1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Quad x8 PCI Express Lanes + x1 NIC?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by TIGR, Feb 19, 2010.

  1. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Motherboard: K9A2 Platinum. Running four video cards which means a quad x8 link. If I toss in a PCI Express x1 NIC, any idea what happens to my quad x8 link? Does it run x8/x8/x8/x4 +x1 NIC or what?

    Sorry if this is a real stupid question.

    I have a flexible PCI Express x1 extender, and would rather get a PCI Express x1 NIC over a PCI NIC for the extra bandwidth available, but if it's going to destroy one of the video cards' performance, I'll have to go PCI with a flexible PCI extender.
     
  2. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Logic would seem to tell you it would slow down the bus somewhere.....but the way motherboard designers screw around with the settings i really dont even know anymore
     
  3. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    That's where I'm at too. I'm also wondering whether the onboard NIC uses any of my precious PCI Express lanes. From some reading it appears some of the integrated ones do and some don't. Truth be told, I'm just confused at this point.
     
  4. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,488 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,395
    The quad x8 obviously comes from dual x16, as far as I know there are no chipsets that are limited to 32 lanes, there always are some extra for x1 slots and the likes.
     
    TIGR says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,899 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,178
    Location:
    Northern CA, USA
    Unless I am completely overlooking something, the 790FX chipset has 42 PCIe lanes: 32 are for the graphics (x8/x8/x8/x8), 6 for the other PCIe slots, and 4 to the SB. So adding a NIC in a 1x slot will be fine.
     
    TIGR says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Thanks guys, and right you are theonedub (about the 42 lanes).

    And after this, here I am looking at switching to a Foxconn Destroyer. *sigh* Sorry! :banghead:

    There's another one where I'm uncertain on the lanes. The Destroyer has dual gigabit networking, but I'm having a hard time finding out how all the traffic is routed, and whether those dual gigabit connections can actually give a gigabit connection each or total. First of all I'm just trying to nail down how many PCI Express lanes the Destroyer actually has—I saw 32 + 19 in one place.
     
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    34,216 (9.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,489
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Even otherwise don't switch to Foxconn Destroyer. Foxconn abandoned its CPU support updates.
     
    TIGR says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    You mean with the Destroyer, I wouldn't be able to utilize the newest CPUs? That wouldn't be a big deal. If I really wanted the latest and greatest I'd have to get a DDR3 native AM3 board.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)