• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

R9 280x UEFI bios problem

Joined
Aug 14, 2014
Messages
163 (0.13/day)
Likes
94
Location
France
Processor i7 7700K @ 4.8GHz 1.264v
Motherboard MSI Z270 KRAIT GAMING
Cooling DeepCool GAMMAXX 400 White
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB Series 16 GB 3600 MHz 18-19-19-39-2T
Video Card(s) TBD
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Asus PG279Q
Case Thermaltake Core P3 Snow Edition
Power Supply Corsair RM850x White
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K65 RGB
#1
Here is my problem , I will try to be as specific as I can.
As it appeared that my card is voltage locked , I thus decided to flash another bios version.
My bios version was 015.044.000.008.000000 , and I tried to flash the Sapphire.R9280X.3072.130829 version (015.039.000.000.000000).
I was in the UEFI bios version of my graphic card while doing it.
Since then, I am unable to boot , even in the motherboard bios , and obviously no video signal is transmitted.
As my card has 2 different bios , the legacy and the uefi one , I was able to switch between them via the dedicated button on my graphic card.
Back to the legacy bios , I was able to boot and everything worked as expected.

Nevertheless , here is my question : Is it possible to get back to my previous uefi bios , even if I currently can't get anything working while using it ?
(I am just trying to know if in any way I could get back to my regular setup with my uefi bios, otherwise my card is working fine as before.)


Notes :
-Take a look at my system specs.
-I did save my bios before flashing.
-The bios I was trying to flash was from the " Tahiti B0 XTL C38650 GDDR5 3GB 500e/150m " (Information from VBE7 " ROM message " ).
-I flashed using ati winflash 2.6.7.
-I afterwards realized while comparing memory types using "Memory Info" that I have a Elpida ram whereas the bios I flashed had the Hynix model.
-I apologize for my hypothetical obtuseness or bad english :(
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,900 (0.77/day)
Likes
897
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#2
Hi

boot using legacy vbios switch position; move switch to UEFI position and flash vbios backup image

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
3,864 (1.46/day)
Likes
2,241
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5820K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200MHz 15-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung 950Pro 256GB NVMe + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
#3
You have old tahiti silicon or the new one? Next thing... when flashing different BIOS, HDMI output often ceases as the GPIO numerical pins are different in between vendors... You should be able to boot on any ram config, I've tried dozens of bioses, the only that didn't boot was MSI ones.

Whatever you are trying... ROM flash ir ROM flash... the binary image contains usually both ones. So boot up in DOS, flip the witch, and check if you see the new borked bios, not the old working one. Atiflash asks SPI interface that toggles the regions via switches. If you see the wrong one, flash it over and test.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
Messages
163 (0.13/day)
Likes
94
Location
France
Processor i7 7700K @ 4.8GHz 1.264v
Motherboard MSI Z270 KRAIT GAMING
Cooling DeepCool GAMMAXX 400 White
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB Series 16 GB 3600 MHz 18-19-19-39-2T
Video Card(s) TBD
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Asus PG279Q
Case Thermaltake Core P3 Snow Edition
Power Supply Corsair RM850x White
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K65 RGB
#4
Hi

boot using legacy vbios switch position; move switch to UEFI position and flash vbios backup image

atb

Law-II
Thanks a lot for your help , it worked.:)
Otherwise , what genuinely went wrong ? What if I want to flash a bios , which one shall I use or avoid ?
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,900 (0.77/day)
Likes
897
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#5
Hi

Thanks a lot for your help , it worked.:)
Great news :toast:

what genuinely went wrong ?
the vbios image used Hynix memory layout

What if I want to flash a bios , which one shall I use or avoid ?
Avoid UEFI [cannot be modified {at this time} without {corrupting/or being disabled} [keep a backup safe]

Use a copy of the original Legacy vbios image to modify core, mem and *volts [*if locked] edit with **VBE7 [note: VBE7 will disable UEFI image in certain vga cards (**avoid - if using windows 8.1 fast boot)

Note: use softwares, MSI Afterburner or Sapphire Trixx for OC, its safer

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
Messages
163 (0.13/day)
Likes
94
Location
France
Processor i7 7700K @ 4.8GHz 1.264v
Motherboard MSI Z270 KRAIT GAMING
Cooling DeepCool GAMMAXX 400 White
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB Series 16 GB 3600 MHz 18-19-19-39-2T
Video Card(s) TBD
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Asus PG279Q
Case Thermaltake Core P3 Snow Edition
Power Supply Corsair RM850x White
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K65 RGB
#6
Hi


Great news :toast:


the vbios image used Hynix memory layout


Avoid UEFI [cannot be modified {at this time} without {corrupting/or being disabled} [keep a backup safe]

Use a copy of the original Legacy vbios image to modify core, mem and *volts [*if locked] edit with **VBE7 [note: VBE7 will disable UEFI image in certain vga cards (**avoid - if using windows 8.1 fast boot)

Note: use softwares, MSI Afterburner or Sapphire Trixx for OC, its safer

atb

Law-II
Well , after several tests, I made it works properly.
First of all , softwares like MSI Afterburner or Sapphire Trixx do not fully work : I still am unable to modify the VDDC ( I can change it , but in reality it does not change the value , verified using HW Info and AIDA 64 Extreme ) .
Thusly , I decided to change my bios setup via VBE7 ; works fine , VDDC really changed , and I so far was able to reduce heating by undervolting ( -6°C at heaviest loads ) , even with overclock enabled ( http://hpics.li/08956f3 ) .
I also approximately had a -30W power consumption at 99% GPU load, which is not insubstantial.
:toast:
EDIT : Only "issue?" , whenever I switch between my 2 vbios, it keeps the same settings as the previously established. Is that normal ?
EDIT 2 : Minor issue , fixed by myself.
 
Last edited: