• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question about psu rails

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
290 (1.44/day)
Likes
170
Location
Canada
System Name P7-1019
Processor Pentium G620 DualCore 2.6ghz LGA1155
Motherboard Pegatron "Carmel" IPISB-CU
Cooling Stock
Memory Samsung 4gb PC3-10600U + Hynix 2gb PC3-8500U
Video Card(s) Zotac GT630 2gb 128bits Synergy Edition
Storage Hitachi 1TB HDS721010CLA632
Display(s) Compaq WF 1907 @ 1440x900
Case HP Pavilion P7
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Mouse HP MSU0923
Keyboard Acer KU-0760
Software Windows 7 HomePremium 64bits
#1
On a psu when there is 2 rails of 12v which one is the v1 and the v2? Is it always cpu=v1 and molex/sata=v2?? Can it be reversed sometimes? Im asking for a sound system project. Thank you
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,947 (3.24/day)
Likes
8,083
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro,
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550 RBG
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit // Windows 10 Pro 64bit with Kodi
#2
It all depends on the manufacture. There are expensive multi rail systems, +12V virtual rails and there are cheap systems that are actually one rail split into two. There is no answer to that question until you look at a particular unit
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
290 (1.44/day)
Likes
170
Location
Canada
System Name P7-1019
Processor Pentium G620 DualCore 2.6ghz LGA1155
Motherboard Pegatron "Carmel" IPISB-CU
Cooling Stock
Memory Samsung 4gb PC3-10600U + Hynix 2gb PC3-8500U
Video Card(s) Zotac GT630 2gb 128bits Synergy Edition
Storage Hitachi 1TB HDS721010CLA632
Display(s) Compaq WF 1907 @ 1440x900
Case HP Pavilion P7
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Mouse HP MSU0923
Keyboard Acer KU-0760
Software Windows 7 HomePremium 64bits
#3
It all depends on the manufacture. There are expensive multi rail systems, +12V virtual rails and there are cheap systems that are actually one rail split into two. There is no answer to that question until you look at a particular unit
It's a cheap @$$ one branded @-power with no sata and for AMD-P4 back in time.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,857 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,384 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,376
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1660 Xeon @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q, 23" VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 18.10
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
#5

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,857 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
14,024 (4.13/day)
Likes
8,169
#7
It's a cheap @$$ one branded @-power with no sata and for AMD-P4 back in time.
without knowing exactly, I'd have to guess that it isnt a true dual rail being a cheap off brand unit.

Whatever you are doing, I hope the hardware is replaceable... running a cheap psu like that on anything is a risk...especially something that old.


how did you get thermal take from @Power?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,384 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,376
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1660 Xeon @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q, 23" VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 18.10
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
#8
Not really sure how I got that! Just know that dual rail psus tend to be cheap... avoid them.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
290 (1.44/day)
Likes
170
Location
Canada
System Name P7-1019
Processor Pentium G620 DualCore 2.6ghz LGA1155
Motherboard Pegatron "Carmel" IPISB-CU
Cooling Stock
Memory Samsung 4gb PC3-10600U + Hynix 2gb PC3-8500U
Video Card(s) Zotac GT630 2gb 128bits Synergy Edition
Storage Hitachi 1TB HDS721010CLA632
Display(s) Compaq WF 1907 @ 1440x900
Case HP Pavilion P7
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Mouse HP MSU0923
Keyboard Acer KU-0760
Software Windows 7 HomePremium 64bits
#9
No why should it be that one? I said it's branded @-power.

Really educative. Thx

Hmm

Take pictures of the label on this psu in question
This one has only one rail of course but after I really tested the setup I wanted to install a 2 rails for safety and power reason thats why I was asking about dual rails.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,947 (3.24/day)
Likes
8,083
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro,
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550 RBG
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit // Windows 10 Pro 64bit with Kodi
#10
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,033 (0.90/day)
Likes
1,135
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1375/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD, 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black, 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W 80+ Silver
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1809)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#11
No why should it be that one? I said it's branded @-power.


Really educative. Thx

This one has only one rail of course but after I really tested the setup I wanted to install a 2 rails for safety and power reason thats why I was asking about dual rails.

There's nothing safer about having two rails over one
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
290 (1.44/day)
Likes
170
Location
Canada
System Name P7-1019
Processor Pentium G620 DualCore 2.6ghz LGA1155
Motherboard Pegatron "Carmel" IPISB-CU
Cooling Stock
Memory Samsung 4gb PC3-10600U + Hynix 2gb PC3-8500U
Video Card(s) Zotac GT630 2gb 128bits Synergy Edition
Storage Hitachi 1TB HDS721010CLA632
Display(s) Compaq WF 1907 @ 1440x900
Case HP Pavilion P7
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Mouse HP MSU0923
Keyboard Acer KU-0760
Software Windows 7 HomePremium 64bits
#12
There's nothing safer about having two rails over one
I was thinking that way because I tought i could plug car radio on one rail and amplifier on other rail.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
14,024 (4.13/day)
Likes
8,169
#13
Not really sure how I got that! Just know that dual rail psus tend to be cheap... avoid them.
That isnt true either...

And just because a psu says its multi rail, doesnt mean it's a true multi rail psu either (meaning a rail can output well more than its rated for or the whole power. It really depends on the psu.

There's nothing safer about having two rails over one
there sure can be.......



Heres a good read from from 11 years ago that can help....https://www.overclockers.com/forums...-Single-Rail-vs-Multiliple-Rail-Answer-inside!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
78 (0.36/day)
Likes
71
Processor i7 3770K @ 4600MHz 1.3v
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 Power/TY-143 2x38x120 Panaflo, 1x120x38 DC Centaur, TY-147A,FD140,FD120
Memory 4x2GB G.Skill TridentX+Perfect Storm @ 1100MHz 9-11-9-29 1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX 980 Classified 3988-KR
Storage Crucial M4 256GB/WD Black 1TB, 3x Misc Spinners
Display(s) 22" Samsung, 50" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C TG White, No Foam, No Filter
Audio Device(s) NAD T748, Mission M Series, Monitor Audio FB-210, MIT Cables, Monster HDP-1800
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M850
Mouse Zowie EC2 eVo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#14
Man that thing is ancient. I wouldn't use it on a modern system.. That psu is from an era where 3.3v and 5v were the focus. The 12v rail only has 17a, and there is only one..
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
14,024 (4.13/day)
Likes
8,169
#15
Man that thing is ancient. I wouldn't use it on a modern system.. That psu is from an era where 3.3v and 5v were the focus. The 12v rail only has 17a, and there is only one..
One rail doesn't mean a thing here FA. :)

Youve been around OCF long enough to see that link above! :)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,857 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#17
I was thinking that way because I tought i could plug car radio on one rail and amplifier on other rail.
Id be scared of over drawing on it
 

lsevald

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
10 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
System Name 24/7 setup
Processor Intel I7 4770@4.4GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87 Pro
Cooling Dual custom wc (gpu, cpu seperate loops)
Memory 2x8Gb Corsair 2133 9-9-11-1T DDR3
Video Card(s) Palit Jetstream 1080ti (2012/1476, 350W powerlimit, 1.093Vgpu)
Storage Samsung SSD 840Pro 256GB, Samsung SSD 860Evo 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 27" LED C27JG50
Case Lian Li PC343B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G Pro
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10
#18
There's nothing safer about having two rails over one
Isn't the max current divided by 2? Just thinking in case of a short circuit, it will be safer? (less energy involved)

EDIT: I just came across this article. That's a lot of energy!

OT: I bought a used Corsair RM1000i, and I believe it has a switch for selecting multi/single rail operation. I also think multi rail is the default setting, any reason I should switch to single? (safety not considered)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
14,024 (4.13/day)
Likes
8,169
#19
Depends on the power needs of your components. If you don't have enough power on a single rail to drive what is attached, that can cause issues (and part of the reason single rail monsters were popular 10 years ago and still now - there are no worries about the rails).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
290 (1.44/day)
Likes
170
Location
Canada
System Name P7-1019
Processor Pentium G620 DualCore 2.6ghz LGA1155
Motherboard Pegatron "Carmel" IPISB-CU
Cooling Stock
Memory Samsung 4gb PC3-10600U + Hynix 2gb PC3-8500U
Video Card(s) Zotac GT630 2gb 128bits Synergy Edition
Storage Hitachi 1TB HDS721010CLA632
Display(s) Compaq WF 1907 @ 1440x900
Case HP Pavilion P7
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Mouse HP MSU0923
Keyboard Acer KU-0760
Software Windows 7 HomePremium 64bits
#20
Man that thing is ancient. I wouldn't use it on a modern system.. That psu is from an era where 3.3v and 5v were the focus. The 12v rail only has 17a, and there is only one..
You should have read thr whole thread. It wont be used in a computer.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
933 (0.32/day)
Likes
673
Location
US of A
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i5-8600k @ 4.7ghz -
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua U12s
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti OC 6G
Storage Crucial MX500, Samsung 850 Evo , Crucial P1 NVMe
Display(s) Dell - SE2717HR 27" IPS LED FHD FreeSync Monitor
Case Phanteks P400S
Audio Device(s) Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
#22
Not really sure how I got that! Just know that dual rail psus tend to be cheap... avoid them.
actually then you don't know much about PSU

Real multi rail PSU are expensive with virtually all of them 1000w or more. What most people mean when they state a multi rail PSU under 1000w is a single rail PSU with the 12v split into two, three, or four. Regardless, the split matters little in the actual performance of the PSU as platform, internal parts, and build quality are far more important to PSU performance.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
1,762 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,007
Location
Long Island
#23
There's a great article on jonnyguru forum about this topic that concludes:

"The bottom line is, for 99% of the folks out there single vs. multiple +12V rails is a NON ISSUE. It's something that has been hyped up by marketing folks on BOTH SIDES of the fence. Too often we see mis-prioritized requests for PSU advice: Asking "what single +12V rail PSU should I get" when the person isn't even running SLI! Unless you're running a plethora of Peltiers in your machine, it should be a non-issue assuming that the PSU has all of the connectors your machine requires and there are no need for "splitters" "

http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3990

In other words, cross it off your list of concerns.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
290 (1.44/day)
Likes
170
Location
Canada
System Name P7-1019
Processor Pentium G620 DualCore 2.6ghz LGA1155
Motherboard Pegatron "Carmel" IPISB-CU
Cooling Stock
Memory Samsung 4gb PC3-10600U + Hynix 2gb PC3-8500U
Video Card(s) Zotac GT630 2gb 128bits Synergy Edition
Storage Hitachi 1TB HDS721010CLA632
Display(s) Compaq WF 1907 @ 1440x900
Case HP Pavilion P7
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Mouse HP MSU0923
Keyboard Acer KU-0760
Software Windows 7 HomePremium 64bits
#25
This thread went crazier than expected for a psu that I will cut wires. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top