• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Q6600 4GHz OC with my PSU impossible?

Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
Hi all!

I am stuggling to get my Q6600 CPU to 4GHz.. i now can OC my rig to 3,6GHz@1.35V Vcore without problems and with my water cooling the temps stay low..

When i try to use 1.5V Vcore for 4GHz and even 1.55V Vcore i get windows stable but prime95 torture test (max power consumption) will crash my PC (blue screen, reboot) even though my temps stay low ~55C under load

Here are my bios settings for the 4GHz OC



I used the PSU calculator and it says that i need ~1000W for my rig configuration having 4GHz OC.. for 3600MHz is calculated ~750W as optimum which i have with my current PSU.. i dont trust the calculator even though i entered all specs into it the right way..

I noticed that under load at 4GHz my 12V rail droop from 11,9V to 11,83V and that i cant OC my GFX as high as before

Are these signs that my PSU is to weak?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
3,503 (0.96/day)
Likes
428
System Name Xazax
Processor 6700k
Motherboard ASrock Fatal1ty z170
Cooling H240X
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800mhz
Video Card(s) Gtx 980ti
Storage 1TB Mushkin
Display(s) ASUS PG27 G-sync
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35
Power Supply Corsair 1500w Digital
Keyboard Patriot Viper
Software Windows 10
#2
only real way to try.. get a 1k Watt PSU :\ but are you jumping to 4Ghz? have you tried 3.7-3.8-3.9...
 

LionelHudz

New Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Germany
Processor Intel Q6600@3600Mhz (G0)
Motherboard Abit IX-38 Quad GT
Cooling Scythe Orochi@Noiseblocker 120mm
Memory 2x2048MB G.Skill DDR2-1000
Video Card(s) Sparkle 8800GTX @ 648/1674/1080 Mhz @ AC Ultra Silent
Storage 2x Samsung SP1603C 160GB S-ATA 300 Raid 0 + 1x Samsung HD401LJ 400GB
Display(s) Asus 22" LCD MW221
Case Thermaltake Armor
Audio Device(s) Onboard Intel HD Audio Realtek ALC882
Power Supply CoolerMaster RealPower 850W
Software Vista x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: 8971 Pts. 3DMark 06: 14.413
#3
I would say it's your PSU. I've got the same problems. After i buyed a new one my system runs without problems.

Old PSU: 530 W BeQuit,
New PSU: Coolermaster 850 W

You need more "pressure" on ther 12 V rail, my breaks down under Load like your's. Withe the new iv'e got everytime 12 V. System is a Q6600@3600 (Air) 1,48V and 8800GTX@Ultra.

Buy a new and all problems are history:D
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
only real way to try.. get a 1k Watt PSU :\ but are you jumping to 4Ghz? have you tried 3.7-3.8-3.9...
I have had OCs from 3.7-3.9 but they were not stable in prime95.. only like for benchmarking with 3Dmark06 is used them.
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#5
Not likely your power supply, I have the same one and it's a beast, PLENTY of power for your setup. I would say that you just aren't giving it enough juice. There aren't that many 4.0GHZ Q6600's out there. I had to run 1.5V to get 3.8GHZ with my G0 Q6600.

The power supply calculators are WAY out of line, recommending more power than is needed.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#6
Not likely your power supply, I have the same one and it's a beast, PLENTY of power for your setup. I would say that you just aren't giving it enough juice. There aren't that many 4.0GHZ Q6600's out there. I had to run 1.5V to get 3.8GHZ with my G0 Q6600.

The power supply calculators are WAY out of line, recommending more power than is needed.
Agreed.

That psu is fine for those voltages. I ran higher voltages and overclocks on my Q6600 and 8800GT with a 620W Corsair psu without problems.

You need to either try a lower OC with the same voltage, or the same OC with more voltage.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#7
I used the PSU calculator and it says that i need ~1000W for my rig configuration having 4GHz OC.. for 3600MHz is calculated ~750W as optimum which i have with my current PSU.. i dont trust the calculator even though i entered all specs into it the right way..

I noticed that under load at 4GHz my 12V rail droop from 11,9V to 11,83V and that i cant OC my GFX as high as before

Are these signs that my PSU is to weak?[/QUOTE]

i don't think so you really need 1000w , i think even 700w brand name like crossair will be enough , im PSU calculator too but it tell me need less than 400w , and you can see my system specs
 

Jansku07

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
171 (0.05/day)
Likes
24
Location
Finland
Processor 4000X2 @ 2,1Ghz w/ AC Freezer
Motherboard MSI K9AGM3-FD
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 3650 w/ 256MB GDDR3
Storage WD 320GB - 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL m991 /1024x768/ 85hz
Case resonating metal case
Power Supply FSP 350W -> 16A@12V
Software Vista Home Premium x86 SP2 FIN
Benchmark Scores oh noeees.
#8
PSU recommendations are crap, because they are made to ensure that even the sh*ttiest PSU will work with your system. A corsair HX620 will run almost everything that you throw at it, hell even a HX520 will do in most cases. Your PSU is fine with your system, the problem is somewhere else.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Thanks for the answers but because the recommendations are so different.. some say psu no prob some its your psu.. i give the thread a bump
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,802 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,786
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#10
Since you only have one video card, it's not likely you are reaching the PSU limits. However, with a quad core CPU, it certainly is possible that the 4-pin motherboard connector is on a rail that is stressed to the max.

Remember the prescott EE (extreme edition) CPU? It required the 8-pin CPU power connector. I worked on a machine that would not run without it. You've got 4 cores - not quite like running two seprate Core2's, but certainly eating much more juice.

It's also possible that you've simply reached the limits of the CPU, regardless of the fact it's watercooled. Most of the processors I've OC'd didn't gain but a few .1 Mhz over air vs. water, even though they were loaded at only around 40c on water.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#11
Hi all!

I am stuggling to get my Q6600 CPU to 4GHz.. i now can OC my rig to 3,6GHz@1.35V Vcore without problems and with my water cooling the temps stay low..

When i try to use 1.5V Vcore for 4GHz and even 1.55V Vcore i get windows stable but prime95 torture test (max power consumption) will crash my PC (blue screen, reboot) even though my temps stay low ~55C under load

Here are my bios settings for the 4GHz OC



I used the PSU calculator and it says that i need ~1000W for my rig configuration having 4GHz OC.. for 3600MHz is calculated ~750W as optimum which i have with my current PSU.. i dont trust the calculator even though i entered all specs into it the right way..

I noticed that under load at 4GHz my 12V rail droop from 11,9V to 11,83V and that i cant OC my GFX as high as before

Are these signs that my PSU is to weak?
Ive never known someone unable to OC their CPU because of PSU. Also, it is probably your ram. Adjust your ram divider so that it sits at or near (+/-30MHZ) stock speeds, and up your voltages. At that, you should be doing an mch of +.2 or .3. Some people say they can do 3.8 on an e6750 on +.1, never works for me.

EDIT: im not sure that the Q6600 G0 can even go to 4GHZ stable in most cases....
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
Ive never known someone unable to OC their CPU because of PSU. Also, it is probably your ram. Adjust your ram divider so that it sits at or near (+/-30MHZ) stock speeds, and up your voltages. At that, you should be doing an mch of +.2 or .3. Some people say they can do 3.8 on an e6750 on +.1, never works for me.

EDIT: im not sure that the Q6600 G0 can even go to 4GHZ stable in most cases....
Bumb of me but what is a MCH?

Edit: I googled it and its North brigde volts..
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,949 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#13
Laurijan, may not help your OC, but will help stabilize your +12v, my DFI P35 Dark had the same vdrop on the 12v that yours does with a quad OC'd.

There's a 4-pin floppy power connection near the top of the PCI-e slot area near the NB, if you can hook this up. It seemed to help level out my cpu vdroop a little bit, kept the +12v higher, went from 11.9 idle to 11.96, would not drop below 11.9v, and iirc the +5v stabilized also. This also helped to stabalize my GPU OC's too, but YMMV, it's worth a shot tho.

My Q6600 G0 was a trooper for sure, but took 1.42v for 3.6 in comparison to your 1.35v, it could be a chip limitation on the OC possibly? Can you attain 3.8/3.9 with stability? I'd drop to that and see what is attainable...I don't know how old/what batch your G0 is, but from what I've read the newer G0's released in 2008 have limits around the 3.4-3.8 range.

Hope that helps!

:toast:
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#14
Your fine, your power supply is plenty powerful, but they do make a good point with the 4pin it "could" be limiting, but I doubt it to be honest, you have 2 12volt wires, that are capable of carrying 10amps each, 20 amps @ 12volts = 240 watts, your chip isn't going to take that much.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#15
PSU recommendations are crap, because they are made to ensure that even the sh*ttiest PSU will work with your system. A corsair HX620 will run almost everything that you throw at it, hell even a HX520 will do in most cases. Your PSU is fine with your system, the problem is somewhere else.
very true. My HX520 will run my quad @ 3.8 / 1.45V all day long (if i wanted to) stable as hell. I can get it to boot at 4Ghz, but its not stable at all, even with 1.6V running through its veins.

PSU isnt a problem, seeing as my 520W monster ( :laugh: ) will run my system and a Q6600 @ 3.8. Its most likely the chip, i think ive been lucky and got an above average overclocker.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#16
Ya to be realistic that power supply is big enough to run 2 8800gt's overclocked and that quad at 4ghz without an issue... lol
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#17
Thank you very much guys i really am sure now it isnt my PSU after hearing all this experience you have :)
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#18
Laurijan, may not help your OC, but will help stabilize your +12v, my DFI P35 Dark had the same vdrop on the 12v that yours does with a quad OC'd.

There's a 4-pin floppy power connection near the top of the PCI-e slot area near the NB, if you can hook this up. It seemed to help level out my cpu vdroop a little bit, kept the +12v higher, went from 11.9 idle to 11.96, would not drop below 11.9v, and iirc the +5v stabilized also. This also helped to stabalize my GPU OC's too, but YMMV, it's worth a shot tho.

My Q6600 G0 was a trooper for sure, but took 1.42v for 3.6 in comparison to your 1.35v, it could be a chip limitation on the OC possibly? Can you attain 3.8/3.9 with stability? I'd drop to that and see what is attainable...I don't know how old/what batch your G0 is, but from what I've read the newer G0's released in 2008 have limits around the 3.4-3.8 range.

Hope that helps!

:toast:
As you can see here i have connected the 4pin connector and the 8pin connector


I will try to OC my CPU not to 4GHz but 3.7 or 3.8 or even 3.9GHz
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#19
Your CPU, NB, and CPU VTT need more voltage.
 
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
2,165 (0.56/day)
Likes
361
Location
Wallingford, CT
Processor Intel i7-5930k
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X99
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 4x8GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666 15-17-17-15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
Storage 1x Plextor PX-512M6S SSD, 1x WD 750gb HDD, 2x Hitachi 2TB HDD, 1x Seagate 4TB HDD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2314H
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse ROCCAT Kone Pure Color White
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB - Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#20
I can't get my QX6850 stable at 4ghz even with 1.5v in it. Very weird. Will run 3.6ghz ALL DAY but can't get 4ghz....
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#21
I can't get my QX6850 stable at 4ghz even with 1.5v in it. Very weird. Will run 3.6ghz ALL DAY but can't get 4ghz....
Are you serious, did you try dropping your multi, might need 1.55v also, unless your ram is an issue.
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#22
I can't get my QX6850 stable at 4ghz even with 1.5v in it. Very weird. Will run 3.6ghz ALL DAY but can't get 4ghz....
Just a limitation of the Kentsfield chip. 3.8 or 3.9 seems to be max for them.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#23
Just a limitation of the Kentsfield chip. 3.8 or 3.9 seems to be max for them.
That's a bummer, I had my Xeon to 3.6 last night playing around, I was hoping this winter I could nail 3.8, but now I'm kinda worried.
 

Damian^

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
552 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Texas
System Name Quad Damage
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965
Motherboard MSI 785GM-E65
Cooling Thermaltake Contac 29
Memory DDR3 6gb 1533Mhz
Video Card(s) 9800gt (HD4200 for now)
Storage Seagate 250GB 7200RPM/Hitatchi 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216 22" (1680X1050)
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Corsair VX550W
Software Vista Home Premium 64bit
#24
And if you cant get to 4GhHz, i wouldn't worry to much, that a pretty high overclock for the quads, i'v only seen a couple people reach that on early batches, latest ones usually clock out at 3.2Ghz others at 3.6GHz

Try working with your ram first and foremost
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#25
And if you cant get to 4GhHz, i wouldn't worry to much, that a pretty high overclock for the quads, i'v only seen a couple people reach that on early batches, latest ones usually clock out at 3.2Ghz others at 3.6GHz

Try working with your ram first and foremost
i think i got lucky - mines from a late bath but she'll do 3.8 @ 1.45 24/7 - ive heard of people struggling to get over 3.2 nevermind close to 4Ghz.