• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Question on surround sound

Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
1,106 (0.42/day)
Likes
132
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Asus Z170-E
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 16 GB Ballistix DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1060
Storage 120GB OCZ Vector SSD & 1TB Western Digital Black
Case Rosewill
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply 630w Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-630SS
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical
Software Windows 10
#1
Ok, i figured this is the best place to post this since everyone on this forum is nice, polite, and very wise. This question has to do with a Television, not a computer. ;)

My parents bought a 5.1 surround sound speaker system and they hooked it up and it includes a DVD player so they are easily able to watch movies with 5.1. However, when watching TV it dosnt work. As of right now there is no cord connecting the receiver and the 5.1 audio box. So, my question i suppose is what cables are needed to connect these two? The audio box does NOT have coaxial. However does have HDMI amongst a few others.

I know this isn't PC related but this forum site beats the hell out of Yahoo Answers. ha! Thanks guys!
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.64/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#2
I shall answer this in a nice, polite and very wise matter.

First, how is everything hooked up to each other? Am I right in guessing theres a TV, a receiver a DVD player in this system?

If so, the optimum would be to hook the DVD player to the receiver. But: The speakers would have to be hooked to the receiver, then.

Now, if you have a DVD player like I had once, there are coax. inputs on the back. Those red and white connectors. You can then connect the TV via those inputs to the DVD player.

However you'd have to change the mode on the DVD player every time, and its not guaranteed everything works as it should. It didn't in my case but I had a cheap worthless DVD player.

But yeah the best solution would be to hook everything to the receiver, provided you have one and its a 5.1 receiver.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
1,655 (0.60/day)
Likes
729
Location
Philly
System Name Primary Rig
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm , 6x120mm, MOS-C1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066 @ 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5830 800/1000 @ 885/1225
Storage 320GB, 400GB, 500GB, 1.5TB
Display(s) Hannspree HF259
Case CM 690
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 18545/5219 CPU Mark 7.0: 3911.2 Cinebench R10: 11826/3359 x264 HD 2.0: 75.6/23.9
#3
Need moar info.

The receiver should be your 5.1 audio box; unless something has gone terribly wrong, like the DVD player is doubling as a receiver.:twitch:

Any chance you can give us model numbers or pics of the equipment's naughty bits [ports]?

Perhaps receiver is not what you mean?

I'm singlehandedly bringing the level of professionalism down a notch on TPU. :D
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.42/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
#4
I'm guessing that it's a home theater in a box solution? Can you tell us the model of it?

If it's an HTIB then chances are very likely that it doesn't have any external inputs on it simply because companies don't like to do it (why though I'll never know).

Edit: yes what SF said about a picture especially of the ports would be awesome
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2009
Messages
913 (0.29/day)
Likes
81
Location
nebraska
System Name TheBruise
Processor i7-960
Motherboard Gigabyte x58A -Ud5
Cooling Vantage ALC push pull/2x180mm fans/1x120mm silverstone
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 Sapphire Vapor-X 5870's in Xfire
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 Max Iops (OS) 300GB Velociraptor, 750 GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus 23" VS238H-P
Case Silverstone Ft01-BW Fortress
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair HX-850
Software W7pro SP1
#5
You should be a able to run an rca or other audio out ftom the tv to the receiver. I assume its the tv audio your worried about, not the dvd player.

So..Cable in to TV---> audio out from tv to receiver----> receiver runs speakers..
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
1,106 (0.42/day)
Likes
132
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Asus Z170-E
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 16 GB Ballistix DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1060
Storage 120GB OCZ Vector SSD & 1TB Western Digital Black
Case Rosewill
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply 630w Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-630SS
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical
Software Windows 10
#6
I shall answer this in a nice, polite and very wise matter.

First, how is everything hooked up to each other? Am I right in guessing theres a TV, a receiver a DVD player in this system?

If so, the optimum would be to hook the DVD player to the receiver. But: The speakers would have to be hooked to the receiver, then.

Now, if you have a DVD player like I had once, there are coax. inputs on the back. Those red and white connectors. You can then connect the TV via those inputs to the DVD player.

However you'd have to change the mode on the DVD player every time, and its not guaranteed everything works as it should. It didn't in my case but I had a cheap worthless DVD player.

But yeah the best solution would be to hook everything to the receiver, provided you have one and its a 5.1 receiver.
Need moar info.

The receiver should be your 5.1 audio box; unless something has gone terribly wrong, like the DVD player is doubling as a receiver.:twitch:

Any chance you can give us model numbers or pics of the equipment's naughty bits [ports]?

Perhaps receiver is not what you mean?

I'm singlehandedly bringing the level of professionalism down a notch on TPU. :D
I'm guessing that it's a home theater in a box solution? Can you tell us the model of it?

If it's an HTIB then chances are very likely that it doesn't have any external inputs on it simply because companies don't like to do it (why though I'll never know).

Edit: yes what SF said about a picture especially of the ports would be awesome

Ok so here is how it is right now.

There is the TV. There is the Charter Cable box that is hooked into the tv, obviously. Then there is the sound system which has a BUILT IN DVD player with it. The surround system is in someway right now is not hooked into the TV at all. That explains why we can watch DVD's and the speakers will work, and why we cannot watch tv.

So i know why it wont work, which is because there is no cord connecting the sound system to the tv or if needed, the Charter Cable box. So the question is, what cords do i need, and do i plug them from the sound system into the TV, or into the Charter Cable box?

Hope that clarifies. :/

Thanks again guys.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
497 (0.14/day)
Likes
117
Location
Hampshire, UK
System Name If you name your systems, get a girlfriend...
Processor i7 4770k
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Custom waterloop around Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) R9 290
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Windows 10 x64
#7
The audio box does NOT have coaxial. However does have HDMI amongst a few others.
Hi.

Please elaborate on "others" :)
Or just tell us what model/make it is.
Also, tell us what soft of TV is there.

Depending on what inputs the box has, there may be couple of solutions.

Typically, you'd get audio from TV via coax (RCA) or SCART and connect it to coax/SCART on the audio box.
Depending on your TV type, you may have digital audio output available (optical/coax).

If you audio box contains a A/V multiplexer, you'd (typically) then connect your Charter Cable box to the audio/multiplexer box instead of TV.

Cheers,
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,600 (1.61/day)
Likes
921
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#8
TV must have audio OUT or Euroconnecter OUT converter, or the receiver must have a Audio OUT and lead the sound to your 5.1 system... Nothing mysterious if you consider that

In two words: connect from "sources" to "speakers" over "5.1. amplifier/decoder/DVD player"
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
1,106 (0.42/day)
Likes
132
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Asus Z170-E
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 16 GB Ballistix DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1060
Storage 120GB OCZ Vector SSD & 1TB Western Digital Black
Case Rosewill
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply 630w Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-630SS
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical
Software Windows 10
#9
The TV is a 47 inch lg 1080p full HD LG. (47lc7df)

The sound system is a Network Blue Ray Disk Home Theater System (LHB335)
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
1,655 (0.60/day)
Likes
729
Location
Philly
System Name Primary Rig
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm , 6x120mm, MOS-C1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066 @ 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5830 800/1000 @ 885/1225
Storage 320GB, 400GB, 500GB, 1.5TB
Display(s) Hannspree HF259
Case CM 690
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 18545/5219 CPU Mark 7.0: 3911.2 Cinebench R10: 11826/3359 x264 HD 2.0: 75.6/23.9
#10
The TV is a 47 inch lg 1080p full HD LG. (47lc7df)

The sound system is a Network Blue Ray Disk Home Theater System (LHB335)
Pics (or it didn't happen) of the tube:



Pics of the NBRDHTS (Network Blue Ray Disk Home Theater System) :D :D


My assessment:
Use the RCA (composite) white/red audio outputs on the TV, or use the optical audio output on the TV, and connect it to the NBRDHTS :D :D.
 
Last edited:

boogah

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
887 (0.25/day)
Likes
139
Location
Houston
System Name Core i7 WS
Processor i7 920 D0 @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6T WS Professional
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme RT1366
Memory 6gb 3x2gb Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) Firepro V8700
Storage Velociraptor 300gb in raid0
Display(s) 2x Dell Ultrasharp 24"
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) onboard sound
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#11
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
1,106 (0.42/day)
Likes
132
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Asus Z170-E
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 16 GB Ballistix DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1060
Storage 120GB OCZ Vector SSD & 1TB Western Digital Black
Case Rosewill
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply 630w Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-630SS
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical
Software Windows 10
#12
To you both, i give my thanks. Thanks a ton for everything guys.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2009
Messages
913 (0.29/day)
Likes
81
Location
nebraska
System Name TheBruise
Processor i7-960
Motherboard Gigabyte x58A -Ud5
Cooling Vantage ALC push pull/2x180mm fans/1x120mm silverstone
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 Sapphire Vapor-X 5870's in Xfire
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 Max Iops (OS) 300GB Velociraptor, 750 GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus 23" VS238H-P
Case Silverstone Ft01-BW Fortress
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair HX-850
Software W7pro SP1
#13
Thats what i said! Just wit out dem purty picters!! lmao
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
1,106 (0.42/day)
Likes
132
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Asus Z170-E
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 16 GB Ballistix DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1060
Storage 120GB OCZ Vector SSD & 1TB Western Digital Black
Case Rosewill
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply 630w Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-630SS
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical
Software Windows 10
#14
Alright my step mother would like to know whether she can simply use an hdmi cord? Since both the player(sound system) and the tv have an hdmi port?
 

boogah

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
887 (0.25/day)
Likes
139
Location
Houston
System Name Core i7 WS
Processor i7 920 D0 @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6T WS Professional
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme RT1366
Memory 6gb 3x2gb Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) Firepro V8700
Storage Velociraptor 300gb in raid0
Display(s) 2x Dell Ultrasharp 24"
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) onboard sound
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#15
quick answer.. NO the TV does not have an HDMI out.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.42/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
#16
More technical answer which is just fun to know is that the TV would have to have an hdmi v1.4 output which supports ARC (Audio return channel) and the receiver would have to likewise have an ARC input HDMI port.

Yay for fun info! :)
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
1,106 (0.42/day)
Likes
132
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Asus Z170-E
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 16 GB Ballistix DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1060
Storage 120GB OCZ Vector SSD & 1TB Western Digital Black
Case Rosewill
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply 630w Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-630SS
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical
Software Windows 10
#17
Thanks guys. Will let her know that. :)