• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Question on my PSU and Pci- 6+2 pin connector

Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Messages
160 (0.04/day)
Likes
8
Location
hollywood, fla.
System Name Graves Rig
Processor Q6680 GO @ 3.3Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5k Deluxe wifi
Cooling Zalman 9700 CpuFan
Memory 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer 8500/1066
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 8800GTX
Storage 1 WD-Raptor 160GB - 1 WD Caviar 500GB - 1 WD Black Caviar 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung 931BF 19inch Flat Screen
Case Thermaltake Armor w/200MM side Fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard shizzz
Power Supply SeaSonic M12-700W
Software Windows 7 home premium
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 Score = 13,664
#1
Have a question on supplying my r9 280x Black edition video card and the power it needs.

Have SeaSonic M12 SS-700W psu.

Can i connect the 6+2 pin connector end to psu instead of connecting to the video card?
All connectors i try to find that are 6pin (to psu) and 6+2 pin to graphics card i simply can't find.
All i find are 8 pin with a 6+2 pin connector. I

Would appreciate any help.


Attatched image is what i would ideally like to get/find. Got image from google images, when i visited page, was only informational, couldn't buy it.
Thanks
 

Attachments

Last edited:

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,364 (5.51/day)
Likes
9,491
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#2
Just use the 6+2 pin. I don't quite understand what your problem is, unless I am horribly misunderstanding what problem you are trying to explain.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,027 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#3
6pin (to psu) and 6+2 pin to graphics card is fine.

Your post is confusing. Read the instructions or call SeaSonic


The SeaSonic M12 SS-700W psu comes with 4 X 6 pin PCI-E with one that is 6+2

The card requires 1 x 6 pin and 1 x 8 pin (6+2)
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Messages
160 (0.04/day)
Likes
8
Location
hollywood, fla.
System Name Graves Rig
Processor Q6680 GO @ 3.3Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5k Deluxe wifi
Cooling Zalman 9700 CpuFan
Memory 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer 8500/1066
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 8800GTX
Storage 1 WD-Raptor 160GB - 1 WD Caviar 500GB - 1 WD Black Caviar 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung 931BF 19inch Flat Screen
Case Thermaltake Armor w/200MM side Fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard shizzz
Power Supply SeaSonic M12-700W
Software Windows 7 home premium
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 Score = 13,664
#4
Just use the 6+2 pin. I don't quite understand what your problem is, unless I am horribly misunderstanding what problem you are trying to explain.
The problem is I need to find a 6 pin & 6+2 pin connector. I don't have it.
All i can find online is the 8 pin & 6+2 pin connector.
Would it be ok to plug the 6+2 pin part to power supply.?
My psu pcie connection is 6 pin...not 8.

thanks for your post
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Messages
160 (0.04/day)
Likes
8
Location
hollywood, fla.
System Name Graves Rig
Processor Q6680 GO @ 3.3Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5k Deluxe wifi
Cooling Zalman 9700 CpuFan
Memory 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer 8500/1066
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 8800GTX
Storage 1 WD-Raptor 160GB - 1 WD Caviar 500GB - 1 WD Black Caviar 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung 931BF 19inch Flat Screen
Case Thermaltake Armor w/200MM side Fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard shizzz
Power Supply SeaSonic M12-700W
Software Windows 7 home premium
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 Score = 13,664
#5
6pin (to psu) and 6+2 pin to graphics card is fine.

Your post is confusing. Read the instructions or call SeaSonic


The SeaSonic M12 SS-700W psu comes with 4 X 6 pin PCI-E with one that is 6+2

The card requires 1 x 6 pin and 1 x 8 pin (6+2)
Yes, i lost that cable, and i can't find the 6 pin & 8 pin combo......their all 8pin & 6+2
Would it be ok to plug the 6+2 pin part to psu? I always see that part connecting to vid card.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,364 (5.51/day)
Likes
9,491
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#6
Dude I still have no idea what you are talking about. First off, what power inputs does your VGA require? Second, what PCIE power cables does your PSU have for GPU's? The ones you have available to you.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,463 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,885
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 7
#7
Yes, i lost that cable, and i can't find the 6 pin & 8 pin combo......their all 8pin & 6+2
Would it be ok to plug the 6+2 pin part to psu? I always see that part connecting to vid card.
no it isnt ok
if you have lost your cable ask seasonic for replacement or where to buy replacement from. never connect to your psu cables that are not supplied from your psu manufacturer.
my psu have 8 & 6+2 vga cards but on 8 pin side only 7 pins are used (in one of the pins are crimped 2 cables). on 6+2 side (the one that is plugged to vga card) every pin has own cable. do you think this cable will work with your psu.
psu cables are standard only at the side where they are connected to pc components but not on the side that is connected to psu. for example cable from my cm psu cant be connected to my corsair psu.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Messages
160 (0.04/day)
Likes
8
Location
hollywood, fla.
System Name Graves Rig
Processor Q6680 GO @ 3.3Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5k Deluxe wifi
Cooling Zalman 9700 CpuFan
Memory 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer 8500/1066
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 8800GTX
Storage 1 WD-Raptor 160GB - 1 WD Caviar 500GB - 1 WD Black Caviar 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung 931BF 19inch Flat Screen
Case Thermaltake Armor w/200MM side Fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard shizzz
Power Supply SeaSonic M12-700W
Software Windows 7 home premium
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 Score = 13,664
#8
Dude I still have no idea what you are talking about. First off, what power inputs does your VGA require? Second, what PCIE power cables does your PSU have for GPU's? The ones you have available to you.
My psu has the 6 pin pci-e connections.
My video card needs 8 pin & 6 pin.
Right now i only have 2 6 pin connectors going to old 8800 gtx video card.
So i want to know if i can use 8 pin 6+2 pin, but instead of 6+2 going to video card like i see every site i go, can i connect that end to PSU.
I only ask this, because i can't seem to find the correct 6 pin + 6+2 pin connector. ( uploaded pic of what i need, i just can't seem to find it).
I do appreciate the help, sorry about it seeming confusing.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Messages
160 (0.04/day)
Likes
8
Location
hollywood, fla.
System Name Graves Rig
Processor Q6680 GO @ 3.3Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5k Deluxe wifi
Cooling Zalman 9700 CpuFan
Memory 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer 8500/1066
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 8800GTX
Storage 1 WD-Raptor 160GB - 1 WD Caviar 500GB - 1 WD Black Caviar 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung 931BF 19inch Flat Screen
Case Thermaltake Armor w/200MM side Fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard shizzz
Power Supply SeaSonic M12-700W
Software Windows 7 home premium
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 Score = 13,664
#9
no it isnt ok
if you have lost your cable ask seasonic for replacement or where to buy replacement from. never connect to your psu cables that are not supplied from your psu manufacturer.
my psu have 8 & 6+2 vga cards but on 8 pin side only 7 pins are used (in one of the pins are crimped 2 cables). on 6+2 side (the one that is plugged to vga card) every pin has own cable. do you think this cable will work with your psu.
psu cables are standard only at the side where they are connected to pc components but not on the side that is connected to psu. for example cable from my cm psu cant be connected to my corsair psu.
Ahh, thanks for straightening that out for me.
I did contact seasonic, and i got emailed this reply:

There are a few solutions, you can purchase an adapter that goes from the HDD 4Pin and covert to PCIe.

Or if you can provide your original purchase invoice and full mailing address, I will ask our service center if they have any PCie cables for you.

I am not sure if we have any 8Pin PCIe for your PSU as this unit has been phased out long time ago.

Hence my dillema.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,463 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,885
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 7
#10
Ahh, thanks for straightening that out for me.
I did contact seasonic, and i got emailed this reply:

There are a few solutions, you can purchase an adapter that goes from the HDD 4Pin and covert to PCIe.

Or if you can provide your original purchase invoice and full mailing address, I will ask our service center if they have any PCie cables for you.

I am not sure if we have any 8Pin PCIe for your PSU as this unit has been phased out long time ago.

Hence my dillema.
look for invoice and if you find ask em for replacement. this is best solution.
if you cant find it get molex (4pin HDD) to pcie. this isnt best solution but it is legit enough
3rd option is to look in e-bay for someone selling cables or dead psu with cables. a bit risky but still an option
just dont use cable that is not designed for your psu
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Messages
160 (0.04/day)
Likes
8
Location
hollywood, fla.
System Name Graves Rig
Processor Q6680 GO @ 3.3Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5k Deluxe wifi
Cooling Zalman 9700 CpuFan
Memory 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer 8500/1066
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 8800GTX
Storage 1 WD-Raptor 160GB - 1 WD Caviar 500GB - 1 WD Black Caviar 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung 931BF 19inch Flat Screen
Case Thermaltake Armor w/200MM side Fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard shizzz
Power Supply SeaSonic M12-700W
Software Windows 7 home premium
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 Score = 13,664
#11
look for invoice and if you find ask em for replacement. this is best solution.
if you cant find it get molex (4pin HDD) to pcie. this isnt best solution but it is legit enough
3rd option is to look in e-bay for someone selling cables or dead psu with cables. a bit risky but still an option
just dont use cable that is not designed for your psu
Thanks for quick reply again rip war.
will see if seasonic has that cable.
If it's going to be a problem, may have to sell it for 200.00...never did anything but look at card.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,463 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,885
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 7
#12
Thanks for quick reply again rip war.
will see if seasonic has that cable.
If it's going to be a problem, may have to sell it for 200.00...never did anything but look at card.
well i have 7970 paired with athlon 2 240 and it do it quite well in games where cpu load isnt big.
it is a good card and it can be good start for more up to date pc then check up the Rig.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,027 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#13
Just call SeaSonic they will send you a cable. Probably for free
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Messages
160 (0.04/day)
Likes
8
Location
hollywood, fla.
System Name Graves Rig
Processor Q6680 GO @ 3.3Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5k Deluxe wifi
Cooling Zalman 9700 CpuFan
Memory 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer 8500/1066
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 8800GTX
Storage 1 WD-Raptor 160GB - 1 WD Caviar 500GB - 1 WD Black Caviar 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung 931BF 19inch Flat Screen
Case Thermaltake Armor w/200MM side Fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard shizzz
Power Supply SeaSonic M12-700W
Software Windows 7 home premium
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 Score = 13,664
#14
Just call SeaSonic they will send you a cable. Probably for free
Thank you...they sent me link for the cable....only $5 bucks!
almost as good as free.

I asked him if my 700w psu would be enough, he suggested 750W.
Guess i'll take my chances. Only thing is that video card i have XFX black edition is a bit oc'd, so i may be pushing it.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,463 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,885
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 7
#15
for 280x even oc-ed 550W is enough.
dont waste your money just get the cable.
 
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
374 (0.16/day)
Likes
131
Location
Netherlands
Processor Core i5 4690K @ 3.5 GHz \\ C2Q Q6600 @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 SLI \\ Asus P5K Deluxe
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Performer \\ Xigmatek Dark Knight
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 2x 4GB \\ Corsair XMS2 2x 2 GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 970 G1 Gaming v1.1 (Hynix) \\ Sapphire HD 6850
Storage Kingston SV200, 3 TB Seagate 7200.14 \\ 2x 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) LG 24MP56HQ
Case Corsair Carbide 200R Windowed \\ CM 690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 \\ Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Adata HM850 \\ Corsair HX520
Mouse Logitech G602, SteelSeries Sensei Raw Frostblue, Corsair M65
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard Elite
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 \\ Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#16
Your videocard should already included the 8 pin pci-e power adapter so you can make two 6-pin pci-e power cable into one 8-pin pci-e power cable which you need for connecting the R9 280x. If such adapter is included, then use it. You can save up that 5 bucks for something else.

Look for the 8-pin power adapter as shown in the picture: