• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question about Windows activation

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.46/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#1
Question about Windows activation after MoBo change

Im thinking of changing my motherboard, will I still be able to reinstall my genuine Windows XP Home Edition and activate it with Micro$oft, or is a new motherboard classed as a new PC :confused:
 
Last edited:

gygabite

New Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
486 (0.11/day)
Likes
6
Location
Aschaffenburg,Germany
Processor AMD Athlon X2 4200+, not overclocked yet ;)
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F @5x220MHz
Cooling Alphacool Cool-answerII Dual80 !!! ;-)
Memory 2GB Corsair XMS DDR 400 2-2-2-5 Dual-Channel
Video Card(s) Powercolor GameFX Radeon X850XT
Case AOpen H600C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Revoltec ChromusII RPS-450 V2
Software WinXP-Home SP2
#2
Actually, a new motherboard is a new pc, but if you have to activate WindowsXPensive , tell them that your hdd crashed and you had to buy a new one.
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.46/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#3
gygabite said:
Actually, a new motherboard is a new pc, but if you have to activate WindowsXPensive , tell them that your hdd crashed and you had to buy a new one.
Good idea m8, thanks ;) If they dont activate it for me I will just install a cracked one anyway, bollox will they get more cash from me LOL:laugh: Ive been thinking of going to XP Pro anyway :D
 

G.T

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
573 (0.13/day)
Likes
0
Location
The other side of Hell
Processor 3.20E GHz P4 Prescott
Motherboard Asus P4P800-E Deluxe
Cooling Zalman (CNPS7000B-CU) Super Flower Cooler + Ultracool II fan controller
Memory 2 Gig Mushkin HP 3200
Video Card(s) Leadtek A6600GT TDH
Storage 2 x WD 10k 74GB Raptors in RAID 0 (OS), 2 x WD 80GB SATA RAID 0, 1 X Maxtor 250GB ATA (Media, music)
Display(s) Samsung 19" TFT SyncMaster 913N
Case Antec Plusview Iii (Modded front) 1000AMG SOHO File Server - 5X Antec UV reactive fans - 2xUV tubes
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Fatal1ty FPS running through Creative Inspire 6.1 6700 speakers
Power Supply Hiper Type-R 580w Blue with UV cables
Software XP pro (Legit) & shitloads that isn't >:] /serial Brycer and FraxFlamer :)
#4
XP Pro is worth it I found, more than so in fact.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.17/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#5
XP pro also supports dual core, unlike home :(
 

Anarion

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
485 (0.10/day)
Likes
0
Processor amd HAMMER SERIES 62% oc
Motherboard epox 8NPAJ
Cooling Active, Noisy , air
Memory gSKILL 2gb
Video Card(s) 2900 xt 1g
Storage diamondmax+
Display(s) 215TW HDCP 95%+! color accuracy
Case aluminium sHOW CASE BP
Audio Device(s) Behringer dj pro hpx4000
Power Supply acBel Ai iS
Software xp pro sp2
#6
gygabite said:
Actually, WindowsXPensive ,.
:laugh: come on , for real imo it's cheap
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#9
The idea of new motherboard = new computer is only relavent to the OEM versions of Windows XP. If your version is retail than you do not need to worry about purchasing a new copy of Windows.