• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Réservoir Top only has ONE port. What do I do?

Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Messages
176 (0.09/day)
Hi guys, check this YouTube video where I show the problem I'm running into. You can set the video to 1080p to see more clearly

 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,155 (5.08/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Fill though the drain port.

Turn the computer on it's side(or it looks like the back in this situation), so the drain port is the highest point in the loop. Connect a piece of soft tubing to the drain port, and fill through that.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,596 (0.94/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x470-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX5700 8GB DDR6 1750/1700
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Realtek S1220a + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1909)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
That's exactly what I was going to say you beat me to it though newtekie1
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Messages
176 (0.09/day)
Fill though the drain port.

Turn the computer on it's side(or it looks like the back in this situation), so the drain port is the highest point in the loop. Connect a piece of soft tubing to the drain port, and fill through that.
OK 4 things:
  1. Sounds like a genius idea thanks! My only worry/concern is if I do this the water will enter the pump "sideways"
  2. I'm hoping the pump doesn't "lack water" coming into it OR has too much air coming into it and therefore "damaging" it
  3. at 32 seconds into the youtube video in my ORIGINAL POST, you might have noticed the liquid is leaking a little bit at the point where the reservoir meets the PUMP (pump is under the RES). Is there some way I can Fix this? I believe I accidently caused the issue by tilting the PC in different orientations in order to get rid of the bubbles in the Loop
  4. Other than that: Was my initial thought correct?
    1. (that the person who built it should have run the "water return" from the RAD to the Bottom INLET (next to drain port) port instead of the RES TOP?)
 
Last edited:

maxfly

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2020
Messages
26 (0.16/day)
Drain the loop and then tackle the leak. Most likely there's a screw loose that's causing the leak. You should be able to tell how the pump is connected to the res from the bottom of the pump. There should be 4 screws that attach it to the res. Be sure to look for cracks in the res.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
7,595 (1.73/day)
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
2 ideas:
1) Install a tee (complicated if that is hard tubing) in the hose that leads from the rad to the reservoir. The extra connections would be your fill port.
2) This would spill some water when you take it off, but you could attach a length of hose to the drain port higher than the highest point in the loop. Fill while the loop is off.
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,155 (5.08/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
OK 4 things:
  1. Sounds like a genius idea thanks! My only worry/concern is if I do this the water will enter the pump "sideways"
  2. I'm hoping the pump doesn't "lack water" coming into it OR has too much air coming into it and therefore "damaging" it
  3. at 32 seconds into the youtube video in my ORIGINAL POST, you might have noticed the liquid is leaking a little bit at the point where the reservoir meets the PUMP (pump is under the RES). Is there some way I can Fix this? I believe I accidently caused the issue by tilting the PC in different orientations in order to get rid of the bubbles in the Loop
  4. Other than that: Was my initial thought correct?
    1. (that the person who built it should have run the "water return" from the RAD to the Bottom INLET (next to drain port) port instead of the RES TOP?)
1. Water entering the pump sideways won't hurt it.
2. You definitely don't want to run the pump dry or pump a bunch of air bubbles through the loop. So get it as full as possible before starting up the loop again.
3. Drain the loop, fix the leak, then refill.
4. That is how I would have run it. It's not wrong to run it to the top of the res, but obviously not ideal.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Messages
176 (0.09/day)
1. Water entering the pump sideways won't hurt it.
2. You definitely don't want to run the pump dry or pump a bunch of air bubbles through the loop. So get it as full as possible before starting up the loop again.
3. Drain the loop, fix the leak, then refill.
4. That is how I would have run it. It's not wrong to run it to the top of the res, but obviously not ideal.
Thanks a lot. So if I understand you correctly:

  1. I should fill the loop through the drain port while the pump ISN'T running and
  2. THEN start it up to have some more room to add more liquid again?
  3. or Should I fill it through the drain port while the pump is running?
(I do have a "switch" thingy (can't remember the name) that connects to the mobo allowing me to start and stop the pump whenever I want without powering the other components)
 

maxfly

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2020
Messages
26 (0.16/day)
Fill the loop while the pump is off. Then bump the power to the pump to make room.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,155 (5.08/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Top