• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

R7 260 Crashing after installing

Joined
Aug 20, 2014
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Recently purchased a new graphics card. After installing it, everything worked for a while, until I got a "no signal". I rebooted, as soon as I logged in, same thing.

I did a system restore, running normal. Moments later the same thing happened. I did another system restore and tried to install latest drivers, it 'no signaled' during setup almost immediately halfway through. I tried uninstalling old drivers via programs and features, and then installing new ones, same result. Weird thing is, it only happens when im in windows.

I am using windows 8, and I used to have a radeon 6670.

I have 4gb ddr 1600, and a 4ghz amd fm2 processor

Could someone help me?

thanks
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#2
Hi

Welcome to TPU

Could someone help me?
For the best advice from the TPU community go here fill in full system specs include hardware brand names; models [Select: "Show System Specs:" YES]

Questions
what version of AMD Catalyst Driver was installed ?
running windows 8 is it 64bit or 32bit ?

Note: this will help other members of the TPU community to assist

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,355 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,814
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#3
Apparently defective graphic card. As soon as it starts doing 3D it dies. The reason why this is happening is that Windows 8 is installing drivers by itself if there are none present. After Win8 install it works in 2D mode. Then it installs drivers and dies.

Test it in some other system, if problem repeats, it's the card for sure.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2014
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Apparently defective graphic card. As soon as it starts doing 3D it dies. The reason why this is happening is that Windows 8 is installing drivers by itself if there are none present. After Win8 install it works in 2D mode. Then it installs drivers and dies.

Test it in some other system, if problem repeats, it's the card for sure.
Interesting, how do you know it's not just an older driver related issue conflicting with an older version? Because when I used programs and features and used catalyst uninstaller, i was under the impression that it was just removing software.

So from what I understand, it operates fine using 2D clock settings, but as soon as it goes into 3D the clock speed increases to something the card should be able to operate, but actually can't because defective. Since the computer is installing drivers, it briefly goes into 3d clock speed and hence crashes.
Is it normal or common for the R260 to have this defect?

I have an ASUS R7 260 Direct CU II, and it appears im not the only one having this problem. From what I am reading, there is no adaptive power management long with a wider range of issues.

I will test in another computer after work.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,355 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,814
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#5
Because i had similar issue with GPU in a laptop. It worked fine in BIOS and safe mode, but as soon as it tried to load 3D accelerated GUI, whole screen went either blank or was full of artifacts.

It was a bugged GeForce 8400M GS which i then baked in an oven and it's working fine again. Meaning it was indeed a broken GPU. I bet you have the same thing. Either way, it's not normal.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2014
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Because i had similar issue with GPU in a laptop. It worked fine in BIOS and safe mode, but as soon as it tried to load 3D accelerated GUI, whole screen went either blank or was full of artifacts.

It was a bugged GeForce 8400M GS which i then baked in an oven and it's working fine again. Meaning it was indeed a broken GPU. I bet you have the same thing. Either way, it's not normal.
I was reading about it, apparently alot of people are having issues with my particular card, some of these issues can be fixed with a bios flash. But won't a bios flash pretty much screw up my chances of getting a return?
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,726 (4.24/day)
Likes
26,169
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
#7
I was reading about it, apparently alot of people are having issues with my particular card, some of these issues can be fixed with a bios flash. But won't a bios flash pretty much screw up my chances of getting a return?
Have you retested your system with your old 6670? If the card works fine, you rule our os and driver as well as narrow down the issue to being with your card. Would be grand if you could test the 260 in another pc to see if issues persist.

Where did you purchase? If locally, merely go return the card for different model card, since you say that card is know for issues.