• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PSU powerful enough??

Joined
Jul 31, 2007
Messages
1,002 (0.26/day)
Likes
34
Processor i5-2500K @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Storage 250GB Samsung EVO; 1TB WD Black
Display(s) 22" ASUS
Power Supply Rosewill Hive-650
Software Windows 8 64-bit
#1
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16822135106
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16813131175
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16814102700
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16820161067
http://www.newegg.com/product/Product.asp?item=N82E16819103759

Is a 350W PSU good enough for that? Its my old one from a computer that died......It didnt cause the death there was a power surge and my dad (who ownd the PC) didnt have it pluged into anything. I will be oc after i update it in a couple months and ill probely buy a new PSU later but im on a tight 450 dollor buget:(
Or should i not take any chances will a PSU like that?
I have the moniter(32inch HDTV:)), speakers, case, OS Vista Ultimate, and Dvd drive IDE

Also had a question if the mobo will run vista because someone said it didnt on the review, but i think he didnt know what he was doing because someone else said it did.
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#2

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479 (0.56/day)
Likes
74
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
#3
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16822135106
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16813131175
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16814102700
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16820161067
http://www.newegg.com/product/Product.asp?item=N82E16819103759

Is a 350W PSU good enough for that? Its my old one from a computer that died......It didnt cause the death there was a power surge and my dad (who ownd the PC) didnt have it pluged into anything. I will be oc after i update it in a couple months and ill probely buy a new PSU later but im on a tight 450 dollor buget:(
Or should i not take any chances will a PSU like that?
I have the moniter(32inch HDTV:)), speakers, case, OS Vista Ultimate, and Dvd drive IDE

Also had a question if the mobo will run vista because someone said it didnt on the review, but i think he didnt know what he was doing because someone else said it did.

What is the brand of the PSU?
Hope it isnt a generic one.
If it is than you wont be able to use it since it will not output enough on the 12V line(s).
Plus, you wouldnt want to use it anyway with this machine.

The mobo has nothing to do with Vista x64, just the CPU. 350 SHOULD be ok, so long as it is decent. I would go for at least a 450-500W. Epower make a GREAT PS for cheap.
You could get a better brand than EPower for roughly the same price.
Look at FSP, they make better PSUs (use better parts) and are around the same price.
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2007
Messages
1,002 (0.26/day)
Likes
34
Processor i5-2500K @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Storage 250GB Samsung EVO; 1TB WD Black
Display(s) 22" ASUS
Power Supply Rosewill Hive-650
Software Windows 8 64-bit
#4
I have no clue what brand its at my dads but it was in a eMachine computer.
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#5

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479 (0.56/day)
Likes
74
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
#6
If you needed an even cheaper power supply then this on would be good.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817101016
Nice find.
Here is another one (FSP).
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817104954

Emachines put cheap, generic PSUs in their systems.
The 350W your dad has will prob. not be able to power that system.

This one is slightly more powerful than the one JC posted, even though it is the same wattage.
But it is slightly more expensive.

When looking at a PSU you have to look at the amps on the 12V line(s).
Thats b/c the 12V rail powers most of your computer.
The higher the amps, the more power goes to ur system.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,395
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
Just a question: If you are planning on overclocking why get the 5200? Why not just go with a 3600+ Brisbane and overclock that? AMD's Brisbane chips have been giving some very nice overclocking results recently and the 3600+ is half the price of the 5200+.
 

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479 (0.56/day)
Likes
74
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
#8
Just a question: If you are planning on overclocking why get the 5200? Why not just go with a 3600+ Brisbane and overclock that? AMD's Brisbane chips have been giving some very nice overclocking results recently.
While I agree that the 3600+ OC like crazy, he might be able to get even higher with the 5200+.
Plus the 3600+ isnt guranteed to hit what the 5200+ is at (even though most do).