• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question about Bf3

Omnisome

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Location
England
System Name Ontos
Storage Samsung HD103SJ
Display(s) AOC 2236Swa (1920x1080@60Hz)
Case CiT 1008
Power Supply Antec HCG-520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
Do I need to use Windows 7 x64 to play it or will x86 do the trick?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.12/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#2
You can use Vista also if you want. No, 64 bit is not a must.
 

Omnisome

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Location
England
System Name Ontos
Storage Samsung HD103SJ
Display(s) AOC 2236Swa (1920x1080@60Hz)
Case CiT 1008
Power Supply Antec HCG-520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
Hell no I'm not going to use Vista. :D So x86 7 will work fine?
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.22/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#4
The OS isnt a big factor, Vista/win7 x86 or x64 is compatible.

Your issue is your hardware, do you meet the requirements? Video card, processor, ram, resolution - without telling us this we don't know if BF3 will run well.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,022 (0.97/day)
Likes
483
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#5
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
1,132 (0.30/day)
Likes
160
System Name Grandpa
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
Cooling water
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 5850 x2
Storage Samsung SM951
Display(s) Catleap 27"
Case coolermaster stacker
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse logitech g5 original
Keyboard Ducky
Software Windows 8.1
#6
Hell no I'm not going to use Vista. :D So x86 7 will work fine?
As far as most games are concerned, Vista and 7 are identical.

Are you going to use the AOC monitor in your specs? What type of video card are you intending to use? I ask these questions because video RAM may consume a lot of your CPU RAM with BF3 and you are probably better using Win 7 64 and a minimum of 4GB of RAM.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
127 (0.04/day)
Likes
54
Location
Northern California
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @ 5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus w/ 150CFM Delta FFB1212EH
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA Geforce GTX680 Superclocked in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256g
Display(s) Samsung S27A950D
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w
#7
Keep in mind that at this point there are a number of games that are beginning to push beyond the traditional 2gb RAM limit per process for 32-bit apps. There are only two solutions to this problem:

1. Make a 64-bit app/game. I think we will start to see these soon. a 64-bit process will be able to use basically as much ram as it wants.

2. Make the 32-bit app/game Large Address Aware. This circumvents the traditional 2gb limit per process for 32-bit processes and allows you to use up to 4GB per process under an x64 OS or 3GB per process under an x86 OS.

So with an x64 OS, you're good to go for 64-bit apps and can use up to 4GB per process when running 32-bit LAA enabled apps/games.

With an x86 OS you are out of luck for 64-bit apps and would be limited to 3GB per process when running 32-bit LAA enabled apps/games.