• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Qubit’s Mini Data Centre Project for 2011

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Strix XG27UQR (4K, 144Hz, G-SYNC compatible) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
And by mini, I mean a full-on Active Directory implementation with Exchange Server, at home. Welcome to my project!

Why am I doing this? I work in IT support (desktop and Helpdesk) and our organization uses Active Directory. I got sent on a Windows 2003 server course a while ago that explained the basics of AD and I got interested in it, so I want to learn more. Therefore, what better way than to be your own enterprise admin at home? I’ve got various books on this now, see the full book list, below.

The Mission

To run Server 2008 Datacentre running these roles in an AD environment:

• Exchange Server 2010
  • WSUS (Windows Server Update Services)
  • Data backup, including backups of the server installation in case of failure
  • Learn about Active Directory, Group Policy and managing servers in general (this is geeky heaven, I tell you)
  • Implement roaming profiles: see identical desktop on all computers with minimal configuration plus profile backup
  • Eventually upgrade to Server 2008 R2 Datacentre
  • Implement anything else on the way that seems worthwhile