• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

question about multiple partitions/boot

Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
2,887 (0.77/day)
Likes
1,030
Location
On top of a mountain
System Name Shop Dog
Processor E8400
Motherboard Asus Blitz Formula SE
Cooling d-Tek FuZion
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 800 G Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA 7900 GTX
Storage 150GB VelociRaptor
Display(s) Acer 21.5 1080p LED Back Lit Monitor
Case Working on it
Audio Device(s) PCI SoundMax
Power Supply Silverstone 750 Modular
Software XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 11.56s 1M at 4050mhz
#1
I reckon I will find out soon enough but I was curious to know how many partitions you can set as primary regarding booting different OS/installations on a single drive.

Does anyone know about that?

The scenario is I want to mirror my current Dual Boot set up onto a TB drive that I plan to use externally (eSATA). I've got Vista Ultimate and XP Pro SP2 on two seperate drives on my SkullTrail..so basically I just pick the RAID0 array or the Seagate 7200.10 as boot device to control the dual boot. Vista also decided to add a boot option for me...gee thanks.

Soooo when I use Acronis to mirror the installation(s) I have not tried setting up two primary partions and putting both installation on a single drive yet. I never had a large enough drive lol...

What do you think? Will it blend?

And saying I pull that off what are the chances of adding a third Primary partion (I don't think it works like this....) and mirroring an installation of my Wife's rig onto the TB drive?

From what I know you only get 2 bootable partitions per drive...but maybe I'm confused.

Any clues?
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
1,192 (0.30/day)
Likes
128
Location
scotland
System Name spuds K8-X2
Processor amd athlon X2 4200+ toledo s939 2794mhz 254x11 1.4 vcore
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F v1.0 (MS-7125) nforce4 sata2 mod, laptop cpu heatpipe copper nb cooler
Cooling akasa evo "blue" + 90mm fan, 2x120mm front, 250mm side, 120mm rear, 120mm in psu, pci slot exhaust.
Memory OCZ Platinum XTC DDR PC3200 4GB(4x1024) @254mhz 3-3-3-8 2T
Video Card(s) sapphire HD3870 512mb GDDR4 vf900cu, several ramsinks on components / nvidia 7300gt 256mb secondary
Storage hitachi 160gb (slightly fried) / hitachi 120gb ATA / Seagate 160gb / 2x ps3 seagate 60gb
Display(s) CTX EX1300F 20" flat CRT, 1280x1024@100hz / 19" benq FP91G X / 19" hanns-g (all free)
Case mesh server/gaming black case, 9x 5.25' drive bays, silvestone auto fan controller
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek alc850 7.1/soundblaster LIVE! ct4780 + kxaudio - sony home theatre surround
Power Supply winpower 650w, system draws around 470-500w under load(+all screens)
Software win7 64bit
Benchmark Scores ~16m trips/sec using mty trip generator. triple monitor gaming using SoftTH. 3840x1024
#2
i think as long as the bootloader stuff with all the os selections is on the bootable partition you can have as many partitions as you like,
just add the os's to the main bootloader and it should be good to go, xp is easy to do(boot.ini), vista i havent looked into fully yet
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
2,887 (0.77/day)
Likes
1,030
Location
On top of a mountain
System Name Shop Dog
Processor E8400
Motherboard Asus Blitz Formula SE
Cooling d-Tek FuZion
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 800 G Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA 7900 GTX
Storage 150GB VelociRaptor
Display(s) Acer 21.5 1080p LED Back Lit Monitor
Case Working on it
Audio Device(s) PCI SoundMax
Power Supply Silverstone 750 Modular
Software XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 11.56s 1M at 4050mhz
#3
The thing about XP/Vista is normally you need to have XP installed then Vista...Vista creates a boot menu (somehow) and that's that.

But since I plan to use Acronis I sense that it might not work smoothly.

But I understand what you mean about one bootable partition and any number (almost) or logical partitions that could load an OS.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
1,192 (0.30/day)
Likes
128
Location
scotland
System Name spuds K8-X2
Processor amd athlon X2 4200+ toledo s939 2794mhz 254x11 1.4 vcore
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F v1.0 (MS-7125) nforce4 sata2 mod, laptop cpu heatpipe copper nb cooler
Cooling akasa evo "blue" + 90mm fan, 2x120mm front, 250mm side, 120mm rear, 120mm in psu, pci slot exhaust.
Memory OCZ Platinum XTC DDR PC3200 4GB(4x1024) @254mhz 3-3-3-8 2T
Video Card(s) sapphire HD3870 512mb GDDR4 vf900cu, several ramsinks on components / nvidia 7300gt 256mb secondary
Storage hitachi 160gb (slightly fried) / hitachi 120gb ATA / Seagate 160gb / 2x ps3 seagate 60gb
Display(s) CTX EX1300F 20" flat CRT, 1280x1024@100hz / 19" benq FP91G X / 19" hanns-g (all free)
Case mesh server/gaming black case, 9x 5.25' drive bays, silvestone auto fan controller
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek alc850 7.1/soundblaster LIVE! ct4780 + kxaudio - sony home theatre surround
Power Supply winpower 650w, system draws around 470-500w under load(+all screens)
Software win7 64bit
Benchmark Scores ~16m trips/sec using mty trip generator. triple monitor gaming using SoftTH. 3840x1024
#4
you can add options to vistas bootloader once you copy them across, but its a bit of a pain at first,
or could maybe have a partition to install vista to when all is copied across, then it should give a boot menu with all selections,
it seems when installing vista it puts its bootloader on first bootable drive/partition, then adds what os's it finds,
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
2,887 (0.77/day)
Likes
1,030
Location
On top of a mountain
System Name Shop Dog
Processor E8400
Motherboard Asus Blitz Formula SE
Cooling d-Tek FuZion
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 800 G Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA 7900 GTX
Storage 150GB VelociRaptor
Display(s) Acer 21.5 1080p LED Back Lit Monitor
Case Working on it
Audio Device(s) PCI SoundMax
Power Supply Silverstone 750 Modular
Software XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 11.56s 1M at 4050mhz
#5
That helps. It sounds like a pain but I guess if I create a primary partition and put my XP on it and then create another partition and mirror Vista on it There is no Guarantee that Vista will write a boot loader onto the first partition...since it's being cloned...not properly installed...and the clone of Vista (from a RAID0 array lol) likely has the Boot Loader on the RAID array...not the lone drive XP is installed on.

See that's why I am thinking it's not going to do what I want it to do...the cloned bootloader will look for the XP install...but not in the right place...

DO you think it will repair itself and locate and assign the XP installation?

And then ZOMG try and add a third OS?
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
1,192 (0.30/day)
Likes
128
Location
scotland
System Name spuds K8-X2
Processor amd athlon X2 4200+ toledo s939 2794mhz 254x11 1.4 vcore
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F v1.0 (MS-7125) nforce4 sata2 mod, laptop cpu heatpipe copper nb cooler
Cooling akasa evo "blue" + 90mm fan, 2x120mm front, 250mm side, 120mm rear, 120mm in psu, pci slot exhaust.
Memory OCZ Platinum XTC DDR PC3200 4GB(4x1024) @254mhz 3-3-3-8 2T
Video Card(s) sapphire HD3870 512mb GDDR4 vf900cu, several ramsinks on components / nvidia 7300gt 256mb secondary
Storage hitachi 160gb (slightly fried) / hitachi 120gb ATA / Seagate 160gb / 2x ps3 seagate 60gb
Display(s) CTX EX1300F 20" flat CRT, 1280x1024@100hz / 19" benq FP91G X / 19" hanns-g (all free)
Case mesh server/gaming black case, 9x 5.25' drive bays, silvestone auto fan controller
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek alc850 7.1/soundblaster LIVE! ct4780 + kxaudio - sony home theatre surround
Power Supply winpower 650w, system draws around 470-500w under load(+all screens)
Software win7 64bit
Benchmark Scores ~16m trips/sec using mty trip generator. triple monitor gaming using SoftTH. 3840x1024
#6
you could try the startup repair on vista install disk, might work,
if not id have a fourth partition and try install vista to that for its bootloader, can delete partition afterwards but bootloader remains on first
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
2,887 (0.77/day)
Likes
1,030
Location
On top of a mountain
System Name Shop Dog
Processor E8400
Motherboard Asus Blitz Formula SE
Cooling d-Tek FuZion
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 800 G Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA 7900 GTX
Storage 150GB VelociRaptor
Display(s) Acer 21.5 1080p LED Back Lit Monitor
Case Working on it
Audio Device(s) PCI SoundMax
Power Supply Silverstone 750 Modular
Software XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 11.56s 1M at 4050mhz
#7
Thanks for the ideas.