• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Quick help] Will this antenna work with digital TV?

Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
1,669 (0.72/day)
Likes
580
Location
Bulgaria
System Name Sandfiller
Processor G4560
Motherboard Asus PRIME H270M-PLUS
Cooling Kraken X31
Memory 1 x 8GB Cruicial 2400 mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX970 4GB
Storage Cruicial M.2 275GB drive + WD black 500 GB + WD Blue 640 GB
Display(s) 2560x1080 LG 29" + LG 22mp67vq-p
Case Thermaltake Urban R31
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D
Power Supply Fractal Design IntegraM 650W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Somethin wireless
Software Windows 10 x 64 bits
#1
Hello all,

very quick question as I honestly don't get it. In my area TV used to be analog ( for those without cable). So, EU-27 said, you need to switch to digital and now TV is digital. People without cable buy this type of internal antena to catch signal:

1528991999290.png

But I see many people on line build this antena: ( coax cable + matching transformator ( 300 to 75 ohm) + the actual antena) . Will this work with digital TV if you plug it straight in the TV? I don't see it in the comments. I really don't know. All I need is Yes or No...and I will build one myself :)

1528992078530.png
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2013
Messages
477 (0.28/day)
Likes
135
Location
If I knew, I'd tellz ya...
System Name The Big RED One
Processor i7-6700k, oc'd to 4.7 ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Gaming 7- Z170x
Cooling Corsair H110i-GT AIO + 3x Corsair AF140's + 4x AF140 (int/exh) + 2x CM120 (bottom int)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengence Red RBG DDR4-3200 XMP 2x
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1060/6GB w/15% o/c
Storage 2x 960 Pro m.2 nvme, 1x Hitachi 2TB spinner for storage
Display(s) Samsung 32" & 24" LCD's @1920x1280 60hz
Case Thermaltake TT900 Super Tower w/custom paint and ExAF treatment
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA G2 SuperNova 850W Modular
Mouse Logitech MX5500 combo
Keyboard see above
Software Windows 10 pro 64 bit, with all the unnecessary background shiite turned OFF !
Benchmark Scores Quicker than flies on a dung pile
#3
good reception depends on how far away your local transmission towers are, how many obstructions there are, and the quality of your antenna and TV.

Forgive me if this sounds harsh, but that thing you pictured seems really cheap looking and cobbled together like a 4th grade science project. Surely you realize that many high quality digital TV antennae are available for $20-100, right ?
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,263 (0.30/day)
Likes
374
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z 370 Gaming 7
Cooling Silverstone HE01
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
Video Card(s) Asus 780 Poseidon (only on air)
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO and the trusty old 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) 32" 1080p TV and 22" Dell 1680x1050....
Case Fractal R6
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....
#4
I'm also a cheap bastard. I've gotten good signal by just shoving a torn-up extensipn cord into the hole where coax plugs in. Only a couple channels at a time, but if you daisy chain a series of pots and pans and coat hangers, things really start picking up.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
1,669 (0.72/day)
Likes
580
Location
Bulgaria
System Name Sandfiller
Processor G4560
Motherboard Asus PRIME H270M-PLUS
Cooling Kraken X31
Memory 1 x 8GB Cruicial 2400 mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX970 4GB
Storage Cruicial M.2 275GB drive + WD black 500 GB + WD Blue 640 GB
Display(s) 2560x1080 LG 29" + LG 22mp67vq-p
Case Thermaltake Urban R31
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D
Power Supply Fractal Design IntegraM 650W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Somethin wireless
Software Windows 10 x 64 bits
#5
External ie Rooftop Aerials are Best
If you Get Good Reception with your Current Aerial then it Should Receive DVT
I don't have any reception. I just got a TV for the kitchen. I don't really care about the TV, but wife wants to have the free channels there.

Forgive me if this sounds harsh, but that thing you pictured seems really cheap looking and cobbled together like a 4th grade science project. Surely you realize that many high quality digital TV antennae are available for $20-100, right ?
No, no it's OK. I do realize that - average price is 30-40 EUR for a decent internal antennae here, but I see many people swear on having a great signal with this home made stuff abroad. So why spend 40 EUR on it, when I can spend 4 EUR + 40 mins of my time and solve the problem? That's why I need to know if this will work and worth the effort.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,859 (6.18/day)
Likes
10,978
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#6
The antenna pictured would likely only pick up UHF signals from maybe 20 miles away. It wouldn't do well with VHF (because the spread isn't big enough to capture it's long waves) nor long distance (because it would require a reflector or more receivers in line with the signal source).

UHF doesn't pass through houses very well. Aluminum is usually the preferred material because it's light and strong.

I don't know what band EU terrestrial TV uses.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,651 (1.08/day)
Likes
1,557
Location
Ohio
System Name Fractured puke.
Processor Intel I7-8700k
Motherboard MSI z370 Gaming M5
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1070ti
Storage 960 EVO 500gb/256gb WD Black 2280 M2/Patriot Ignite 480gb SSD/ Inland Pro 256gb SSD
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard/ TBD
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#7
The build it yourself antenna will do better with a $10 75ohm pre-amp
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,651 (1.08/day)
Likes
1,557
Location
Ohio
System Name Fractured puke.
Processor Intel I7-8700k
Motherboard MSI z370 Gaming M5
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1070ti
Storage 960 EVO 500gb/256gb WD Black 2280 M2/Patriot Ignite 480gb SSD/ Inland Pro 256gb SSD
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard/ TBD
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#9
EU uses a good range... Every signal I get is from 500-720...
I would say rabit ears antenna on your roof would suffice for most channels broadcast within 50 kilometers...

If your channels are static you need a preamp to reduce chatter if you are getting weak signals an amp works good...

Most amps reduce chatter by 4db or better so an amp on it's own works pretty good especially if it has gain control because sometimes to much amplification can cause chatter.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,857 (5.46/day)
Likes
6,468
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#10
If your TV was made after 2007, Yes You can just hook an antenna straight up to it, those outdoor antennas you will want grounded/earthed so lightning doesn't fry your stuff or cause a fire. Utilize the channel search/program function to find as many as you can.

Here in Houston TX, we get 67 stations plus 1-4/1-5 sub channels each, so 13-1,-2,-3 etc.

Also use a F style transformer (screwpost on antenna to coax going to tv) designed for out door use, rubber grommets and dielectric grease on the connectors to keep water from getting inside causing short from conductor to shielding or brading.
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,859 (6.18/day)
Likes
10,978
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#11
That's UHF. ;)

EU uses a good range... Every signal I get is from 500-720...
I would say rabit ears antenna on your roof would suffice for most channels broadcast within 50 kilometers...
Rabbit ears are designed for VHF.

This is what a dedicated UHF antenna looks like (the X receivers) with a reflector (the = in the back):


This UHF antenna probably has a 30-40 mile range:
RFI-YB9-61-450MHz-to-480MHz-yagi-antenna-UHF-aerial-base-station-13dBi.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,263 (0.30/day)
Likes
374
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z 370 Gaming 7
Cooling Silverstone HE01
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
Video Card(s) Asus 780 Poseidon (only on air)
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO and the trusty old 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) 32" 1080p TV and 22" Dell 1680x1050....
Case Fractal R6
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....
#12
I hung a 80mm fan grill, by duct tape, at the focal point of an aluminum light shroud... I had a wire coming from the center hole of the TV's coax output connecting to the fan grill. I could point that little bastard at any TV station and pick it up-- from Oshkosh, WI to Milwaukee and green bay, from inside, through plaster and brick walls.
The fan grill was the only part of the setup that made contact with the wire, the aluminum light shroud was just the focuser.
This is the type shroud I used:

It's easy to open it's socket and gut out the electronics. You can even feed the bare end of a coax cable through the back hole when you gut it out (connect that to the fan grill or nothing at all), so it's not too cheap-looking.
 
Top