• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Question about Windows activation

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#1
Question about Windows activation after MoBo change

Im thinking of changing my motherboard, will I still be able to reinstall my genuine Windows XP Home Edition and activate it with Micro$oft, or is a new motherboard classed as a new PC :confused:
 
Last edited:

gygabite

New Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
486 (0.11/day)
Likes
6
Location
Aschaffenburg,Germany
Processor AMD Athlon X2 4200+, not overclocked yet ;)
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F @5x220MHz
Cooling Alphacool Cool-answerII Dual80 !!! ;-)
Memory 2GB Corsair XMS DDR 400 2-2-2-5 Dual-Channel
Video Card(s) Powercolor GameFX Radeon X850XT
Case AOpen H600C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Revoltec ChromusII RPS-450 V2
Software WinXP-Home SP2
#2
Actually, a new motherboard is a new pc, but if you have to activate WindowsXPensive , tell them that your hdd crashed and you had to buy a new one.
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#3
gygabite said:
Actually, a new motherboard is a new pc, but if you have to activate WindowsXPensive , tell them that your hdd crashed and you had to buy a new one.
Good idea m8, thanks ;) If they dont activate it for me I will just install a cracked one anyway, bollox will they get more cash from me LOL:laugh: Ive been thinking of going to XP Pro anyway :D
 

G.T

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
573 (0.13/day)
Likes
0
Location
The other side of Hell
Processor 3.20E GHz P4 Prescott
Motherboard Asus P4P800-E Deluxe
Cooling Zalman (CNPS7000B-CU) Super Flower Cooler + Ultracool II fan controller
Memory 2 Gig Mushkin HP 3200
Video Card(s) Leadtek A6600GT TDH
Storage 2 x WD 10k 74GB Raptors in RAID 0 (OS), 2 x WD 80GB SATA RAID 0, 1 X Maxtor 250GB ATA (Media, music)
Display(s) Samsung 19" TFT SyncMaster 913N
Case Antec Plusview Iii (Modded front) 1000AMG SOHO File Server - 5X Antec UV reactive fans - 2xUV tubes
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Fatal1ty FPS running through Creative Inspire 6.1 6700 speakers
Power Supply Hiper Type-R 580w Blue with UV cables
Software XP pro (Legit) & shitloads that isn't >:] /serial Brycer and FraxFlamer :)
#4
XP Pro is worth it I found, more than so in fact.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#5
XP pro also supports dual core, unlike home :(
 

Anarion

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
485 (0.11/day)
Likes
0
Processor amd HAMMER SERIES 62% oc
Motherboard epox 8NPAJ
Cooling Active, Noisy , air
Memory gSKILL 2gb
Video Card(s) 2900 xt 1g
Storage diamondmax+
Display(s) 215TW HDCP 95%+! color accuracy
Case aluminium sHOW CASE BP
Audio Device(s) Behringer dj pro hpx4000
Power Supply acBel Ai iS
Software xp pro sp2
#6
gygabite said:
Actually, WindowsXPensive ,.
:laugh: come on , for real imo it's cheap
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#9
The idea of new motherboard = new computer is only relavent to the OEM versions of Windows XP. If your version is retail than you do not need to worry about purchasing a new copy of Windows.