• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question about pairing different sticks.

Joined
Sep 17, 2013
Messages
487 (0.23/day)
System Name The Bad Budget Bomber
Processor i5-2500K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 ATX Socket 1155
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 8GB of A-DATA Gaming Series DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 1TB Toshiba 7200RPM SATA
Display(s) 24 '' Television 1366x768
Case Zalman Z3 ATX Mid Tower
Power Supply EVGA 600B 80+ Bronze
Hello,

I am looking at possibly upgrading from 8gb to 16gb. I have a few questions though. I currently have ADATA Gaming Series 2x2GB sticks of 1333mhz DDR3 in there now I believe. Being on a very tight budget, I was hoping to maybe find another cheap 2x2GB kit in order to make that upgrade rather than spending more on another way of doing this. First question being is that okay, if I match the 1333Mhz and make sure I can match timings as well if need be? Also, I mostly play a lot of esports titles (Overwatch, Apex, Fortnite, etc) and I often have Discord and such open as well. I am wondering if this upgrade will see me a noticable performance. Particulary in things like the speed of rendering textues, maybe help microstuttering? Things of that nature. My system specs are on the right. I dont really have any set budget, I just want to see how cheaply I may could do it.

Thanks for anyone who reads and/or responds.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
11,032 (2.29/day)
If 4 x 4 is the best way for you, go for it, it should be fine. iirc the bios will run all sticks at the speed of the slowest stick, so if you had say 3 at 1066 and one at 133 they would all run at 1066, but you can set them to run at 1333 anyway.

Also i think you mean you have 2x4 for 8gb not 2x2 for 4gb :)
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2013
Messages
487 (0.23/day)
System Name The Bad Budget Bomber
Processor i5-2500K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 ATX Socket 1155
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 8GB of A-DATA Gaming Series DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 1TB Toshiba 7200RPM SATA
Display(s) 24 '' Television 1366x768
Case Zalman Z3 ATX Mid Tower
Power Supply EVGA 600B 80+ Bronze
If 4 x 4 is the best way for you, go for it, it should be fine. iirc the bios will run all sticks at the speed of the slowest stick, so if you had say 3 at 1066 and one at 133 they would all run at 1066, but you can set them to run at 1333 anyway.
Okay thank you. So I can pair some cheap Ebay memory sticks in and I should be okay as long as its DDR3? Also, if I have two sticks as dual channel.. would adding say just a 3rd stick cause any problems?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
2,929 (0.55/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVII
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 500GB Crucial MX200, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/h01zlr
Okay thank you. So I can pair some cheap Ebay memory sticks in and I should be okay as long as its DDR3?
Looks ok, just note that they seem to sell mixed brands, so you get what you get... They're all brand name memory though by the looks of it.
Using four modules with your system at that speed should be fine as well.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2013
Messages
487 (0.23/day)
System Name The Bad Budget Bomber
Processor i5-2500K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 ATX Socket 1155
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 8GB of A-DATA Gaming Series DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 1TB Toshiba 7200RPM SATA
Display(s) 24 '' Television 1366x768
Case Zalman Z3 ATX Mid Tower
Power Supply EVGA 600B 80+ Bronze
Looks ok, Kingston isn't half bad.
If you really are running 2x 2gb, that is 4gb total. So for 16 you will need to buy 4x4gb sticks. Another 2 x 2gb stick will only give you 8gb total, not 16gb
Sorry yeah that was acutally a 4GB set. But I guess it gave me the right idea. I edited the original post. I just misread the title on the ebay post. Just making sure these cheaper end sticks are okay.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,163 (5.31/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
You don't want anything labeled ECC, that will not work in your system.

Also, mismatched RAM is fine, the new RAM can even be rated for faster. Like you can get 1600MHz DDR3. The system should be smart enough to just run the faster RAM at the slower speed to match the older slower stuff already in your system.

As for if it will help, well maybe or maybe not. The real question is, are you currently running out of system memory? I'd leave MSI Afterburner open, monitoring the System RAM, and it should tell you the max used when you are gaming. If it doesn't go over the 8GB mark, then more RAM won't help you. What might help you more with texture loading and microstutter is an SSD instead.

Edit: I just saw the edit about really having 4GB of RAM. If that is the case, then I would definitely upgrade the RAM to at least 8GB, as well as looking into an SSD.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
483 (0.51/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor E5645 (4,1Ghz) 6c/12t
Motherboard P6X58D Premium
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 30Gb DDR3 Kingston 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 8gb/Red-Devil/
Storage 2 ssd/Samsung 128Gb/Kingston 240Gb + HDD 500Gb
Display(s) 1x Acer 1080P Ips 2x Eizo(Triple Monitor Setup)
Case Lian Lee
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse SteelSeries Kana V2
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike 12501 Score(Graphics 15643,Physics 14182),Cinebench 963
You should be fine as long as you match timings and speed.....saying this there are some mobos that just refuse to read certain ram modules but also there are others that works perfectly fine with mixed different size and speeds....GL
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2013
Messages
487 (0.23/day)
System Name The Bad Budget Bomber
Processor i5-2500K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 ATX Socket 1155
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 8GB of A-DATA Gaming Series DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 1TB Toshiba 7200RPM SATA
Display(s) 24 '' Television 1366x768
Case Zalman Z3 ATX Mid Tower
Power Supply EVGA 600B 80+ Bronze
You don't want anything labeled ECC, that will not work in your system.

Also, mismatched RAM is fine, the new RAM can even be rated for faster. Like you can get 1600MHz DDR3. The system should be smart enough to just run the faster RAM at the slower speed to match the older slower stuff already in your system.

As for if it will help, well maybe or maybe not. The real question is, are you currently running out of system memory? I'd leave MSI Afterburner open, monitoring the System RAM, and it should tell you the max used when you are gaming. If it doesn't go over the 8GB mark, then more RAM won't help you. What might help you more with texture loading and microstutter is an SSD instead.

Edit: I just saw the edit about really having 4GB of RAM. If that is the case, then I would definitely upgrade the RAM to at least 8GB, as well as looking into an SSD.
@tigger @newtekie1

Thanks for the responses. Apologies for all the confusion. I have 8GB in my system, the issue was I linked a 2x2GB set that I thought was 2x4GB when asking ''is this set okay?''. Thats an interesting point about the SSD. What could I expect to get one for on the cheaper end? Would I need space for my Windows as well as my main games to get the most out of the performance in game?
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
11,032 (2.29/day)
You should be fine as long as you match timings and speed.....saying this there are some mobos that just refuse to read certain ram modules but also there are others that works perfectly fine with mixed different size and speeds....GL
Most will just match all ram to the slowest speed, and match timings.

Thanks for the response. Apologies for all the confusion. I have 8GB in my system, the issue was I linked a 2x2GB set that I thought was 2x4GB when asking ''is this set okay?''. Thats an interesting point about the SSD. What could I expect to get one for on the cheaper end? Would I need space for my Windows as well as my main games to get the most out of the performance in game?
SSD's can be had for pennies now, Get a 128/256 for windows. you will notice the difference. You can install, your main game on the SSD alonside windows i would imagine.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2013
Messages
487 (0.23/day)
System Name The Bad Budget Bomber
Processor i5-2500K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 ATX Socket 1155
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 8GB of A-DATA Gaming Series DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 1TB Toshiba 7200RPM SATA
Display(s) 24 '' Television 1366x768
Case Zalman Z3 ATX Mid Tower
Power Supply EVGA 600B 80+ Bronze
Most will just match all ram to the slowest speed, and match timings.



SSD's can be had for pennies now, Get a 128/256 for windows. you will notice the difference.
Notice the difference in in game performance from just having windows on an SSD? Also with a 128 I should be able to fit Windows as well as my main games. Or at least my main few titles.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
11,032 (2.29/day)
Notice the difference in in game performance from just having windows on an SSD? Also with a 128 I should be able to fit Windows as well as my main games. Or at least my main few titles.
It depends, how much room the games need, but in theory, yes. If you get one, and post here, i am sure we can help you transfer windows to the ssd without having to reinstall too.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2013
Messages
487 (0.23/day)
System Name The Bad Budget Bomber
Processor i5-2500K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 ATX Socket 1155
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 8GB of A-DATA Gaming Series DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 1TB Toshiba 7200RPM SATA
Display(s) 24 '' Television 1366x768
Case Zalman Z3 ATX Mid Tower
Power Supply EVGA 600B 80+ Bronze
It depends, how much room the games need, but in theory, yes. If you get one, and post here, i am sure we can help you transfer windows to the ssd without having to reinstall too.
Wonderful. And again you were saying yes to me asking if I will see noticable in game performance for just having Windows on the SSD? Would I see much more in game performance from having them on the SSD as well or is that a more negligible gain?

@newtekie1 Would love to hear your ideas.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
2,929 (0.55/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVII
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 500GB Crucial MX200, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/h01zlr
If you intend to invest in an SSD, don't get the bottom of the barrel stuff, they are shite.
Go for something like a WD Blue at the very minimum as an example, whereas their Green drives are garbage.
Having Windows on an SSD, but not your games, won't help much with the game performance.
I would not get a smaller SSD than 240GB today, as the 3D TLC NAND flash used is going to be really slow in a smaller drive.
Ideally, get a 500GB or larger drive, but obviously that's not going to fit your budget.
Also note that you shouldn't fill SSDs to more than 70-80%, as they slow down to a crawl if you do that.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2013
Messages
487 (0.23/day)
System Name The Bad Budget Bomber
Processor i5-2500K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 ATX Socket 1155
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 8GB of A-DATA Gaming Series DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 1TB Toshiba 7200RPM SATA
Display(s) 24 '' Television 1366x768
Case Zalman Z3 ATX Mid Tower
Power Supply EVGA 600B 80+ Bronze
If you intend to invest in an SSD, don't get the bottom of the barrel stuff, they are shite.
Go for something like a WD Blue at the very minimum as an example, whereas their Green drives are garbage.
Having Windows on an SSD, but not your games, won't help much with the game performance.
I would not get a smaller SSD than 240GB today, as the 3D TLC NAND flash used is going to be really slow in a smaller drive.
Ideally, get a 500GB or larger drive, but obviously that's not going to fit your budget.
Also note that you shouldn't fill SSDs to more than 70-80%, as they slow down to a crawl if you do that.
I dont think im wanting to spend that amount within the near future. I was looking at the 120GB or so Kingston a400s I saw for cheap. Maybe ill just look into the ram for now. Id love to hear some other opinions though.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
483 (0.51/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor E5645 (4,1Ghz) 6c/12t
Motherboard P6X58D Premium
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 30Gb DDR3 Kingston 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 8gb/Red-Devil/
Storage 2 ssd/Samsung 128Gb/Kingston 240Gb + HDD 500Gb
Display(s) 1x Acer 1080P Ips 2x Eizo(Triple Monitor Setup)
Case Lian Lee
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse SteelSeries Kana V2
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike 12501 Score(Graphics 15643,Physics 14182),Cinebench 963
I dont think im wanting to spend that amount within the near future. I was looking at the 120GB or so Kingston a400s I saw for cheap. Maybe ill just look into the ram for now. Id love to hear some other opinions though.
SSD is crucial to have system on it and maybe some games installed,Also anything bellow 8gb of RAM today is not recommended.....So If you ask me get some SSD and at least 8gb for now thats better then no SSD and 16Gb of RAM.....GL
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
1,912 (1.25/day)
Location
Long Island
1. It's a crapshoot. The **ONLY** time you have a guaranteed that RAM from two different packages will work togther is when they come in a single package. Of course you can "take a shot" but sucess depends on:

a) Are the same speed ?
b) Do they have the same timings ?
c) Do they have the same OEM RAM modules.

2. The likelihood of them working together decreases the higher the speed and the lower the timings.

3. If timing are different, always change the one with the lower timings to match the higher.

4. Raising RAM voltage is expected with 4 vs 2 sticks

5. You can have an exact match of two separate pairs, same brand same mpdel number but they still might not work. case in point. Corsair vengeance Pro DDR-2400 CAS 10. In the early days of a new RAM type, vendors will buy higher priced modules from OEM.... w/ this model the modules were puchased from Hynix up theru version 4.51 ... after they used a less expensive supplier. Mixing 2 sticks of the Corsair VPs DDR3-10-12-12-28 before ver 4.51 w/ the later versions (10-12-12-31) did not work even with all 4 sticks set to 10-12-12-31 aven at higher voltages. Mushkin however also made DDR3-2400 w/ 10-12-12-28 but they didn't move to the cheaper supplier. The Muskin sticks worked fine w/ the old Corsairs right out of the package.

6. Best thing to do would be to sell the old and invest in a new set of 2 x 8 GBto reach desired total. That being said, as 1333 is almost the lowest speed you can commonly get, your chances are better because few sticks will fail at this low speed. But if it doesn't work, you have no guarantee so will have to try and sweet talk them into taking the new pair back.

7. No, an SSD is not going to help you with the noted GFX issues you are experiuencing. It does affect loading times. When you install and SSD and run benchmarks, you can't he;p but be impressed. When you look at game loading times, staring at the screen, again in some games you will easily notice and some games you won't. However, that being said, we build boxes with at least one SSD and one SSHD, two of each as often as not. The SSHDs have a mirror of the SSDs OS ... when you go into the BIOS and switch Boot drive so that they are booting and playing off the SSHD .... so far we've tried it w/ 10 users no one yet has noticed up the switch.

I'd certainly put an SSD on your wish list but not before making other upgrades which would have a far greater impact on your gaming experience.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2013
Messages
487 (0.23/day)
System Name The Bad Budget Bomber
Processor i5-2500K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 ATX Socket 1155
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 8GB of A-DATA Gaming Series DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 1TB Toshiba 7200RPM SATA
Display(s) 24 '' Television 1366x768
Case Zalman Z3 ATX Mid Tower
Power Supply EVGA 600B 80+ Bronze
1. It's a crapshoot. The **ONLY** time you have a guaranteed that RAM from two different packages will work togther is when they come in a single package. Of course you can "take a shot" but sucess depends on:

a) Are the same speed ?
b) Do they have the same timings ?
c) Do they have the same OEM RAM modules.

2. The likelihood of them working together decreases the higher the speed and the lower the timings.

3. If timing are different, always change the one with the lower timings to match the higher.

4. Raising RAM voltage is expected with 4 vs 2 sticks

5. You can have an exact match of two separate pairs, same brand same mpdel number but they still might not work. case in point. Corsair vengeance Pro DDR-2400 CAS 10. In the early days of a new RAM type, vendors will buy higher priced modules from OEM.... w/ this model the modules were puchased from Hynix up theru version 4.51 ... after they used a less expensive supplier. Mixing 2 sticks of the Corsair VPs DDR3-10-12-12-28 before ver 4.51 w/ the later versions (10-12-12-31) did not work even with all 4 sticks set to 10-12-12-31 aven at higher voltages. Mushkin however also made DDR3-2400 w/ 10-12-12-28 but they didn't move to the cheaper supplier. The Muskin sticks worked fine w/ the old Corsairs right out of the package.

6. Best thing to do would be to sell the old and invest in a new set of 2 x 8 GBto reach desired total. That being said, as 1333 is almost the lowest speed you can commonly get, your chances are better because few sticks will fail at this low speed. But if it doesn't work, you have no guarantee so will have to try and sweet talk them into taking the new pair back.

7. No, an SSD is not going to help you with the noted GFX issues you are experiuencing. It does affect loading times. When you install and SSD and run benchmarks, you can't he;p but be impressed. When you look at game loading times, staring at the screen, again in some games you will easily notice and some games you won't. However, that being said, we build boxes with at least one SSD and one SSHD, two of each as often as not. The SSHDs have a mirror of the SSDs OS ... when you go into the BIOS and switch Boot drive so that they are booting and playing off the SSHD .... so far we've tried it w/ 10 users no one yet has noticed up the switch.

I'd certainly put an SSD on your wish list but not before making other upgrades which would have a far greater impact on your gaming experience.
Thank you. What upgrades are you talking about? I'm sure there is plenty for me to upgrade, but simply I was just trying to figure if with how tight things are right now, if I had the ability to maybe make some upgrades to my PC without spending much. If its not possible, I can accept what I have, but its mostly curiosity.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,163 (5.31/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Wonderful. And again you were saying yes to me asking if I will see noticable in game performance for just having Windows on the SSD? Would I see much more in game performance from having them on the SSD as well or is that a more negligible gain?

@newtekie1 Would love to hear your ideas.
Having just Windows on the SSD can help, especially with microstutters as the game tries to load new textures. When Windows and the game are both on the same HDD, the game loading has to compete with anything else Windows might be doing in the background. If Windows and the game try to access the drive at the same time, stuttering can happen because of that.

But this is also going to be the case if your are filling up RAM and the game is being forced onto the page file. This is why, before you do anything, I'd actually check memory usage during gaming. If you are hitting 8GB, or getting close, then do the memory upgrade. If you aren't getting close to 8GB, then do the SSD upgrade.

I actually have Windows on an SSD, and all my games loaded on a 3TB hard drive. But I also have another SSD working as a cache for that hard drive.

Also note that you shouldn't fill SSDs to more than 70-80%, as they slow down to a crawl if you do that.
That only really affects write speeds, not really the read speeds of the drive. So if the primary purpose is games, it really is a major issue.
 
Top