• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question about "find max core" with ATITool

Brawly

Processor Intel Pentium D 930 3.0Ghz 800Mhz FSB
Motherboard Abit AB9
Cooling Evercool WC-202 Water Cooling System
Memory Mushkin DDR2 2GB High Performance Ram
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL PCI-E 256Mb Card
Storage WD 80GB Raptor/Maxtor Diamondmax 10 80 & 120GB HDD's
Display(s) Hyundai ImageQuest L70B 17" LCD
Case Thermaltake Tai Chi
Audio Device(s) RealTek HD On-Board audio 7.1
Power Supply CoolerMaster 600W PSU
Software WindowsXP Pro Media Center Edition 2005
Hello everyone - Newbie here! I would like to overclock my ATI Radeon X800XL PCI-e graphic card. I have installed the atitool utility and after carefully reading the instructions for use on the tech Power Up site, decided to give it a go! This being my first time, and well aware that overclocking can damage components if not careful; I started the atitool utility and prompted it to automatically find max core. This is my concern: The atitool utility began to adjust the clock and displayed the cube graphic to detect artifacts, after roughly 5 to 6 min.s the slider had adjusted the speed to 490 and was continuing to adjust higher having found no artifacts! Default is 400 (I have included an attachment with the default setting for my card & where I quit find max core). Before I utilized the tool, I had google searched for information on overclock results for the X800XL card, and at most the average max core speed settled around 450! Needless to say I aborted the test in fear of damaging my card. Am I doing something wrong? Does this sound unusual to anyone? Possibly this is something inherent with the ATI Radeon X800XL? Any information to help me with this would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.:confused:

Attachments

• Atitool Default settings.png
    Atitool Default settings.png
    16.5 KB · Views: 659
  • Atitool OC.png