1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

R9 290-290X owners thread

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by petedread, Oct 30, 2013.

  1. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    517 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    I saw huge improvements with Mantle. Without it, the minimums would have been considerably lower.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    679
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    But you also have a slightly less CPU

    My FX-8350 @5GHz and i7-4770 @4.173GHz saw no noticeable benefits using Mantle. I'll run some longer test to make a final evaluation.
     
  3. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    I played on a 32 player match on Lancang dam. Was getting 60 pretty steady, but I also have V-sync on. Was running 1100/1300 until I got BSOD'd.
     
  4. DZZRtt

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    90 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Russia, Abakan
    They had a problem with VRM 1 temperature. XFX R9 290 DD review http://www.legitreviews.com/xfx-radeon-r9-290-double-dissipation-video-card-review_138612/15.

    Sapphire Tri-X are the best 290/290X on the market in my opinion.

    Using Mantle makes no difference to me when i play single. The major downside of it, i have some graphics glitches with mante.
    For multiplayer i'd never go back to DX11. Got 1080p display and Windows 7. Windows 8 users should see ~20 % performance increase in BF4.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2014
    Ahhzz says thanks.
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,840 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,556
    Don't forget the MSI gaming cards.. There isn't any heat issues with any component on the card plus its got a real sexy back plate ;)imo
     
  6. DZZRtt

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    90 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Russia, Abakan
    Yeah it does look sexy. Tri-X is ugly like hell compared to MSI Gaming :laugh:
    Mine are running a bit hot for my liking ;). Crysis 3 heats up my 290X Gaming to 85C and my oced 4770K to 78-80C.
    I had black screen hard locks couple of times since i bought my card in February. First time it happned when i was playing BF4 and tried to run GPU-Z during gameplay and last time few days ago when idle. Could be driver problem though.
    Also got some graphics glitches. In Crysis 2 red lines all over the screen only when stealth killing cephs.
    In BF4 some purple glow on certain edges on certain maps (Dawnbreaker and Operation Locker) .Green square with rounded appeared once in lower part of the screen, i restarted the game and it's gone.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2014
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,840 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,556
    That's weird but yes like you say more than likely its driver related. Have you checked the bios using MSI update tool? My new card I had replaced has a new bios over my older card and it seems really good. I was chatting to the MSI rep and he suggested I use the tool to check for my older card for the update. Heck its worth a shot.
     
  8. DZZRtt

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    90 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Russia, Abakan
    Will give it a try. Performance is stellar though. My 4G Gaming card is over performing R9 290X Lightning somehow. :eek:

    EK-FC R9-290X should be here anytime soon
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2014
  9. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,840 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,556
    I'm not surprised tbh. The gaming cards are bloody fast, X and non X trump many others clock for clock. Well I'm CPU less ATM. She finally decided to melt down after the pump quit a few different times. Oh well hopefully by the end of the week my Intel oc warranty is in.
     
  10. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    Which tool?
     
  11. DZZRtt

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    90 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Russia, Abakan
  12. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,840 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,556
    Yup that's the one. I hear that elpida memory put out a firmware patch for some cards to fix its low power state problem of keeping the state low when actually it needed to be in full power mode. Anyways its the cause to a lot of black screen problems and I'd suggest other ppl using those memory chips check with there vendor for a new bios update to fix the problems.
     
  13. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    Is Live Update 6 out? I clicked to DL but it still just wants to install LU5. Or does it only work on Z97 boards?

    I've got Hynix but I get BSOD's just leaving F@H running overnight. Even on stock clocks. Always one of these "WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR"

    EDIT: Figured it out. Had to DL LU6 through LU5, lol.

    Also, I want to flash the updated vBIOS that listed in the first post. I tried looking for a quick guide on TPU but didn't see one, anybody know where a decent one is? Also, with cards that have dual-BIOS, you just flip the switch to the secondary and do the same flash procedure, correct?
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2014
  14. DZZRtt

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    90 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Russia, Abakan
    No luck. No new bios for my 290X Gaming.
     
  15. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,789 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    623
    Location:
    CZ
    The 14.4 Drivers are flaky as hell. I've had crashes when trying to run GPU-z when trying to run flash video while gaming and all kinds of random video based errors. I never had any on 13.12.
     
  16. DZZRtt

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    90 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Russia, Abakan
    Here's the one.
    1) http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18552408
    2) I would keep stock bios for 2nd bios switch position


    Does it include any sort of graphics glitches?
    Most annoying thing i never had any problems till 14.xxx. You could call me a AMD fan-boy, but my last Nvidia card was 8800GT
     
  17. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    I was going to do that, but was just curious. 2nd switch has UEFI BIOS, that'll still boot into Win7, right?
     
  18. DZZRtt

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    90 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Russia, Abakan
    Yes, you are right
     
  19. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    Curious, UEFI mobo boot and such is a Win8 thing, correct? But the UEFI BIOS on the 290 is a dual legacy/UEFI, right? Pretty sure that's what the manual said, just trying to remember.
     
  20. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,163 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,026
    Speaking of UEFI bioses, I have just become the proud owner of a Sapphire Reference board R9 290X BF4 edition. Anyone know if this has a proper UEFI bios header?
     
  21. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    Unless Sapphire changed it, pretty sure reference boards the switch only changes between Quiet and Uber mode.
     
  22. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,163 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,026
    That's what I've been reading. Ah well.
     
  23. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    What kind of temperatures are you guys getting with your 290s and 290x. Im only reaching as high as 77ish.. while playing bf4, fan goes up to around 55% at that temperature as well on auto. Kinda loud but i can get use to it, and im guessing its no where near as loud as a reference 290 or 290x. I've got the gigabyte windforce r9 290
     
  24. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    878 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    Overseas
    My MSI 290 Gaming gets to 100% with the fan curve I have, which you can't even hear over my H80i fans. MSI's card is actually really quiet at 100%. I get temps in the mid 80's IIRC. 1047/1300
     
  25. DZZRtt

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    90 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Russia, Abakan
    [​IMG]
    Hi, folks.
    See these lag spikes?
    I got these with DX11 both 13.12 and 14.4 drivers, overclocked and stock. No drops with Mantle.
    Wonder if it is normal. Not sure if i had theme before.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)