• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PSU works, but wont power for test

Jaywray

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
#1
Hey guys so I'm currently building my new gaming rig (well.. first gaming rig)
And when I've watched building videos etc people seem to test the system when its not in the case to make sure things work before installing everything into the case, my problem seems to be, the PSU is working fine when I do the paperclip test, but not when it's plugged into the motherboard/gaphics card etc, my motherboard is the asus Z77 extreme 6 and the power supply is the Corsaid GS700 Uk, am I missing something here?

The ram is in, the processor is in, the Graphics card (7850) is in, but it just won't boot, earlier I flicked the switch and it went on for a second, then stopped, anyone have any ideas? :/
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#2
Quick on-off is usually an electrical short/bad component, or lack of 8-pin EPS plug connected.

Or, CPU is not mounted correctly.
 

Jaywray

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
#3
Quick on-off is usually an electrical short/bad component, or lack of 8-pin EPS plug connected.

Or, CPU is not mounted correctly.
8pin eps is connected, also would that be a problem with the board or the psu?

Ill remount the CPU now, does it matter if the fan is connected (Mine currently isn't)
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,623 (5.78/day)
Likes
9,345
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#4
does it matter if the fan is connected
Shouldn't, boards that run water cooling don't typically have a fan plugged in there;)
 

Jaywray

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
#6
Quick on-off is usually an electrical short/bad component, or lack of 8-pin EPS plug connected.

Or, CPU is not mounted correctly.
Could the fact I'm using a i5 2500k on a Z77 board be causing it? I know they're backwards compatible and all but still :/
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#7
No, shouldn't be any issues like that, all current SKT1155 CPUs shoudl eb supproted wit hteh shipping BIOS.

Look for shorts with board and case, re-seat videocards and ram. It is possible that the combination of PCIE GPU, PCIe 3.0 board, but PCIe 2.0 CPU is part of it, I guess, although that'd be my last choice. You coudl try removing the add-in VGA, plugging monitor into the board itself, clearing CMOS, and seeing what happens...

DO you get any display on teh POST reader under the chipset cooler?
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
194 (0.08/day)
Likes
32
Location
Montreal, Canada
Processor Phenom II 955 @ 3955Mhz 1.45v
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper TX3 push-pull /2x140mm + 2x230mm + 2x120mm = super noisy computer
Memory 4x2Gb Kingston DDR3-1333 8-8-8-22 @ 1527Mhz
Video Card(s) Crossfire 2x Sapphire Radeon 6850 @ 850/1200
Storage 320Gb Western Digital WD3200AAJS
Display(s) Samsung 23" 1920x1080
Case Azza Solano 1000R Full-Tower
Audio Device(s) VIA VT1708S (integrated) + quadraphonic speakers
Power Supply CoolerMaster Extreme Power Plus 700w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#8
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#9
Please, don't start double posting... use the edit button to add info/questions/etc. Thanks.

Check all the power connections again.
Un-plug anything not needed, like dvd/cd players, hubs, docks, etc.
Try with one stick of ram (swap them and try again)
Check your cpu is properly mounted and inserted. (make sure it has the cooler/HS in place! And, any plastic covering has been removed.)
Reset the bios(manual should have the instructions)
If, you are testing outside the case, make sure it is not on anything conductive.
If, you have installed it; did you use standoffs under the motherboard?
If, you have a motherboard speaker and a place on the motherboard for it's connection... try it and count any error beeps.


If you can gain access to another PSU, you might want to try it.
The paper clip test alone just shows the power up signal is working and the psu fan spins...
you need to test the PSU outputs with a meter or a load (fan, light (like and led setup),etc.).
A meter is usually available everywhere for a little money. Radio Shacks, Sears, Home Depots, Lowes, Best Buy, Harbor Freight, Northern, K-Mart, Big Lots, etc.

EDIT:
List all your specs and any thing you have plugged in the system when you are trying it.
 

Jaywray

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
#10
No, shouldn't be any issues like that, all current SKT1155 CPUs shoudl eb supproted wit hteh shipping BIOS.

Look for shorts with board and case, re-seat videocards and ram. It is possible that the combination of PCIE GPU, PCIe 3.0 board, but PCIe 2.0 CPU is part of it, I guess, although that'd be my last choice. You coudl try removing the add-in VGA, plugging monitor into the board itself, clearing CMOS, and seeing what happens...

DO you get any display on teh POST reader under the chipset cooler?


How do I check for shorts when the mobo wont power? like, I mean it wont power at all, anything, I switched the ram, no change, tried switching pci ports, no change, but! I didn't try the bios thing, ill try that.

What is the post reader under the chipset cooler? :/


Please, don't start double posting... use the edit button to add info/questions/etc. Thanks.

Check all the power connections again.
Un-plug anything not needed, like dvd/cd players, hubs, docks, etc.
Try with one stick of ram (swap them and try again)
Check your cpu is properly mounted and inserted. (make sure it has the cooler/HS in place! And, any plastic covering has been removed.)
Reset the bios(manual should have the instructions)
If, you are testing outside the case, make sure it is not on anything conductive.
If, you have installed it; did you use standoffs under the motherboard?
If, you have a motherboard speaker and a place on the motherboard for it's connection... try it and count any error beeps.


If you can gain access to another PSU, you might want to try it.
The paper clip test alone just shows the power up signal is working and the psu fan spins...
you need to test the PSU outputs with a meter or a load (fan, light (like and led setup),etc.).
A meter is usually available everywhere for a little money. Radio Shacks, Sears, Home Depots, Lowes, Best Buy, Harbor Freight, Northern, K-Mart, Big Lots, etc.

EDIT:
List all your specs and any thing you have plugged in the system when you are trying it.
Thanks

Sorry about the double post!

Nothing except the Graphics card and Motherboard have anything plugged into it, I am testing outside of the case as I said I was testing it before putting it into the case incase anything was wrong.
Cpu has been remounted twice now, checked all the pins with a mag glass and none are bent or anything like that, but you say I should have the Heat sink in place? Will that make a difference?

Gona try resetting the Bios but how can I do that when no power seems to get getting to the board?
I cut open a large card board box and put it on a layer over the table so there's nothing conductive and I've been grounding myself every 3 minutes with a timer :/

Unfortunately I don't have a meter at the moment, but if it makes a difference sometimes when it's turned on it'll go for 2-3 secs and power the GPU and light the board for a blink of an eye then stops.

Specs =
As Rock Z77 extreme 6
Asus 7850 GPU
I5 2500k
G.skill Ram 8gb 2 sets of 4gb
PSU Is the corsair GS700W Gamer series.
 
Last edited:

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#11
There is a dual-digit LED display located under the chipset cooler that shows 2-number codes as the board boots. If no codes are displayed, there is a short, or the board is bad. Pretty much anything else, and there will be at least one code shown.
 
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
Sounds like you have a short somewhere.

To rule it out, start with 1 component at a time:
  • Motherboard
  • 1 stick RAM
  • Video Card
  • addition pci cards
  • additional Dimms
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#13

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#14

Jaywray

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
#15
There is a dual-digit LED display located under the chipset cooler that shows 2-number codes as the board boots. If no codes are displayed, there is a short, or the board is bad. Pretty much anything else, and there will be at least one code shown.
There is a small 2 digit LED light doctor thing on the board, unfortunately it's no help since I can't get any power to it! /:

Sounds like you have a short somewhere.

To rule it out, start with 1 component at a time:
  • Motherboard
  • 1 stick RAM
  • Video Card
  • addition pci cards
  • additional Dimms
Unfortunately already tried that ): Is a short the problem of the motherboard or the PSU?

Will fit it now and see.

Also thanks for the getup compliment ^^' If I can get it to work that is! haha :)


Bare with me here folks! might take me a bit of time to install the heatsink (big ass noctua haha) back soon!
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#16
If the motherboard on a test bed or actually in the case? It could be a short caused by a grounding issue.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#17
Are you sure your board is an Asus Z77 Extreme 6? I think it's an ASRock. Reconnect the 24 pin power to the mobo and the 8 pin CPU power. Connect power to your video card. There is a start button on the mobo. Switch your PSU to on and push the start button.
 

Jaywray

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
#18
If the motherboard on a test bed or actually in the case? It could be a short caused by a grounding issue.
It's on a table with a thick layer of cardboard between it and the table, and I've been grounding every 3 mins :/

Are you sure your board is an Asus Z77 Extreme 6? I think it's an ASRock. Reconnect the 24 pin power to the mobo and the 8 pin CPU power. Connect power to your video card. There is a start button on the mobo. Switch your PSU to on and push the start button.
You re indeed correct sir, My mistake typing asus haha, yeah there is a power button but it doesn't seem to be doing anything since the psu doesn't seem to want to give it any juice!
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#19
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#21
What is the Model/Part numbers on your memory?

Are you trying it with just one stick in A1 or B1 then A2 or B2?
And, swap the sticks.
 

Jaywray

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
#22
What is the Model/Part numbers on your memory?

Are you trying it with just one stick in A1 or B1 then A2 or B2?
And, swap the sticks.

Please don't take this the wrong way! But what do the Ram sticks have to do with powering the board? (not saying you're wrong I'm just curious as I'm new to this.

Also the frigging heatsink wont even work now ether )): the brackets wont fit with the spacers on :banghead::banghead:

^ Never mind got the heat sink, just can't put it on a certain way, there's a gold cylinder blocking horizontal alignment on the board though from what I can tell.


the heatsink is now on, thermal paste and all, went well.
Although, no change ):
 
Last edited:

Jaywray

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
#23
IT'S WORKING, big thank you guys! No idea how, but when I plugged in the fan the whole thing just started up and running! Although I do have to hold the motherboards power button at the same time as I flick the switch, although it does that Start and stopping thing without the heatsink still.
Not gona lie guys, when it all came alive I was near jumping around shouting "IT'S ALIVE, IT'S ALIIIVE!"

Haha :)

But quick question, em... the power and reset buttons on my haf 922 case will take care of the holding in the power on the mobo thing right?

Once again cheers haha, I wouldn't have thought to put the heatsink on first otherwise ^^'
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#24
Yes! Do you have the HSF mounted on the CPU? Don't try anything without that being properly mounted. Put the mobo in the case and be careful to use the standoffs. Read your mobo manual to see where and how to connect power/reset/HDD activity plugs from your case. Good luck and come back here if you have any problems.
 

Jaywray

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
47 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
#25
Yes! Do you have the HSF mounted on the CPU? Don't try anything without that being properly mounted. Put the mobo in the case and be careful to use the standoffs. Read your mobo manual to see where and how to connect power/reset/HDD activity plugs from your case. Good luck and come back here if you have any problems.
Was a long night, but everything's up and ready :) need to upload windows 7 and that's me, although the keyboard still hasn't arrived yet, which is driving me crazy because it's the only thing that was ordered first class haha!