• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon 7 is Released, What Would You Buy?

Radeon 7 is Released, What Would You Buy?

  • Radeon 7, of course

    Votes: 30 18.9%
  • Lower tier GPUs: Vega64/56, RTX 2070/2060 and etc.

    Votes: 10 6.3%
  • Higher tier GPUs

    Votes: 5 3.1%
  • Nothing, I am good with current GPU

    Votes: 80 50.3%
  • Nothing, I am disappointed with current stack of GPUs

    Votes: 34 21.4%

  • Total voters
    159
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,563 (1.08/day)
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB + 860 EVO 2TB + WD Black 5TB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Audio Device(s) BOSE 2.0
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
Without actual reviews to see, this question may be a little too soon to ask.
In theory, I've always found myself rooting for the underdog, AMD.
This can result in diminishing returns as we experienced with Bulldozer and others, but supporting AMD has always been a necessary counterpoint to Intel and NVIDIA's monopolistic tendencies.
We all know what happens without any meaningful competition in the marketplace.

The success of Ryzen I and II was gratifying to me and I hope for more of the same.
Even if this VII GPU doesn't damage NVIDIA's stranglehold on the market, I'll buy a few of them, just to support AMD efforts.
I am assuming you are going to crossfire then? Would be sweet to see how CF works for Radeon 7
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
2,259 (1.16/day)
Location
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia USA
System Name Home Brewed
Processor i9-7900X and i7-8700K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme & ASUS Prime Z-370 A
Cooling Corsair 280mm AIO & Thermaltake Water 3.0
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000 GSKill RipJaws-V & 32GB DDR4-3466 GEIL Potenza
Video Card(s) 2X-GTX-1080 SLI & 2 GTX-1070Ti 8GB G1 Gaming in SLI
Storage Both have 2TB HDDs for storage, 480GB SSDs for OS, and 240GB SSDs for Steam Games
Display(s) ACER 28" B286HK 4K & Samsung 32" 1080P
Case NZXT Source 540 & Rosewill Rise Chassis
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000 & Corsair RM850
Mouse Generic
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Tournament & Corsair K90
Software Win-10 Professional
Benchmark Scores yes
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,563 (1.08/day)
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB + 860 EVO 2TB + WD Black 5TB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Audio Device(s) BOSE 2.0
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,654 (0.59/day)
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabertooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
xfire hasn't needed a bridge since pcie gen3 became a thing dude.

poll is way too premature.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
2,259 (1.16/day)
Location
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia USA
System Name Home Brewed
Processor i9-7900X and i7-8700K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme & ASUS Prime Z-370 A
Cooling Corsair 280mm AIO & Thermaltake Water 3.0
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000 GSKill RipJaws-V & 32GB DDR4-3466 GEIL Potenza
Video Card(s) 2X-GTX-1080 SLI & 2 GTX-1070Ti 8GB G1 Gaming in SLI
Storage Both have 2TB HDDs for storage, 480GB SSDs for OS, and 240GB SSDs for Steam Games
Display(s) ACER 28" B286HK 4K & Samsung 32" 1080P
Case NZXT Source 540 & Rosewill Rise Chassis
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000 & Corsair RM850
Mouse Generic
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Tournament & Corsair K90
Software Win-10 Professional
Benchmark Scores yes
Haven’t check CF in a while. Do they need bridges as SLI nowadays?
No, they don't. Last time I used Crossfire Bridges was with my R9-280X OC cards.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,755 (1.92/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy
Without actual reviews to see, this question may be a little too soon to ask.
In theory, I've always found myself rooting for the underdog, AMD.
This can result in diminishing returns as we experienced with Bulldozer and others, but supporting AMD has always been a necessary counterpoint to Intel and NVIDIA's monopolistic tendencies.
We all know what happens without any meaningful competition in the marketplace.

The success of Ryzen I and II was gratifying to me and I hope for more of the same.
Even if this VII GPU doesn't damage NVIDIA's stranglehold on the market, I'll buy a few of them, just to support AMD efforts.
I agree with waiting for reviews , i wouldn't buy before a fair few are read personally.

At least they're trying lets hope some driver work releases some performance too.

I can't help but wonder how it would compare clock for clock with vega 10.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,563 (1.08/day)
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB + 860 EVO 2TB + WD Black 5TB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Audio Device(s) BOSE 2.0
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
I can't help but wonder how it would compare clock for clock with vega 10.
Asking the real question here. Can one manually disable certain amount of CU on Vega64 to test GPU “IPC”?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,490 (6.12/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Gonna stick with my 8GB 580. It works fine for my 1080P monitor. Until this thing starts on fire or stops running 1080P well, I'm happy with it.



That comes with the territory if you own an AMD GPU. It's an amazing personal space heater.
Same can be said about RTX 2000 series
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,606 (1.97/day)
Location
USA
AMD prices seem to adjust after release. I believe it will happen again.
yeah the 1800x was $500 at launch, and within 6 months could be had on ebay brand new for around $300 on sales. AMD has historically never held its value like Intel and Nvidia. but I am like Neil on this one, we need to support AMD a bit longer I think, because I suspect they will be going toe to toe with the other companies within a couple years, they just need to optimize Navi 7nm or replace GCN gpu's in late 2020.... also Intel entering GPU race in late 2020... it could be a very interesting time. Nvidia is milking everyone while they can, because they know late 2020 early 2021 its going to be an entire different ballgame.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,606 (1.97/day)
Location
USA
Here in Denmark we have to pay danish kronen 6200, it is $ 950 for a 2080 and that's when they are on offer.

a US dollar is 6.47 Danish kroner

how much money do you make an hour though? the middle class i mean. it tends to even out when you look at all of that
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2011
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
how much money do you make an hour though? the middle class i mean. it tends to even out when you look at all of that
the middle class, i will say here on this little island "Langeland" where i live we kan get 23$ an hour US, it is ca. 150 Danish kronen.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,606 (1.97/day)
Location
USA
the middle class, i will say here on this little island "Langeland" where i live we kan get 23$ an hour US, it is ca. 150 Danish kronen.
and vast majority of people where I live make 9-13 US an hour. and we have high insurance premiums on top of that. so you still win in the end by far.
 

ppn

Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
516 (0.34/day)
Every hour of playing games on an overly expensive Vcard and PC is a loss of what ever you make per hour, and a minimum of 25$ because everybody with an iq of 101 can earn that, even lower if you tile tiles or do hard physical or something. So the price of videocards is irrelevant, the question is why would anybody be willing to waste the good half of his life doing that.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,606 (1.97/day)
Location
USA
Every hour of playing games on an overly expensive Vcard and PC is a loss of what ever you make per hour, and a minimum of 25$ because everybody with an iq of 101 can earn that, even lower if you tile tiles or do hard physical or something. So the price of videocards is irrelevant, the question is why would anybody be willing to waste the good half of his life doing that.
You underestimate how privileged you are just because you were born in Denmark. I have a Master's Degree in Indiana and only jobs I can find are 30k a year still. Your government helps the wages in your country, a lot. I don't know what laws they passed, just saying, some countries the living conditions really are a lot better and more opportunity.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2011
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
You underestimate how privileged you are just because you were born in Denmark. I have a Master's Degree in Indiana and only jobs I can find are 30k a year still. Your government helps the wages in your country, a lot. I don't know what laws they passed, just saying, some countries the living conditions really are a lot better and more opportunity.
Perhaps you will not believe it, ha ha but our government is quite the same as your Republicans. Denmark is a good place to live in, but even though we have it all, there are still many in Denmark who think we have it bad, ok, we have had a little better, but compared to many other countries we are lucky
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
643 (0.68/day)
Location
Tanagra
Processor Intel i5-9600K
Motherboard ASRock H370M-ITX/ac
Cooling Gammax 300
Memory 16GB DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 570 4GB
Storage Inland 512GB NVMe
Display(s) LG 27UL500-W
Case Thermaltake Core V1
Audio Device(s) My ears
Power Supply EVGA 500W
Software Windows 10
I just bought a used Nitro+ RX 480 (whose specs essentially makes it a 580), and I undervolt the GPU and OC the VRAM, so I’m not likely to move on anything unless this card dies. I game on a 4K 50” TV, but I’m fine with 1080p or 1440p so long as I get my 60fps.

Pixie Dust.
Rumor has it Pixie Dust OCs really well if you have good cooling, but I’m waiting for reviews first.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
5,539 (1.08/day)
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K @ 4.6 GHz Core & 4.3 GHz Cache @ 1.168V
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE, MonoPlus, Fans: 2xThermalright TY143 / 2xCorsair SP-120L / 2xYate Loon D14BH-12
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL14 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ @ 3200 14-14-14-34 2T @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L with Arctic MonoPlus and Yate Loon D14BH-12 Fan
Storage OS Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe, Games Phison E12 NVMe 1TB, Data WD10EZEX HDD 1TB
Display(s) 2x Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 25" IPS
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD, Acoustic Research 2Ch Speakers
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse, Razer Naga Chroma '14, Corsair MM600, Inateck 900x300 XL pad, Tiger Gaming Skates.
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key, PS3 Controller
Software Win7 Pro 64 (Installed on Coffee Lake using AsRock's handy PS/2 Simulator in Bios)
Going a few years on the 1060 6GB before I upgrade. Maybe 2020 at the earliest but likely 2021+.
 
  • Like
Reactions: hat
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
554 (0.62/day)
Just to make user(s) aware, there are few games out there that require more than 8GB of VRAM @4K max settings. RE2 is one of them & it needs 14GB of VRAM.

So AMD was right to fit 16GB HBM2 to Vega 7..

2NyJzAA.jpg
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
1,774 (1.79/day)
Processor i5-8400
Motherboard ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-I GAMING
Cooling Alpenföhn Black Ridge
Memory 2*16GB DDR4-3200 CL16
Video Card(s) Gainward GeForce RTX 2080 Phoenix
Storage 1TB Samsung 970 Pro, 2TB Intel 660p
Display(s) ASUS PG279Q, Eizo EV2736W
Case Dan Cases A4-SFX
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Corsair K60
Just to make user(s) aware, there are few games out there that require more than 8GB of VRAM @4K max settings. RE2 is one of them & it needs 14GB of VRAM.

So AMD was right to fit 16GB HBM2 to Vega 7..

View attachment 114524
RE2 does not need 14gb of VRAM. You can make it want to use that much but that is different from requiring or needing it. There is a setting for Texture Quality which effectively sets the size of dynamic texture pool. This setting goes from 0.25GB to 8GB. Textures are streamed in and out of this part of allocated memory and provided that the algorithm for this is halfway decent and space is even close to enough this will not cause performance hit or stutter.

At 1440p with everything maxed - except Texture Quality (the aforementioned dynamic pool) and Image Quality (resolution scaling/supersampling) - the ram usage is said to be a little over 5 GB. With Texture Quality setting at 2GB (High), the RAM usage is shown to be 7.10 GB. Ran through most of the areas in the demo with these settings and the maximum VRAM usage I logged was 6.3 GB.

Granted, 4K will affect VRAM usage and with resolution scaling the "Image Quality" setting will do the same. In 4K the memory usage was shown somewhere north of 6GB and 1440p with 200% Image Quality had close to 7GB. From what I can see, Radeon7/GTX1080Ti/RTX2080 performance class will not be good for 4K anyway. Played a little on RTX2080 (8GB VRAM) and at 1440p with settings described above it ran from 50-70 fps. Changing the Image Quality setting scaled as expected for resolution scaling. 50% (720p) ran at ~150fps and 200% (5K-ish) ran under 30 FPS. No stutters or anything in any of these resolutions.
 
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
554 (0.62/day)
RE2 does not need 14gb of VRAM. You can make it want to use that much but that is different from requiring or needing it. There is a setting for Texture Quality which effectively sets the size of dynamic texture pool. This setting goes from 0.25GB to 8GB. Textures are streamed in and out of this part of allocated memory and provided that the algorithm for this is halfway decent and space is even close to enough this will not cause performance hit or stutter.

At 1440p with everything maxed - except Texture Quality (the aforementioned dynamic pool) and Image Quality (resolution scaling/supersampling) - the ram usage is said to be a little over 5 GB. With Texture Quality setting at 2GB (High), the RAM usage is shown to be 7.10 GB. Ran through most of the areas in the demo with these settings and the maximum VRAM usage I logged was 6.3 GB.

Granted, 4K will affect VRAM usage and with resolution scaling the "Image Quality" setting will do the same. In 4K the memory usage was shown somewhere north of 6GB and 1440p with 200% Image Quality had close to 7GB. From what I can see, Radeon7/GTX1080Ti/RTX2080 performance class will not be good for 4K anyway. Played a little on RTX2080 (8GB VRAM) and at 1440p with settings described above it ran from 50-70 fps. Changing the Image Quality setting scaled as expected for resolution scaling. 50% (720p) ran at ~150fps and 200% (5K-ish) ran under 30 FPS. No stutters or anything in any of these resolutions.
Thanks for the reply. I got this info & screenshot from a thread on REDDIT. I'v not tested the DEMO myself, but I will look into it.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2011
Messages
690 (0.23/day)
Processor Intel
Motherboard MSI
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Corsair
Video Card(s) Nvidia
Storage Samsung/Western Digital/ADATA
Display(s) Samsung
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse A4TECH
Keyboard UniKey
Software Windows 10 x64
Just to make user(s) aware, there are few games out there that require more than 8GB of VRAM @4K max settings. RE2 is one of them & it needs 14GB of VRAM.

So AMD was right to fit 16GB HBM2 to Vega 7..

AMD just brides developer to use more VRAM.


Digital Foundry review probably show there is no big difference between consoles and PC version textures.


As for pool. 28% performance for 40% higher price it's not brainer to skip 7nm or Turing and wait for 7nm EUV. :toast:
 
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
554 (0.62/day)
Division 2 is another game from the REDDIT thread that claim it needs 11GB VRAM in order to play @4K Max settings. Can someone please check & provide screenshot if possible.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,490 (6.12/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Just to make user(s) aware, there are few games out there that require more than 8GB of VRAM @4K max settings. RE2 is one of them & it needs 14GB of VRAM.

So AMD was right to fit 16GB HBM2 to Vega 7..

View attachment 114524
This just happens to be a frontier edition/instinct accelerator

AMD just brides developer to use more VRAM.
Baseless statement
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
10,088 (5.42/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
xfire hasn't needed a bridge since pcie gen3 became a thing dude.

poll is way too premature.
I think the poll results are interesting, a vast majority is in no need for an upgrade. Says a lot about the incentive of the current gen of cards I think. And of course you can easily consider that half of that Radeon 7 vote is actually trolling :D
 
Top