Display(s) 26''
Case Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX2/ Z5500 X2 :)
Power Supply Mushkin 1000W
Software Win7/64
#11
get something like thet
http://www.powermeterstore.com/p4578/killawatt_ez.php?utm_source=category_banner

Your Question,

In case you got 430 watt PSU

1, if bad make :
a, If PC need idle, lets assume 150 watt usage, then your PSU may pull 215 or more from wall.
b, you play on PC , lets say PC need 300 watt , then your PSU will draw from wall 430 watt
( bad brand may write 430watt the max your PSU can draw FROM WALL)

2, if good make
a, If PC need idle, lets assume 150 watt usage , then your PSU may pull 200watt or more from wall.
b, you play on PC , lets say PC need 300 watt , then your PSU will draw from wall 360 watt
( god make usually write what the PSU CAN deliver to your PC )

This is just example