1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Quick Question.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by AphexDreamer, Nov 2, 2007.

  1. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,323 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    996
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    What are those pins on my sound card for? I think they are there so I can connect a cable to the sound card to the front I/O Ports on my case but I'm not sure. I was going to google this but it' kinda hard to google a question. I know someone here knows, right?
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,344 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,900
    yup your assumption is correct....altho on some cards jumpers need to be put on to bypass the card looking for the front header. My Abit 939 soundcard was just such a card, and wouldnt work without them!
     
    AphexDreamer says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,910 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,793
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    yes, that's what some of the pins are for. it really depends on your sound card.
     
  4. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,323 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    996
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Ok, thanks.:)
     
  5. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,323 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    996
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Is their some kind of specifc cable for those pins?
     
  6. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,910 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,793
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    lol, that depends on your CASE!
    check all documentation that came with your case, if it has the connectors, it will either have a pinout or the pins will be marked.
     
  7. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,323 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    996
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Yeah with that other post I was going to edit it and add this

    On my new case that I got, its got these cables right, One is for the USB, the other for Fire wire, one that says HD AUdio, another that says AC,97 and then I have a whole bunch of single sloted pin slots that are coloer coded(I guess so I can Place them in my self). My question is Since none of those cables work, do I just you the single iindividual ones?

    Before you said what you had said. lol

    I have read the manuel not a lot of detail about the cable other than them being coloer coded.
     
  8. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,323 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    996
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    This is my case by the way "Cooler Master RC-631-KWN1 Black Mystique"
     
  9. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,910 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,793
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    :wtf:
    must be a greek thing...

    first, you'll need to figure out if the sound card uses hd audio or ac'97 pinouts.
    edit: or proprietary creative bullshit like on the x-fi's...
     
  10. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,323 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    996
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    lol, well the HD and Ac,97 pin slots do not fit with in the pins on my sound card so thats why I was trying to see if I would use those Singled out pin slots.

    See this video at around 6:32 so you can what I am talking about visualy.:)

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u31lQ0ifk3A

    lol had forgotten to put up the link
     
  11. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,323 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    996
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Ah, nevermind. I managed to what I wanted too. Thank for the input guys.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)