• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PSU suggestion

bmwmaster

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2010
Messages
51 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
#1
Hi,

i want to buy a new PSU because im often building new Systems and check Hardware configs without an case.

I don´t want to have to remove the PSU from my rig all the time i want to test other hardware because it is well mounted with cable management etc.

So i need an PSU with ca. 600 W Power, it should have 2xPCIe and 1x 8 Pin Connector for MB.

Cable Management would be nice but without it´s also ok.

It´s for occasional usage but shouldn´t be cheap rubbish stuff. Price/Performance should be good.


Has anyone a secret tip for an good PSU ?


THX
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,806 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,791
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#2
I have a spare 500W PSU used for "tabletop builds" I bought at a yard sale for $5 (LOL). No modular cables and I find it kind of a hassle, but it works.

If you're doing occasional builds and not using the power supply much, except for "kicking around", you may want to go used (someone may have upgraded for SLI / CF). Sounds like it would get bashed around and scratched too.

That said, what is your budget?
 

bmwmaster

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2010
Messages
51 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
#3
The thing is, that i want a good PSU because im checking if Hardware(maybe broken) is working. So i have to thrust in this PSU 100 % that it works and can´t be the problem itself.

Budget i thought is in the Range 60-100 $, as cheaper then better but it has to work.
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,678 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,248
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#4
Buy a modular silverstone PSU and a spare cable set. That way if you need to test hardware outside of your rig you can disconnect the cables in your rig at the PSU and connect the test hardware to the PSU with the spare cable set. That way you won't have to mess with cable management too much in your main rig nor remove the PSU :cool:

Spare cable sets are about $30 (US) :toast:
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,806 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,791
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#5
The thing is, that i want a good PSU because im checking if Hardware(maybe broken) is working. So i have to thrust in this PSU 100 % that it works and can´t be the problem itself.

Budget i thought is in the Range 60-100 $, as cheaper then better but it has to work.
Here's a great deal on a Corsair TX65, $75 with instant $15 off (promo code EMCNFND28), and then another $15 rebate, bringing it to $60. That's a good deal. Not modular, but the price is right.

CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V v2....
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,806 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,791
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#7
After some research this is the one i will buy.

It has all i need !

Single rail
4x pcie 8pol
Cable Management


http://www.corsair.com/enthusiast-series-modular-tx850m-80-plus-bronze-certified-750-watt-high-performance-modular-power-supply.html
Good choice too @ $89 (after rebate), so about $30 more than the TX650.

CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W ATX12V v2....

They have two versions of the TX750. The pricer one, TX750M is modular

And both are "Recommended by Tech Power Up"

ps - I'm assuming you're in the US
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#8
What is your current PSU, BMW? Maybe purchase a new one for yourself setting aside your current one as the "bench table" supply?
 

bmwmaster

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2010
Messages
51 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
#9
Im in Germany, it costs 100 Euro for me.

My current PSU is an Enermax 1250W Revolution85+ in my gaming Rig......so it would be much more expensive to replace that.