• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Question about temperatures and stability

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
#1
Hi all,
I've been having lots of terouble trying to find accurate CPU temperatures for my Q6600 g0

Latest beta of speedfan reports all sorts of strange numbers from -50C up to about 100C
Coretemp refuses to run on Vista 64

I also have Asus PC Probe II software, which I have heard is unreliable. However, that shows idle temps as about 50C, rising up past 80C under load. It simply says "CPU temp" and not specifically if that is core temperatures or not.

Either way, my question is - my computer is totally prime stable at 3.0Ghz, but Asus PC probe shows the temps going over 90C. Is this possible?

If the temp was actually 90C, surely the machine would be crashing or failing the test? I have run Prime (multicore version) on small FFTs, maximum heat generation, for >8hrs with NO problems.

Should I just ignore the temps and go by stability instead?
 

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
#2
Anybody?

Go by temps, which may not be reliable?

Or go by stability, and assume that if it is stable, it is ok?
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.03/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#3
TJunction on the Q6600 is 100c, so it may not crash or become unstable, but it's dangerously close to crashing, and burning up your processor. What does ASUS probe read for the idle temp? That may help to decide if probe is anywhere close to accurate. Also, you may want to try the free version of everest.
 

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
#4
TJunction on the Q6600 is 100c, so it may not crash or become unstable, but it's dangerously close to crashing, and burning up your processor. What does ASUS probe read for the idle temp? That may help to decide if probe is anywhere close to accurate. Also, you may want to try the free version of everest.
Asus Probe II puts idle as around 50C. That seems way too hot for me. The heaksink is barely warm to the touch.

Like I said, it says "CPU" - not specifying if it is Tjunction or core temperature
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#5
i can recommend you a program since all are they inaccurate a lot...take a classic thermometer or a laser one to check the reall temps..you are on stock cooling? and if a couple ofprograms tells you 90 then it maybe is 90
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.95/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#6
Did you try Everest?
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.03/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#7
Anybody?

Go by temps, which may not be reliable?

Or go by stability, and assume that if it is stable, it is ok?
These chips are pretty good at performing under high stress, so I wouldn't count on stability without knowing temps.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,789 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,777
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#8
Are you confident the installation of your heatsink is all good? That is quite high, both the idle and load temps. What's your CPU voltage, load and idle?
 

3991vhtes

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
2,785 (0.72/day)
Likes
107
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS A8V-VM SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB DDR400
Video Card(s) DiamondViper Radeon X1650PRO 512MB PCI-e
Storage Seagate 250GB SATA
Display(s) Acer AL2002W 20" LCD Widescreen
Case cheap
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster
Power Supply 500 watt
Software Vista Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 4.1 Vista index
#9
IMO, PC Probe is the most reliable way of checking temps. My CPU idle is 18*C, and that's what BIOS tells me, and PC Probe, but speedfan says 40*C WTF?
 

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
#10
My cooling is:
Thermaltake Blue Orb II on the CPU - fitting looks okay, but I guess I could always refit it

I also have 4 case fans:
120mm at the front (air in)
120mm side (air in)
120mm at the back (air out)
80mm at the top (air out)

My 8800gts also has an exhaust fan on it to push hot air out of the back

My room temperature is probably around 22C.

CPU voltage = 1.34v

Maybe a laser thermometer is a good idea. Where do I measure though? The heatsink is barely warm to the touch.
 

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
#11
One other thing which makes me doubt the Probe temperature is that under load the temp rises VERY quickly. It goes from ~40 to ~80 in almost a second.

But when I end the load, it drops back to ~40 in only a few seconds.

Does that seem right? To me it would seem like the CPU should take more than 1-2 seconds to cool down from 80C to 40C
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#12
take the side panel off your case and touch the base of the heatsink. If it is indeed 50c (122F) it will be rather warm to the touch but not burn you. If it gets up to 80c (176F) or 100c (212F) you will get burned.

From what I have read the blue orb isn't a very good cooler for the quads. Check the temps and report back to us.
 

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
#13
take the side panel off your case and touch the base of the heatsink. If it is indeed 50c (122F) it will be rather warm to the touch but not burn you. If it gets up to 80c (176F) or 100c (212F) you will get burned.

From what I have read the blue orb isn't a very good cooler for the quads. Check the temps and report back to us.
Right, I've had a go. It's quite hard to get at the bottom of the heatsink because it is very wide and the awkward orb shape means I have to curl my finger underneath it. Plus the heatsinks and heatpipes on the Striker Extreme get in the way.

I managed to reach quite far down on the heatsink, although not right to the very bottom. Basically, it is *barely* warm to the touch. It is much cooler than the headspreader n my RAM, and it is cooler than the cooling system on my 8800gts. The fins of the heatsink are not warm at all.

I've been running Prime95 100% on all 4 cores for about 10 minutes. Asus Probe II sayd CPU = 73C.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#14
Core temp 0.95.4 seems to be the best gauge for G0 temps,other versions/progs report the temps as 15c too low.
 

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
#15
Right, I have downloaded Everest and tried that:

Under load - after 10 mins with Prime95 100% on all 4 cores:
CPU = 64C
Core 1 = 72C
Core 2 = 73C
Core 3 = 79C
Core 4 = 81C

Does it look like maybe the heatsink isn't fitted right? Why is there such a difference between the 4 core temps?
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#16
make sure that the blue orb is mounted properly
 

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
#17
It doesn't move or twist, so it seems firmly attached enough.

Should I order some AS5, unscrew it, clean it and remount it?
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.95/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#18
It doesn't move or twist, so it seems firmly attached enough.

Should I order some AS5, unscrew it, clean it and remount it?
Does it use the push-pin mounts? If so, double check it. You may not have all 4 in all the way. It wouldn't hurt to try re-seating it anyway. Seems to me your temps are high.
 

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
#19
Does it use the push-pin mounts? If so, double check it. You may not have all 4 in all the way. It wouldn't hurt to try re-seating it anyway. Seems to me your temps are high.

Looks like 2 screws. I'll order some Arctic Silver and have a go