• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Q6600 overclocking help

Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
216 (0.06/day)
Likes
21
System Name Monsta AMD
Processor FX-8120@4.3@1.4v
Motherboard Gigabye 990fx ud3 rev 4.0
Cooling custom XSPC EX360
Memory 8Gb Kingston Fury ddr3 1600@1920
Video Card(s) GTX 980
Storage Kingston ssd Now V3, Seagate barracuda 1 TBx3
Display(s) AOC 24" full HD
Case In Win Android
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply evga supernova nex 750g
Mouse CM Storm
Keyboard iRocks
Software win 8.1 X64
#26
maybe better heatsink on the p35 they tend to run hot, on my tforce p35 i requiered more voltage on ram nortbrige and arround 1.45 to reach 3.5 stable before that all u could do was 3.0 no mater ehat voltages i used
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,526 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,159
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#27
Well, at 425 FSB the test failed pretty quick with CPU VTT 3 steps above normal, but at 4 steps it lasted nearly a half hour. I'll keep raising this and see how it goes...
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,526 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,159
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#28
Failure after failure... quite a challenge. I think once I reach 3.6GHz stable I may run at 3.4 anyways. I was able to do that without raising all these funky voltages. It doesn't seem like something that would be completely safe to do in the long term...
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,526 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,159
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#29
Dang... latest test 1.5v on both CPU VTT and NB and the test bombed. There really seems to be no rhyme or reason to how long these tests last, seems to be pretty much random whether the test bombs in 2 hours or 15 minutes. I think either this is impossible or there's some strange option somewhere that I'm missing. Maybe PLL voltage or that RAM performance level.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
2,746 (0.77/day)
Likes
1,709
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB, Crucial MX200 500GB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#30
1.5V? The electromigration might have a pretty serious impact now. If your chip wont do 3.6GHz over 1.45V then i strongly suggest you lower your expectations. At 1.5V it will kill the q6600 pretty fast.


Like you, I was trying desprately to get a stable 3.6G Q6600 overclock. In the end I sold the q6600 and bought a qx9650 for cheap. I am getting a rock solid 4GHz overclock on my qx9650 with only 1.35V vcore now.

Sell your Q6600 and get a Q9650 or Q9550. These are fairly cheap now. They can overclock way better than the old q6600.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,526 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,159
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#31
No, not CPU vcore, NB voltage and CPU VTT, otherwise known as the FSB Termination voltage. I tried running 425x8, and later tried 400x8 at 3.2GHz, running my RAM rather slow, isolating the FSB. Running at 1.5v on both NB and CPU VTT failed. I think neither of those voltages are helping, I'm missing something or it's just plain impossible.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
2,746 (0.77/day)
Likes
1,709
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB, Crucial MX200 500GB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#32
motherboard degrades just as fast with high voltage.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,526 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,159
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#33
I looked at some stuff specifically related to my motherboard and its weird options. I set the GTL thing under the voltage settings to weak, and changed the RAM performance level to 6 as recommended for using the 266/667 strap (as I am) for up to a certain FSB, and I still bombed the test. I saw somewhere someone used 1.65v NB and 1.6v FSB voltage... that seems crazy high. 3.6GHz would be nice but I don't think I'm willing to possibly burn out everything I have with these voltages to reach it.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,526 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,159
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#34
I removed 2 sticks of ram, only running 2x2gb. I padded 400x8 with over 150 passes of IBT, but my temps are too high to push further... over 70c. I wonder if having 4 sticks of ram was hindering me, or because it was mix matched ram or what... but now I only have 4gb instead of 8
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
216 (0.06/day)
Likes
21
System Name Monsta AMD
Processor FX-8120@4.3@1.4v
Motherboard Gigabye 990fx ud3 rev 4.0
Cooling custom XSPC EX360
Memory 8Gb Kingston Fury ddr3 1600@1920
Video Card(s) GTX 980
Storage Kingston ssd Now V3, Seagate barracuda 1 TBx3
Display(s) AOC 24" full HD
Case In Win Android
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply evga supernova nex 750g
Mouse CM Storm
Keyboard iRocks
Software win 8.1 X64
#35
yeah it might p35 didnt liked taht much all the slots populated when overclocking
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,526 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,159
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#36
I should be able to ram the NB with more power to make it work though, right?
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
216 (0.06/day)
Likes
21
System Name Monsta AMD
Processor FX-8120@4.3@1.4v
Motherboard Gigabye 990fx ud3 rev 4.0
Cooling custom XSPC EX360
Memory 8Gb Kingston Fury ddr3 1600@1920
Video Card(s) GTX 980
Storage Kingston ssd Now V3, Seagate barracuda 1 TBx3
Display(s) AOC 24" full HD
Case In Win Android
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply evga supernova nex 750g
Mouse CM Storm
Keyboard iRocks
Software win 8.1 X64
#37
yeah but they run quite hot you need better heatsink o cooling for the northbrigde
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,526 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,159
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#38
That's not really doable without getting heatsinks for the NB, SB and vregs. The motherboard has one big heatsink-heatpipe assembly covering all these things. The only thing that seems reasonable is try to make room for that funky transpiper heatsink and hope that helps a little.

I wonder if I can get better CPU temps if I got higher CFM fans for my h70? Currently I have two 120mm Noctua fans on them... the ones that cost like $25 a piece. They're only rated at 50cfm or so, but they're really quiet. I don't mind some fan noise, but I can't have a jet engine either.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
2,746 (0.77/day)
Likes
1,709
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB, Crucial MX200 500GB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#39
Seriously dude, consider ditching your q6600 for a q9550 or q9650. Those are dirt cheap right now and gets waaaaaaaay better OC than your q6600.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,526 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,159
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#40
Starting to think the set of ram I was using was fucky. Didn't want to run what it was rated at... Trying my other set.

Seriously dude, consider ditching your q6600 for a q9550 or q9650. Those are dirt cheap right now and gets waaaaaaaay better OC than your q6600.
How cheap is dirt cheap to you? For me to try to sell the q6600 for one of the 45nm ones, the replacement would have to be extremely cheap. Even if it's only going to cost $20 in the end, that's a heavy price for me to pay for a few hundred MHz.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425 (0.64/day)
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
#41
clock for clock they are also faster and they all hit higher speeds.

the p35 is what is holding you back, great mobo for duos but not for quads.

you want a p45 for core 2 quads :)
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,526 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,159
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#42
Actually I just primed for almost 10 hours at 400x8. Pretty sure that one set of memory was holding me back.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,526 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,159
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#43
Primed for 6 hours at 400x9... no errors
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#44
Yeah, sounds like the RAM was your issue, or 4 sticks was just too hard on the NB at that FSB. :)
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,526 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,159
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#45
Actually I removed one set of ram long ago and was using just one set. I think that set itself was faulty and causing issues. Once I removed that set and put in the other set in I'm able to rock and roll with the best of them.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
2,746 (0.77/day)
Likes
1,709
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB, Crucial MX200 500GB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#46
I had 4 sticks of ddr2-1000 gskill when I was using the Q6600 at 400*8. I can't set them to 1GHz or my system wont even post. But it can work perfectly in 800MHz. Never had any problem with the all 4 slots plugged in

When using QX9650 I can reach DDR2-1000 with gskill's profile. Kinda strange. Consider it is the same X38 chipset and I am even pushing higher to 400*10.

Is your NB overheating? If not, it shouldn't have any problem getting 4 sticks together.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,526 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,159
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#47
I tried 800mhz with the bad set and it didn't do that either. This set is running 1000 5-5-5-15 with 1.95v.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
2,746 (0.77/day)
Likes
1,709
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB, Crucial MX200 500GB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#48
I tried 800mhz with the bad set and it didn't do that either. This set is running 1000 5-5-5-15 with 1.95v.
Then it narrows down to the problem of ram. Well, 4gb should be enough. I'd rather go with a higher OC than 8gb ram.