• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Q6600 Voltage & FSB Questions

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#1
I want to OC my Q6600 a little, it has a Zalman 9700 on it with AS5. I followed a guide I found to OCing on the Gigabyte 965P-DS3 and turned off most the extras as suggested. I set the FSB to 320, and my Memory Divider to 2.5, this way I get the small comfortable OC I want and my Memory runs at 800MHz still. I didn't adjust any voltages at all and the system posted fine and booted into XP. As soon as I'm done with this post I'm going to run Prime95 for awhile. I realize the normal strategy is to set a higher voltage then keep lowering it, but since a 320FSB is my goal and a relatively small OC, I thought I'd work backwards. In the BIOS, the voltage is on default which I think was 1.2375v, but CPU-Z shows as 1.184v. Here is a screenshot for now, but I'd like to hear from Q6600 owners or smart people in general who can estimate what voltage I'll end up needing to be stable.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#2
Run 334.25FSB so you can have 1337 rated FSB :p
 

b1lk1

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2005
Messages
688 (0.15/day)
Likes
17
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Money pit
Processor Q2Q Q8300
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 deluxe WIFI AP@N
Cooling 120.2/Swiftech655/Apogee GT/DD Fillport & res
Memory OCZ PC3-1333MHZ 2X1GB/Kingston HYPERX PC3-1325MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4830
Storage Seagate 7200.11 1TB
Display(s) Dell 2209WA
Case some crap 5 year old generic modded case
Audio Device(s) X-FI fagtality
Power Supply PC P&C 510W
Software Vista Premium 64
#3
There is no set amount of Vcore needed. You have to figure that out. My X3210 is stable @ 366FSB (2.92GHz) with stock Vcore of 1.25V. I haven't tried for more. Either way, if it fails Orthos/Prime then it's time to add more Vcore.
 

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#4
Which Prime95 test is the best to run to stress a CPU and test stability? I did the Small FFTs and so far its been stable about 3 hours at stock voltage and 320 FSB. I plan on letting it go 24 hours to make sure.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,556
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
I have a similar setup to you, just a different motherboard, and at 3GHz(333FSB) I need 1.4v to keep it stable plus several other voltage increases on the motherboard.

You need to run multiple instances of Prime95 to test for stability. Since you have 4 cores you need to run it 4 times. Personally I would download SP2004. I unzip it to 4 different folders(you have to do this with Prime95 also). Then I run it from each folder. It is a much better GUI than Prime95, but runs the exact same stability test. Then I set each instance of SP2004 to use a different CPU(0-3). I set the SP2004 window that is testing CPU-0 to "Blend", then I set the rest to CPU.

Here is a screenshot of how it looks when I test my quad-core for stability.
 

Attachments

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#6
Which Prime95 test is the best to run to stress a CPU and test stability? I did the Small FFTs and so far its been stable about 3 hours at stock voltage and 320 FSB. I plan on letting it go 24 hours to make sure.


small FFT is the best one for CPU testing, but make sure its testing BOTH cores - i remember prime 95 only did one core, not dual (i use Orthos, which is a dual core version of prime 95's stress test)

Really, just watch the temps too - keep em under 60C at load, and you'll have no problems. Things seem to be going smooth for you and you've got the basics covered, so good luck.
 

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#7

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#8
Also I have another question, do people ever overclock to an extreme number knowing that if they ran a stress test for an extended period of time it'd fail, but they ignore that and use it as is? The thing I'm thinking is, most of us don't do anything that puts our CPUs under the same amount of stress as when they're undergoing a stress test.

Like my system now with it's OC and stock voltage, has been running fine with about an hour of gaming and a few hours of stress testing. If this OC turns out "unstable" after 20 hours or so, what is the harm in just keeping the settings like this? If it takes 20 hours of consecutive 100% load to make it crash, won't it run fine for the normal use? I'm just throwing weird ideas out there trying to understand why most people feel a system has to run completely stable under the heaviest of loads for a day straight or longer.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,556
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
The problem with doing that is that the instability can show up at any time and it doesn't have to be under load to fail. Putting it under load just tends to make it fail quicker.

My old P4 system was like this. Overclocked from 3.0GHz to 3.2GHz seemed perfectly stable and would only fail Prime95 after about 24 hours or testing, but it would tend to blue screen whenever it was idle for long periods of time, or crash whenever I played a movie in media player.