• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Quad channel ram?

Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.74/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#1
According to this my buddy is running quad channel ram.


Quad would be 256bit right?
So if this is the case why is Nehalem triple channel and not native quad channel for one cpu?

Or is there something that im missing that needs to be said here.
I thought it was because he had 2 cpus that are both dual core. So 2x 2 dual channel controlers would be "quad pumped" not sought as "quad channel/256bit"

Explain? :banghead:
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.91/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#2
I'm confused too. You'd think the memory and the board would also need to be developed to run in 'quad channel'.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,058 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,122
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
I'm confused too. You'd think the memory and the board would also need to be developed to run in 'quad channel'.
5000x chipset - it is developed for quad channel memory ;)
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.91/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#5
5000x chipset - it is developed for quad channel memory ;)
That's a start. Now is there quad channel memory available yet?
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.74/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
This is a server board, server FB ram, and 2 server Xeons (obviously).

So its really quad channel? Cause if so im gonna feel like the biggest n00b ever.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
1,073 (0.27/day)
Likes
52
Location
Chicago
System Name Blue by you
Processor Intel Core i5 4690K Devils Canyon
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97MX-G1 Gaming 5
Cooling Cooler Master D92 MX-4 4 Corsair 120mm Blue led case fans 2 intake 2 exhaust
Memory G.Skill Trident X DDR3 2666 2X8gb
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 Gaming Geforce GTX 970
Storage Sandisk Extreme Pro 240GB boot drive Samsung 950 Pro NVME 256gb Seagate 1TB platter
Display(s) Benq GW2765 2560X1440 27 inch
Case Corsair 88R Carbide SFF
Audio Device(s) nada
Power Supply Corsair HX 850i watt Professional
Software Windows 10
#7
He's running 8 gig at ddr2-533. Where's the timings at under the cpuz memory tab? And the channels box is greyed out. So no, he's not in duel channel either. What board is he running?
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.74/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#8
It says it in CPU-Z. Its a Dell server system that he stuffed some SCSI Cheetahs in and an 8800GT. He set the world record for that cpu at 2.6ghz as well.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,058 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,122
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#9
This is a server board, server FB ram, and 2 server Xeons (obviously).

So its really quad channel? Cause if so im gonna feel like the biggest n00b ever.


The successor is the 5300 series of chipsets, supporting quad FB DDR2-800.

-edit- ^5400
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.74/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#10
I see. Well i spotted something horrible. 256bit memory interface but only a 64bit FSB. Thats like taking an interstate highway during rush hour and making it 2 lanes.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
1,073 (0.27/day)
Likes
52
Location
Chicago
System Name Blue by you
Processor Intel Core i5 4690K Devils Canyon
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97MX-G1 Gaming 5
Cooling Cooler Master D92 MX-4 4 Corsair 120mm Blue led case fans 2 intake 2 exhaust
Memory G.Skill Trident X DDR3 2666 2X8gb
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 Gaming Geforce GTX 970
Storage Sandisk Extreme Pro 240GB boot drive Samsung 950 Pro NVME 256gb Seagate 1TB platter
Display(s) Benq GW2765 2560X1440 27 inch
Case Corsair 88R Carbide SFF
Audio Device(s) nada
Power Supply Corsair HX 850i watt Professional
Software Windows 10
#11
It says it in CPU-Z. Its a Dell server system that he stuffed some SCSI Cheetahs in and an 8800GT. He set the world record for that cpu at 2.6ghz as well.
Sorry, didn't see it was a server board. Just focusing on the ram. Not quite sure about the quad channel thing. Cpuz must not support that board then.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,099 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,525
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#12
yeah its a server board with quad channel ram. the MHz and latencies are usually pretty poor for that kinda system however.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#13
Quad channel is only Dual channel *2. A G.Skill rep told me cause I asked abotu this on another fourm. Heres the link.

http://www.eggxpert.com/forums/thread/164031.aspx

actually it is dual channel *2, not real quad channel

with the quad channel pack, we test the four sticks at the same time to avoid incompatibility

because not every two sets of dual channel kit can run together without any problem, we announced this quad channel pack

If there is performance difference between dual channel and "quad channel,"
it should be caused by larger capacity, not "quad channel"

there is no such real quad channel now, they are still dual channel

the "quad channel" we call now is just four sticks which can run together
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,099 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,525
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#14
the Gskill guy wont be talking about FBdimms in a server environment... he'd be talking about 4x1 or 4x2GB packs of ram
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.74/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#15
That guys isnt talking about the same thing we are though.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#16
Your friend is running Quad Channel. Some server and workstation boards can also run Octochannel. You need the very expensive chipsets to do this. Memory bandwidth pwns a regular "consumer" mainboard. But FB-DIMMs are required: expensive and power hungry.

LOL@CrAsHnBuRnXp. The guy is refering to RAM kits, no capabilities of a mainboard.

Skulltrail is the nearest thing an "enthusiast" gets to specialist workstation performance: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_SkullTrail

Intel chipset 5400 allows for 800 clocked FBDIMMs. The older 5100 chipset only has 533 memory IIRC

http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=82&l3=644&l4=0&model=2090&modelmenu=1
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,099 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,525
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#17
thanks lemonade, well written post explaining the situation better than i did.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#18
It says it in CPU-Z. Its a Dell server system that he stuffed some SCSI Cheetahs in and an 8800GT. He set the world record for that cpu at 2.6ghz as well.
It's a crap CPU though. And considering the chipset won't go past ~390MHz 2.6GHz won't happen.

The successor is the 5300 series of chipsets, supporting quad FB DDR2-800.
There is no 5300 series. There is the 5400 Seaburg and the budget variation 5100. (uses reg DDR2 instead of FB)

That's a start. Now is there quad channel memory available yet?
Channels are a chipset feature, not a memory feature. As far as the memory is concerned you can run it in 100 channel configurations.

I see. Well i spotted something horrible. 256bit memory interface but only a 64bit FSB. Thats like taking an interstate highway during rush hour and making it 2 lanes.
Funny fact, the memory performs worse than dual channel DDR2. There are two FSB's, ie 2x 64bit. The memory is bottlenecking, not the FSB.

He's running 8 gig at ddr2-533. Where's the timings at under the cpuz memory tab? And the channels box is greyed out. So no, he's not in duel channel either. What board is he running?
Timings are pretty much set for FB-DIMM's, latency is mostly cause by the AMB though. It's usually in the 80-100 area, pretty poor.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#19
Your friend is running Quad Channel. Some server and workstation boards can also run Octochannel. You need the very expensive chipsets to do this. Memory bandwidth pwns a regular "consumer" mainboard. But FB-DIMMs are required: expensive and power hungry.
Care to give me a source for that? I've never heard of these boards. Also, I've never seen FB-DIMMs pwn anything, a source for that would be interesting as well.

Intel chipset 5400 allows for 800 clocked FBDIMMs. The older 5100 chipset only has 533 memory IIRC
The 5100 isn't older, it's Seaburgs budget brother, same generation.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,322 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,424
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#20
The older chipset is 5000 V/P/X.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#21
1./ FB-DIMMs "drink"!



2./ For Dan, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UltraSPARC_T2. 4 independent FB-DIMM dual channel controllers = octochannel

3./ I had understood that the slower 5100 chipset with max FSB 333 was older than 5400 FSB 400. But perhaps as Dan suggested, it is the same generation, just came out first, slower, and cheaper?

4./ FB-DIMM has a "rank" concept. Adding more memory to "ranks" of the same channel increases bandwidth. I think Dan would be able to explain the FB-DIMM technology better than me. But here's a link or two that explain, but infortunately, without real word benchmarking http://download.micron.com/pdf/techn...dr2/tn4721.pdf http://www.simmtester.com/PAGE/news/showpubnews.asp?where=533424&num=136

5./ Bandwidth on fully populated FB-DIMM server chipset pwns a regular dual channel DDR. Why? Quad channel vs. 2 channel, PLUS 2 rank vs. single, PLUS FB-DIMM allows SIMULTANEOUS read and write. Regular DDR cannot do this. Big gains when multitasking and/or tasking with mix read/write. But latencies on regular DDR are lower. Swings and roundabouts depending on purpose.

NOTE >> Most reviewers who have tested bandwidth of FB-DIMM make the FATAL FLAW of using only 2 sticks. For max speed you need 8 sticks (4 channels populated, 2 ranks each). Plus, to see the real benefit you need to compare read/wriet benchmarks not just simplistic read only or write only. If anyone has a benchie or wants to hunt one down on the net... please link.


PERSONAL BET >> I'm pretty sure a xeon on quad channel FB-DIMM (2 rank even better) completing a video encoding task, e.g. MPEG2 to DIVX, would STOMP a similar Conroe DDR2 setup same clocks.
 
Last edited:

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#22
1./ For Dan, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UltraSPARC_T2. 4 independent FB-DIMM dual channel controllers = octochannel
They are four separate controllers according to that text. I would imagine each two cores have their own controller, similar to how many servers have a memory interface per CPU. Look at high end Opteron boards for example. Those aren't quad/octo channel controllers, they simple have a controller per CPU.
The FB-DIMM specs allow six channels per controller, as far as I know there aren't any chipsets utilizing that though.
Anyway, I was assuming we were at least talking about x86 hardware, nobody has a modern Sparc at home.

2./ I had understood that the slower 5100 chipset with max FSB 333 was older than 5400 FSB 400. But perhaps as Dan suggested, it is the same generation, just slower, cheaper and lower power consumption, for blades?
Not per se for blades, though considering the 5100/5400 can waste quite some energy it might not be a bad plan to go for 5100 based blades.

3./ FB-DIMM has a "rank" concept. Adding more memory to "ranks" of the same channel increases bandwidth. I think Dan would be able to explain the FB-DIMM technology better than me. I've never seen it, but Dan's got a nice machine using it. He's the expert.
Most 1GB+ dimms are double rank modules in the first place. I've seen Wintec 4 rank modules as well. Look up some random post I made about ranks and quad channel with 6 modules. The ranks make this possible, same as dual channel with three modules.

4./ Bandwidth on fully populated FB-DIMM server chipset pwns a regular dual channel DDR. But latencies on regular DDR are lower. Swings and roundabouts depending on purpose.


NOTE >> Most reviewers who have tested bandwidth of FB-DIMM make the FATAL FLAW of using only 2 sticks. For max speed you need 4 sticks, ie. 4x 1GB >> 2x 2GB so that all channels are working. Even better to use 8 sticks so you have all channels are 2 ranks. If anyone has a benchie or wants to hunt one down on the net... please link.
Yes, it's a fatal flaw. However, I still haven't seen any impressive numbers coming from FB-DIMMs, perhaps it is better when using 8 modules per channel with 4 rank modules. But this will be quite expensive and use a lot of power.
Besides, my boards only have 6 DIMM slots (and just four on my server) so it's no option for me. I could eventually add two 4GB 4 rank modules though, that way I'd have 4 ranks per channel. (and 16GB of RAM, why would I want that?)
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#23
I agree, FB-DIMM is not a winner for any price/performance or power/performance ratio. But, on the simple question about which is faster, for a single threaded test, serial memory benchmark, regular DIMMs will win. But for multi-tasking mixed read/write, FB-DIMM wins.

> Games - DIMM
> Encoding, servers - FB-DIMM (but at a high price)

Academic study http://www.eng.umd.edu/~blj/papers/hpca2007.pdf

Decent, comparable, benchmarks of DDR2 vs. FB-DIMM, same processor family and clock, are IMPOSSIBLE to find :-(
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,322 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,424
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#24
Is this "oct-channel" ?

 
W

wolf2009

Guest
#25
^^ WOW , what motherboard is that ? I'm sure its for a server, but how would it perform in video encoding and games ?