• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Questions about H60 installation!!!

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,707 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,445
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#26
looks like that cooler is on crooked to me, no real reason two cores should be some 20 degrees cooler.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#27
its meant to be ok thermal paste but i might re apply some "Akasa hi-spec 450" got some lying around, and i think i will get a second fan at some point yeah. gonna have too. Plays portal 2 ok though and black ops as long as i have all my case fans on full. little bit disappointed. I'm determined to get my stable temps though... ...somehow????
 
Last edited:

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.35/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#28
its meant to be ok thermal paste but i might re apply some "Akasa hi-spec 450" got some lying around, and i think i will get a second fan at some point yeah. gonna have too. Plays portal 2 ok though and black ops as long as i have all my case fans on full. little bit disappointed. I'm determined to get my stable temps though... ...somehow????
I would take it off reapply thermal past and make sure that you have seated the WB on evenly and not too tight . Give this a try first then get back to us on it .
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#29
looks like that cooler is on crooked to me, no real reason two cores should be some 20 degrees cooler.
I thought the same, checked about 15 times now, but its on solid and tight.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.35/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#31
I thought the same, checked about 15 times now, but its on solid and tight.
You may have it on too tight and crooked . You may not see this now but try what I said and see this time take it slow and be careful and meticulous .

And Yes please check this as well .

you did connect the pump up didn't you?

do you have a pump speed reading?
Sounds like it is not running at all .
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#32
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#35
how do i get a reading from the pump?
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#37
ok just double checked it is connected, but how do i know its working for sure?

installing everest now.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.35/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#38
Were is the pump hooked up to ? If it is the MB then go into the BIOS and see just how fast it is running if it is too slow ( Not the Max ) then adjust the Bios setting to make the thing run full on max !
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#40
rebooting to check now. thanks guys.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#45
lol, i'm back and double checked everything as i've done it.

Ok, pump seems to be running (i think :banghead:)

picture of bios...

CPU Fan is the fan on radiator, chassis fan 2 is the header the pump is connected too.




Will reseat waterblock tomorrow night.

Just to throw a question out there, would my temps be this bad if i had put fan wrong way round on the radiator?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,441 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,107
#46
Just to throw a question out there, would my temps be this bad if i had put fan wrong way round on the radiator?
No. I would suggest not using your computer until the cooler is properly mounted.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.35/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#47
lol, i'm back and double checked everything as i've done it.

Ok, pump seems to be running (i think :banghead:)

picture of bios...

CPU Fan is the fan on radiator, chassis fan 2 is the header the pump is connected too.


http://img.techpowerup.org/110504/bios.jpg

Will reseat waterblock tomorrow night.

Just to throw a question out there, would my temps be this bad if i had put fan wrong way round on the radiator?
No they would not be this bad . You need to do this now not later . you have to !
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
858 (0.32/day)
Likes
218
System Name FragBox
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 5.0GHz/1.45 volts
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 WS
Cooling Custom CPU loop
Memory Kingston 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 680/Zotac GTX 680 in SLi/EVGA GTX 650Ti
Storage 2 Vertex 3 120's, raid 0, 2 Seagate Momentus XT 500GB's in raid 0, 1 Hitatchi 2TB for backup
Display(s) 3 Acer S232HLX2 in nvidia surround
Case Corsair C70 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64 Pro
#49
I've noticed that sometimes with my H50 that it can be kinda picky on how its mounted (Ive used it in a few builds)

Remount it, and I'm positive your problem will go away.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#50
ok switching off for now then, my tim clean is at work, will pick it up and do this as soon as i get home from work tomorrow then. Thanks for all your help. Will update as soon as i have reseated. One last question as i'm doubting all my knowledge at the minute..

line of thermal compound down the middle and let heatsink spread it out?